Estee Lauder • Sumptuous BoldVolume Lifting Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.1(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.29%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 11/14/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this mascara so I was thrilled when I got a sample size in a GWP. Unfortunately this is just an average mascara, with nothing about it that makes me want to go out and buy it. I have had much better mascaras from Cover Girl.

The formulation is quite thick and coats the lashes. One coat is enough to give volume and a little curl (but not much curl and it doesn't last) but can also get clumpy very easily. I do find that this smudges under my eyes by the end of the day (and I do prefer waterproof formulations, which this is not) and for this reason I wouldn't buy this again. I am also considering not finishing the GWP tube that I have. I don't want high maintenance mascara that has me checking my makeup throughout the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cainca on 9/14/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by cainca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Received as a GWP. Disappointing - did very little for my lashes. I'm also not a fan of Estee Lauder Blue/Gold packaging. Wouldn't rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elissagg on 9/4/2013 3:15:00 AM more reviews by elissagg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

My go-to mascara of all time!!

This is the perfect choice if you want that fuller-yet-still-natural lashes!
It separates my lashes well, elongates and volumizes them. Of course, it will not do that spectacular thing that will make your lashes look like falsies. BUT, this mascara is perfect for natural look.

Okay, so if I want to go for a dramatic look with my lashes, say, when I am going to a party, I will reach out for my Bad Gal mascara from Benefit. This mascara will not give me that awesome-falsies-like lashes that I would normally crave for a party. But if I am going to school, or a light dinner with my boyfriend where I don't like that crazy lashes all over my face look, this is the one! It doesn't smudge as well, so you can also use it when you decide you want that extra umph for your workout session without going ballistic with all the eye makeup stuff.

All in all, this is a very nice product, and it lasts me forever! I bought this quite near a year ago, but it still works mighty fine for me (Even though I reach for this badass almost everyday), so that's a huge plus!

P.S.: It is super easy to remove using makeup remover as well, or in my lazy days where I just want to go to sleep after reaching my home, I'll just wipe them with water and TADA it's gone! (With hideous black streaks on my face).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eyes4you on 8/25/2013 8:16:00 AM more reviews by eyes4you

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to know whta the hype was all about so I bought this mascara. I don't know if I bought the wrong type but this is NOTHING special. Not worth your money. You can easily buy a drugstore mascara and get more volume with that.

Does nothing special for my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 natalielui on 7/27/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by natalielui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample after purchasing some other Estee Lauder products. This mascara is quite good - it gives length and volume and does not clump. Despite being titled as Bold Volume, I find that this gives more length than volume. One coat will give you natural looking lashes but it can also be builded up for a more dramatic look.

I am very impressed with how smudgeproof this mascara is! I have oily eyelids so usually, even those mascaras that other people claim as completely smudgeproof will smudge a little under my lower lashes. After a full day of wear, this mascara did not smudge at all! This is 100% smudgeproof, even for someone like me who has oily eyelids.

The only negative thing about this mascara, which brought my rating down from a 5 to a 4, is that this doesn't hold a curl.
If the mascara did hold a curl, this could very well have been my HG mascara :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rosebuddy581 on 6/25/2013 8:51:00 PM more reviews by rosebuddy581

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift from my mom, and it's currently my go-to mascara on days I want a natural, no-makeup makeup look. It doesn't clump after one or two coats, and it's great for using as a gel liner. It lasts all day and doesn't make your lashes feel all spidery and crispy! I would buy this again if it were less expensive; you can probably find a cheaper dupe at the drugstore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jamface17 on 6/16/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by jamface17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've never actually purchased this mascara (it's a whopping $48 AUD) but have tried it numerous times since it's often included in a gift with purchase.

First of all, not too sure why this hasn't received better reviews! I'm very fussy when it comes to mascara and this one is definitely a favourite!

I have very stubborn lashes which are short and point downwards. Even if I curl my lashes, it really depends on the mascara I use as to whether or not they will actually hold a curl. In fact, my lashes are so stubborn that I have to curl them one at a time otherwise the second one will start to droop as I'm applying mascara to the first!

Anyway, I find that one coat for each eye is enough for an everyday look. The colour is a true black which makes my eyelashes standout and hallelujah, they also hold a curl! I also find that this lengthens and adds volume but not extraordinarily so, just enough that it looks like I've got fuller, longer lashes : ). Great for when I don't want to wear any other eye makeup.

Another reason as to why this mascara is good, it doesn't smudge like crazy! And I have oily eyelids. In fact, this is one of the very few eye products I can use without using a primer (I love Nars'). However, there have been times when I've been out all day (8-9 hrs) and by the time I come home, there's a bit of smudging on my lower lash line. So if I know I've been out for a while, I'll just consciously wipe under my eye towards the end of the day and all good.

I can understand why some people wouldn't want to buy this cos at the high price, does it really perform better than other cheaper mascaras? Probably not, but for me, it satisfies all that I look for in a mascara which is why I love it. Though I don't think I'll ever buy a full size cos $48 for a mascara, that's just not gonna happen. However, I'm happy with just getting samples over and over again which is how I'd suggest anyone to try it : ).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mskittenmittens on 4/13/2013 9:11:00 AM more reviews by mskittenmittens

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara does what it promises: lifts lashes up and adds volume. My lashes look thicker, longer, and curl without the need for an eyelash curler. Nifty! And, it does not smudge for the whole day I'm wearing it. Estee Lauder is very expensive, but I'm using a travel-size one, and will continue buying this size online. You should only keep mascara for a few months anyway to prevent eye infections, but getting the small versions of this will reduce the chance of wasted product. :)
**EDIT: If I accidentally put on a thicker amount rather than a light amount and feel too lazy to redo (which is always), it will start smudging after about 8-10 hours. But I'm a perfectionist with mascara, so if I see a few clumps, I HAVE to brush it out and end up adding more mascara than I originally had. So, if you're looking to apply thick layers of this because you want false-looking lashes, don't. I find that about 2 layers makes my lashes look nice and lush, anyways. Also, this mascara tends to clump more after 2 months. Maybe if I try the waterproof version, I won't have any of these problems. :o

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NatN on 3/17/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by NatN

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

It's a good mascara. Separates, gives volume, lengthens lashes. Not clumpy. My eyes are sensitive and this one works well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kathleenzhanggg on 3/15/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Kathleenzhanggg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

With one layer, it separates my lashes and makes them longer and with a couple more, you can really see the volume starting to kick in.
It works wonders even for my short, stubborn asian lashes. I did buy this at an EL warehouse sale so the price wasn't too bad but otherwise, I think i'll just stick to my drug store mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Mascara products