E.L.F. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder

3.9

51 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone, Crosspolymer, Silica, Magnesium Staerate Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate (VC), Phytonadione (VK). May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow No.5 Lake (CI 19140), Red No.40 Lake (CI 16035), Ultramarine Violet (CI 77007), Blue No.1 Lake (CI 42090)


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great little product! I have very fair skin with dark under eye circles (the skin under my eyes is quite thin and translucent) and my bone structure only serves to emphasize them even more. I use a color-correcting under eye concealer and then use this stuff to set it.

It's a very finely milled powder and has a slightly rosy tint that brightens my dark circles more than using concealer alone. It also makes my entire under eye area just plain look better and more put together. As I am 38 years old, of course I have little lines — nothing major — but I don't find that adding setting powder negatively emphasizes them. I think part of getting a good outcome requires a little bit of trial and error in terms of figuring out the right amount of product to use, plus using the right brush (the one that comes with it isn't a good match for the intended use).

Also, this stuff does have a bit of shimmer but the effect is very subtle and seems to serve to make the end result slightly more luminous and dimensional and less flat than a standard finishing powder. I would describe it as both mattifying and illuminating/brightening, I guess?

If your goal is simply to set your under eye makeup but you don't need any additional brightening, you'd probably be fine using whatever powder you're using on the rest of your face. If you want to brighten dark under eyes, this is definitely formulated to help achieve that. I consider it a very, very nice to have product in my arsenal but not mandatory by any means.

Only drawback is that the brush that comes with the powder isn't all that great (I would not use it in this context at all, but repurpose or toss it) but at $3, wasn't expecting the world's greatest brush anyway. I use a little double-headed brush that I picked up from my local The Balm store — one end is small but fluffy/tapered and it works perfectly with this powder. Probably any small fluffy brush would work.



on 4/26/2015 11:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Overall, this product is pretty good.

When it first arrived in my iHerb order, I was pretty excited to try it out. I got home and packed on some cakey, creamy concealer and then popped this over the top. Somehow, this product managed to not only keep that concealer in place, but it actually seemed to correct the colour somehow, which I was very pleased with.

Since then, I have actually changed under eye concealers, so I don't feel that this product is necessary any more. It lasted for most of the day, but I wouldn't say this was a HG product. At $3 it is very reasonably priced, so absolutely no regrets about purchasing this. I'll try anything once.

If you are having trouble with under eye concealer caking, I would definitely recommend trying this out before switching concealers. That being said, if I were to lose this or fall out of love with my under eye concealer, chances are I would try something else, probably Laura Mercier Secret Brightening powder as I have heard such great things.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Terrible. Seriously though...just the only product I have used in recent memory I have truly despised. Luckily, my mom donated it to me, or I'd be out a latté.

For crease proof undereye concealer, the only thing I've used with true success is MAC PLW (and if you want to set it, definitely go for laura mercier secret brightening powder, not this garbage. Idc if it's 8x the price, at least you won't look up mid-morning and wonder why people have been giving you funny looks all day. Also it lasts for ages, unless you're forgetful and leave it at a hotel.)


on 2/27/2015 2:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There're mixed reviews about this product. And I throught for only 3$ I'm gonna give it a try. From lots of good reviews I've high hope for it. And I'm very disappointed.

First, it contain glitters and when applied you really glitters under your eyes! It doesn't do anything about brightening your under eyes either.
Only thing it does is setting my under eye concealor form melting off. I found it doesn't settle in find lines (not that I have many:p) ,which a plus.


on 2/24/2015 4:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to set my under eye concealer regardless of brand or price point. Just about every setting powder I have tried seems to darken my eye concealer. I like the typical highlighted eye look and this sets and brightens. Most banana powders, silica powders, and lighter face powders have failed me. This is holy grail for me ... HOLY GRAIL. The jar is bulky and you only get .004 oz/ 1.2 g but 3 dollars?!? I buy 4-5 of them when they go on sale. Oh it does come with a tiny little brush, totally not useful for setting. I still keep them for smudging liner, filling my brows and applying lippies

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2015 4:33:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like this so much I just bought a back up. Even at my age, this does NOT emphasize lines under the eye. And despite the glittery look, it is NOT glittery on skin. For the person who was upset about the photography issues, yep, you can't use any kind of HD powder or even sunscreen with flash photography, it reflects white (see recent blooper pic of Angelina Jolie).

