E.L.F. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder

4.0

57 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone, Crosspolymer, Silica, Magnesium Staerate Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate (VC), Phytonadione (VK). May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow No.5 Lake (CI 19140), Red No.40 Lake (CI 16035), Ultramarine Violet (CI 77007), Blue No.1 Lake (CI 42090)


on 8/28/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Gosh, I adore this setting powder! It's not a normal, heavy powder. Has an amazing brightening effect for my undereye area after applying concealer! The only gripe I have is the packaging, but whatever. :)



on 8/11/2015 2:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Why oh why does this have little blue sparkles in it? They aren't necessary and it's an undereye setting powder not a highlighter. This is a super fine milled powder and it goes on so beautifully. It has no pigment and seems to match my skintone well and does not go on white and powdery looking. It does accentuate every line beneath my eyes and gives me crepe paper looking skin. Boo for that. I really wanted to like this and I would have had it not caused the undereye skin to look crepe papery and I don't care for the sparkles. They aren't that visible but they just aren't needed and are definitely unwanted. I can't say how the HD properties are in comparison to a regular setting powder though. I can't tell any difference in person or in photos. It's not a terrible product, it simply doesn't suit me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2015 10:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been through about 4 of these. I love it. It sets my under eye concealer beautifully and just makes the area brighter without overdoing it. I'm not sure about the glitter comments, but I just don't notice any glitter. It's an excellent powder to set and blur out some stuff that needs to be blurred. Will always repurchase. Small jar is great for travel. Just be careful opening. I've put my yellow powder in one of my empty containers of this and now I can take both this one and the yellow on trips and not take up a lot of room.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2015 8:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

great


on 6/9/2015 3:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this stuff!!! This comes in a little plastic cube container with a twist of lid and a sifter lid and you get this tiny useless brush with it...i always throw the brush away...the powder is like a sheer pink color and it does have glitter in it but dont worry the glitter is not a big deal and you can literally brush it right off.. I use this powder to set my undereye after concealer...i will usually use elfs small tapered brush to pat this right under my eyes it sets my concealer really good and doesnt crease it also does soften the look of under eye bags and fine lines nothing dramatic but just a tad ..the glitter i honestly have never had a problem with and i have gone through at least 10 of these containers...the glitter if it does happen to get on your face it will wipe right off with the brush your using...another brush i found that was really good to use with this is elfs blush brush its perfect for patting this powder right under your eye area...this leaves my under eye area really smooth looking and i have not experienced any flashback under my eyes when using this and i have never experienced any eye irritation even with i got it right in my eye....the only thing is you get such a small amount i go through it pretty fast i mean it is only 3 bucks but i wish they made a bigger size

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2015 8:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is fantastic for people like me who suffer from under eye creasing. Due to the shape of my eyes I have always had make-up cake up and make my slight under eye lines look haggard. I have tried a lot of different combinations but the best I've found is to use Mac prolong wear concealer with this. I don't get creasing until about the 11 hour mark and even then it's nothing seriously noticeable. Just let your concealer set (I put on my concealer then do my brows) then smooth out the concealer and even reapply a little bit then set it with this powder I put on quite a bit but c'mon its $3 and I brush away the excess. Don't worry about the sparkles in it you can't see it once you've put on your face powder.

Important tip- this is for under eye not the lid to brow bone area had an ID photo taken with this on my lid it looked like I was wearing light blue shadow :/ I was wearing gold.... Have not had this issue in photos using it under the eye.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great little product! I have very fair skin with dark under eye circles (the skin under my eyes is quite thin and translucent) and my bone structure only serves to emphasize them even more. I use a color-correcting under eye concealer and then use this stuff to set it.

It's a very finely milled powder and has a slightly rosy tint that brightens my dark circles more than using concealer alone. It also makes my entire under eye area just plain look better and more put together. As I am 38 years old, of course I have little lines — nothing major — but I don't find that adding setting powder negatively emphasizes them. I think part of getting a good outcome requires a little bit of trial and error in terms of figuring out the right amount of product to use, plus using the right brush (the one that comes with it isn't a good match for the intended use).

Also, this stuff does have a bit of shimmer but the effect is very subtle and seems to serve to make the end result slightly more luminous and dimensional and less flat than a standard finishing powder. I would describe it as both mattifying and illuminating/brightening, I guess?

If your goal is simply to set your under eye makeup but you don't need any additional brightening, you'd probably be fine using whatever powder you're using on the rest of your face. If you want to brighten dark under eyes, this is definitely formulated to help achieve that. I consider it a very, very nice to have product in my arsenal but not mandatory by any means.

Only drawback is that the brush that comes with the powder isn't all that great (I would not use it in this context at all, but repurpose or toss it) but at $3, wasn't expecting the world's greatest brush anyway. I use a little double-headed brush that I picked up from my local The Balm store — one end is small but fluffy/tapered and it works perfectly with this powder. Probably any small fluffy brush would work.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2015 11:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Overall, this product is pretty good.

When it first arrived in my iHerb order, I was pretty excited to try it out. I got home and packed on some cakey, creamy concealer and then popped this over the top. Somehow, this product managed to not only keep that concealer in place, but it actually seemed to correct the colour somehow, which I was very pleased with.

Since then, I have actually changed under eye concealers, so I don't feel that this product is necessary any more. It lasted for most of the day, but I wouldn't say this was a HG product. At $3 it is very reasonably priced, so absolutely no regrets about purchasing this. I'll try anything once.

If you are having trouble with under eye concealer caking, I would definitely recommend trying this out before switching concealers. That being said, if I were to lose this or fall out of love with my under eye concealer, chances are I would try something else, probably Laura Mercier Secret Brightening powder as I have heard such great things.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Terrible. Seriously though...just the only product I have used in recent memory I have truly despised. Luckily, my mom donated it to me, or I'd be out a latté.

For crease proof undereye concealer, the only thing I've used with true success is MAC PLW (and if you want to set it, definitely go for laura mercier secret brightening powder, not this garbage. Idc if it's 8x the price, at least you won't look up mid-morning and wonder why people have been giving you funny looks all day. Also it lasts for ages, unless you're forgetful and leave it at a hotel.)


on 2/27/2015 2:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There're mixed reviews about this product. And I throught for only 3$ I'm gonna give it a try. From lots of good reviews I've high hope for it. And I'm very disappointed.

First, it contain glitters and when applied you really glitters under your eyes! It doesn't do anything about brightening your under eyes either.
Only thing it does is setting my under eye concealor form melting off. I found it doesn't settle in find lines (not that I have many:p) ,which a plus.


Back to Top