E.L.F. • Brightening Eye Color in Butternut • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JaneChemi on 12/10/2013 5:45:00 AM more reviews by JaneChemi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i can't believe these are only 1 dollar. they feel like HE shadows. they're so smooth and silky. they can get a little powdery but i can easily overlook that. 1 dollar for 4 shadows. 25 cent eyeshadows. i use these more than my UD shadows

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rochaschung on 8/18/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by rochaschung

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For 1 buck, I probably shouldn't have expected too much. It's a very cute and small quad shadow. I don't use shadow much, so small package actually suits my need. That said, the powder is way too chalky. It's reasonably pigmented, but for the dry texture it's just not easy to apply without powder falling on my lashes. But again, for 1 buck, I may be asking too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 8/15/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This quad is a bit of a revelation. Dare I say a couple of these shades would compare well against certain high end brands? Seriously? For this price? Of all the ELF shadows I've tried so far, this is by a very long way the most pigmented - each shade has good colour payoff, and the darker two are particularly richly pigmented. Apart from the darkest colour which is matte, the colours look faintly shimmery in the pan, with a touch of copper glitter. The shimmer is not too much for my 40+ lids - in fact it is rather subtle and well done. I can't see any glitter once applied. There's a bit of fallout from the three darker shades but nothing too offensive. Application feels pleasant for all shades but is especially rich and creamy in texture for the darker two. They all blend beautifully, although the yellow highlight colour is a little stiffer and chalkier than the others. The quad its-self is small and cheap looking with a small amount of product, but it is a very convenient size to just throw into a bag for the day, or for travel.

The first shadow on the right looks toffee coloured in the pan but once applied it is a fabulous rich warm antiqued brass/copper, almost metallic, and highly pigmented. Knowing how often I have to work for colour payoff with ELF shadows I was shocked at how strong this gorgeous shade is! Absolutely stunning, just for this one colour alone I would pay high end prices. Second from right is a neutral matte chocolate shade ideal for wearing in the crease. Third from right is a pretty sandy peach with a subtle golden sheen and the far left shade is a pale butter yellow. The yellow is the only shade that does not have absolutely knockout colour payoff. It's still workable and looks good with the other shades.

Although the colours in this quad are quite warm, I still found them flattering to my cool toned skin, especially in summer with a tan. I think this quad has one of the most harmonious colour selections and definitely the best colour payoff of any of ELF's brown based quads. It's beautifully done.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 6/21/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Another E.L.F. find for a buck that can't be beat. If you see it, buy it. The colors are well-pigmented and yes, there might be a bit of a fall-out, but frankly, I find that in my higher-end shadows, too. Nothing is perfect in our not-so-perfect world.
They look shimmery in the packaging, but once on, they look more matte than sparkly. You can do a natural eye or a smokey eye, you can build up the colors or play them down. I was very surprised at what I could do with this quad. Very natural looking on my fair skin.
The packaging is slim and fits in a make-up bag quite easily. I've dropped it a few times and nothing has happened to either the plastic case or the shadows. That surprised me. I expected either the shadows to pop out, the plastic to break or the shadows to fall apart. Everything has stayed together.
The colors in this quad blend easily together and are smooth, not dry at all. This quad has become my daily go-to one when I don't have time.
E.L.F. continues to surprise me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sweetheart7 on 2/26/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by Sweetheart7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a great quad! The colors are so nice and pigmented. There is fallout but all you have to do is wipe it off after you finish with a tissue. I find that I can do a really simple smokey eye and it looks great. I get sooo many compliments when I wear this quad. I am so happy that my friend bought this for me as a gift.
Also it doesn't break the bank either. It is like a $1 or $2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VanessaluvsU on 10/25/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by VanessaluvsU

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i think these are good eyeshadows for begginers but they are a bit powdery. the lighter colors look the same and are not really pigmented but the other 2 darker ones have really good pigmentation. They dont stay on all day but are a pretty good value for just a buck

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cleo_satsweet on 7/10/2012 3:24:00 PM more reviews by cleo_satsweet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Very nice product with neutral colors (for my shade nc50). Can do a very easy eue with this for work or play.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaitlynmurray on 7/4/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by kaitlynmurray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the eyeshadow! To start off, yes, its $1! Second, for the price it's very well pigmented!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 5/23/2012 10:36:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A wonderful discovery just for a buck!!
Price: $1.09 USD
Pkg: thin mirror on bottom, clear lid
Colours: (left to right)
Satin pale yellowy beige | shimmery peachy beige | shimmery dark chocolate brown | frosty golden copper
Texture: creamy
Pigmentation: medium to full
These smooth on so nicely and the pigmentation is exceptional especially given their cheap price! I wouldn't compare thi sto my beloved (few) MAC e/s I own but still. Such a nice quad for everyday brown-toned smokes :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More E.L.F. products

More Eye Shadow products