Revlon ColorStay Whipped Crème Makeup

3.9

1251 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Water, Isododecane, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, C13-16 Isoparaffin, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silk Powder, Alumina, Polyisobutene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Cyclodextrin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylene Carbonate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxide, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 5/19/2015 1:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

HG right here. I loved the liquid version and just recently tried the whipped. It is full coverage and amazing. I am so done wasting me time trying MAC Studio Fix, and MatchMaster. All that high end garbage when this 12$ drugstore foundation blows it out of the water...



on 5/11/2015 7:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Pretty good medium coverage foundation.

Application: You've gotta put in the legwork here. For my dry skin, I need heavy moisturizer plus primer to make this work. I like applying with either my beautyblender or fingers - for some reason, my Real Techniques foundation brush doesn't get along so well with this foundation. Do not attempt to put this on without at least a good moisturizer first unless you want to look like you're wearing a Halloween mask.

Coverage: Medium, buildable, not terribly matte (thankfully). WILL cling to dry spots mercilessly, so make sure you are exfoliated and moisturized!

Wear: Very long lasting. Has not broken me out in the few times I've passed out on my couch out of exhaustion before washing my face. No oxidizing as far as I can tell.

Packaging: DUMB. The glass jar is unnecessarily heavy. due to Revlon trying to package this as a high-end luxe product. Unsanitary. Terrible for traveling. Stop putting stuff in glass jars, Revlon!

For the formula alone, I'd probably buy again. I may consider transferring to an old MAC pump bottle, however.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2015 9:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I usually use high end foundations only. I'm not necessarily a makeup snob, but I've been burned by drugstore foundations too many times. The coverage is horrible, or it rubs off throughout the day, or it breaks my face out or feels cakey....

However, I had heard amazing things about this foundation so I decided to give it a try. I will say this, it is definitely the best drugstore foundation I've tried BY FAR. The coverage is absolutely fantastic, it lasts until I take it off, and it makes my face appear flawless without feeling too heavy or cakey. When I first bought this, I thought I had finally found true love.

But unfortunately there's a little deal breaker here. After wearing this foundation for a week and putting my usual Pur Minerals to rest for a bit, this stuff broke me out. Horribly. I am now covered in acne and it breaks my heart. I know it's from this foundation because I haven't changed anything else about my makeup routine. And I haven't had a trace of acne in 4 years!

It's a shame, I had high hopes for this foundation, but unfortunately it was a huge disappointment. I will not be repurchasing. Unfortunately with foundation, you tend to get what you pay for.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best foundation ever! I have oily combo skin and it does not make me look oily and it does last the whole day, it's a pleasure to apply and it leaves my skin with a beautiful dewy finish without looking oily a 10/10


on 5/8/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Love the nude color, it's really great for my skin. The coverage is fuller but still looks natural to me. The downfall is even with double cleansing this gives me small pimples when I use it. So I only use it occasionally when I need more coverage.


on 4/28/2015 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I trashed this lumpy piece after one use. I have extremely oily skin which often breaks out in chemical burns and cystic acne and I thought this would be OK because of the salicylic acid... but no. It oxidized within one hour between my eyes and broke me out terribly. I have tried a few revlon face products but this is the last. I will stick to their lip products.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I thought the creme foundation would be a good match for my skin, which has some dry patches on my cheeks and around my eyes, but it seems to cling to them and make them appear even more flaky and rough. This goes on fairly smooth everywhere else, however, and has a nice silky finish. I have this in ivory, it matches quite well with my fair skin. I apply with my fingers and it blends well. The glass jar is quite nice, and it is easy to get product out of the jar - unless you have longer nails.


on 4/21/2015 3:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the 24 hour formula in Buff 150. Nope. Pretty much a repeat of my experience with the liquid 24 hour formula in Nude 200: caked, sat on top of my mature skin like a layer of lace, and showed every pore and fine line. Finish was too matte for me. On younger, firmer, oilier skin this might work extremely well. Too bad, I was really hoping I would like it as much as I did an earlier Colorstay formulation (from a couple of years ago).

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 1:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Didn't go well with dry skin. Application is kind of a miserable affair.


on 4/21/2015 12:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This just did not work out for me. First of all, I picked out the shade "warm golden", which had a light, yellow-toned label on top of the lid that looked close to my skin tone. I opened it, and discovered instead, that the foundation was neutral to pink, and also darker than the label. I tried it anyways, thinking that the color might match better while it wears. It did not, the color was ashy, and made my complexion pink and very dull. Coverage was medium, and finish was semi-matte, with minimal shine, and almost 12hrs of oil control for my oiliest areas (combo-oily skin). However, this foundation has a base of dimethicone, which suffocates the skin and can cause irritation for sensitive skin, which explains why it broke me out on the cheeks within two days, where I almost never have acne. The texture reminds me of the NYX matte lip creams, which are easy to spread, and with almost too much slip, and take forever to set.


Popular Crème Foundations


Future Skin
309 Reviews
Back to Top