I find that my eyes just don't look "finished" without liner (soft at my age) under the eyes. But I was having issues with the liner migrating, no matter what I used. When I use this over the line, under the eyes, it stays in place all day. Yeah!

My latest undereye lining technique: I use a very thin angle cut brush. I use a combo of a light colored gel-cream liner and a dark powder eye shadow, tapping it first in one then the other, and carefully maneuver the brush under the bottom lashes, usually takes 2-3 passes (by not gooping product on the brush, I can better control the intensity).


on 2/24/2015 1:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

Wow! Sometimes Elf hits it out of the park and this is one of those times!

This tiny little, ridiculously cheap gem really does work wonders over my Nars Creamy Concealer. NOTHING makes fine lines invisible, so some of you need to stop blaming makeup and start blaming either age or genetics. Even teenagers have fine lines; more depending on eye shape. I have large almond eyes that slant when I smile... This causes crinkles... At birth, lol! It is what it is... And, makeup doesn't work miracles...

That said, this doesn't emphasize them at all and does seem to diminish them all while brightening the area and making your concealer last for hours... It also keeps your concealer from migrating and settling into fine lines and emphasizing them further.

I don't think I could ask for more for $3... Could you?

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2015 1:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just purchased my second jar of this powder. It works quite well to set under eye concealer. I use the Real Techniques setting brush to apply it. You do need to use a reasonable amount to set concealer but it never looks cakey or dry. I know a lot of people don't like the amount of glitter in the powder but once I apply it I can't notice any of the glitter. For the price, you can't beat this powder.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So far I'm really impressed with this product, I've been have issues with my concealer creasing and my mascara transferring under my eyes for quiet some time and time product really does help stop this from happening. Yes it's got shimmer, all the other reviews are right but I personally don't see this as an issue, yeah it's there but it's more like an illuminating effect than one that causes harm, it definitely doesn't make it unwearable. For the price this is a fantastic product and it really does do what it says. The only reason I'm giving it 4 starts is because of the shimmer factor and the packaging that unfortunately wastes a little at times. This is the first under eye setting powder so it's hard to know what they are up against!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2014 2:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this product yet. This product and the HD powder, also from E.l.f, are my life savers! First of all, I'm really fair. I am lighter than the lighter shade of MAC and this powder doesn't show at all on me. I tried it on friends who are darker, and it doesn't show on them either. It's really a translucent powder, but this one have a little rosy tint to it that doesn't show on my skin. I also have really dry skin, and this doesn't show fine lines of flaky patch at all.

I also have really dark under eye circles AND the raccoon effect curse. No matter what mascara I use, I usually get raccoon eyes. This powder removes that. It set the concealer that I use, it doesn't show at all, and it keeps me from looking like an emo-raccoon all day! I love it. It also really lightens my under-eye area and make me look more awake.

The package is tiny, but a little product goes a long way and it's SO cheap so you do not have to worry about that.

Also, buyer beware, if you do not like glitters in your products, do not buy this products. There's blue micro-glitter in it. Me, I don't mind at all, but I know that others might be put-off by this.

Oh and last thing, If you've ever tried powderflage before from Benefit and liked this product, buy this one. For 3$, you can't go wrong! It's as good (in fact probably better) than the benefit powder.

EDIT ON 2015-02-23:
I need to knock down 2 lippies. Unfortunately, this powder SHOW a lot when you get your photography taken with flash... You'll look like you have inverse raccoon eyes lol. People say that if it does that it's because I used too much but I tried with a fan brush, with a stippling brush, with a concealer brush, kabuki brush... a lot, a little... nothing work.. it always show.

And also, for those who are afraid of the glitters... they show if you are in direct sun. So be careful with that. All in all.. I need to find another undereye powder :(

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top