Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush • Mascara

rated 3.3(536 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hebrides on 4/18/2014 5:40:00 AM more reviews by hebrides

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a review of the new "Mega Plush Deep Velvets" which come in purple, blue and green. I didn't think it merited my starting a new category just for this. If anyone comes across this review before buying these coloured mascaras, let this be your warning.

I got the purple and the blue. There is absolutely NO colour when I put it on the lashes, whether on dry, bare lashes, or on top of black mascara. There is not even a hint of blue or purple. Unbelievable, because if you put the tip of the wand on your hand, sure enough it is blue or purple. On the lashes, it just looks like a rather ineffectual, almost useless plain light black mascara which does a barely adequate job of coverage.

Let's remember the stunning CoverGirl mascaras which came in colours a few years ago. I used the claret one as long as it existed - it was a fabulous, beautiful and subtle purple/brown, and gave a soft yet warm glow to the lashes. I miss it every day and hoped this would be almost as good. Nope!!!! I just don't get how it is even possible for a blue or purple creamy substance to look like absolutely nothing on the lashes. Not even the slightest HINT of colour. Yes, it does slightly lengthen and thicken the lashes. But not enough to feel even dressed. You have to add some other brand on top, to even leave the house.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Boha on 4/14/2014 11:26:00 AM more reviews by Boha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This wasn't the worst mascara I've ever used. But it isn't that great. Heck, it isn't even that good. It clumps and flakes within a few hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 4/8/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this mascara. Although, the flimsy/flexible wand is something to get used to. This makes my lashes nice and full without looking dry or cakey. Does exactly what I expected.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lexibugg24 on 4/8/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by lexibugg24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is literally MY HOLY GRAIL MASCARA!!! It's so Vouminous and Lengthens soooo well I just love it!! You have to get it!! You won't regret it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amberoertel on 4/4/2014 8:12:00 AM more reviews by amberoertel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So it's only been my second day of this and I have mixed feelings. When I first bought it and opened it I was well a little sad when I saw the brush. It was flimsy so I was wondering how in the world am I going to get this t work. However, once I actually got it on my eyes, after curling them of course, I noticed my lashes were amazingly longer since I have very thick "short" lashes and mascara is my best bet to get rid of them being short. I'm still conflicted because I'm scared that the wand is going to break on me , but for the most part I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maymay24 on 3/27/2014 7:09:00 PM more reviews by maymay24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I seriously LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MASCARA! This is my holy grail mascara like I swear. Usually, my eyelashes WILL NOT hold a curl! Even if the mascara is waterproof or an expensive brand! But with this mascara, the curls will last like all day!! I don't even have to retouch because it looks like it's still been applied! Seriously, this is a must have. You must try it if your lashes won't hold a curl! I recommend getting the one in blacked black!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JohanneKristensen on 3/20/2014 6:06:00 AM more reviews by JohanneKristensen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this as an everyday mascara. I think it looks more subtle than the Rocket Volume.
It gives the right amount of mascara and it is easy to put on several layers. It is a bit thin but I doesn't find it that annoying.

Im just really fond of Maybelline mascaras. The best out there!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ldavid on 3/18/2014 11:53:00 AM more reviews by ldavid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Clumps badly. Extremely wet formula. The brush is horrible at separating lashes. If you like clumpy stiff lashes, then go for it. Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheHipsterlicious on 3/18/2014 8:46:00 AM more reviews by TheHipsterlicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Love this mascara! The Falsies gives thicker lashes, this gives more spidery looking lashes. I loved it. It holds up great throughout the day, and is indeed water proof. However the ring in the tube that wipes off the excess when you unscrew the wand came loose after about a month of use. It would stay stuck in the lid about half the time, so I would end up with a brush that had way too much product on it. It wasn't that big of a bother, though, tbh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnlisaC on 3/12/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by AnlisaC

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, I've tried them all. I'm always searching for my HG mascara.....well, this is it!! I have very long ( yes I was blessed) lashes but they are super skinny, so I need volume. I've been to Neiman Marcus tried all of the high end, eh nothing. Now the next level Macy etc....eh nothing. Even my beloved Mac, nada! So off I go to the good ole DS, I recently read that Maybelline has some amazing mascaras ( i.e. beautytopia review) WOW I'm impressed. Love the brush it's flexible and it full, coats every lash and volume Vavoom! I always thought what you pay is what you get......not with this. I will recommend to all my friends! I will repurchase again. For a fraction of the price it is worth a try!

Oh yeah, I have oily eyelids....not one raccoon eye either.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products