Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman • Setting Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.8(76 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Vonne092 on 7/14/2014 3:36:00 AM more reviews by Vonne092

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Overall very happy with this brush, is it just the right size to get in and set concealer under my eyes. It picks up product well, and so far son shedding. Also a great brush for contouring, I'm very fair and not into heavy bronzing, so I use this to contour by dusting a light bronze in the contour of my cheeks: it is small enough that it doesn't make look overdone, but fluffy enough that blending out is a breeze.

I think it would also be perfect for applying a highlighter too.

Pros:
- Fluffy and tapered, perfect for under eyes
- Multi use
- Very pretty to look at
- Great size handle
- At $11AUD the price is also quite reasonable

Cons:
- So far, none!

Overall I would recommend this brush, and if I lost it, I would go and buy another.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gsalazar82 on 7/13/2014 2:21:00 AM more reviews by gsalazar82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

You NEED this brush! It's great for setting your under eye concealer, applying concealer, and applying liquid/powder highlighter! I have 3 of these; one in my purse to touch up with and two at home that I alternate use with.

The bristles are very soft but very durable. None of mine have ever shed and I've washed them plenty of times. I love the way this brush tapers at the tip because it's the perfect shape for the under eye.

I absolutely love this for shimmery highlights because I have way more control of application and it blends way better than anything else I've used for this purpose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 strobegirl1 on 7/11/2014 7:33:00 AM more reviews by strobegirl1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually use this to blend concealer under my eyes! All the brushes are well made but could be down with better fibres.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 funfunfun123 on 6/16/2014 7:41:00 AM more reviews by funfunfun123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this brush mainly for blending my undereye concealer. The bristles are soft, and I've had it for a while and it hasn't shedded yet, which is great, considering I'm not all that gentle with my brushes in terms of storage and washing. I wouldn't repurchase this because I don't feel like it is a major part of my routine, and I'm sure I already have other brushes that could be used for the same purpose.

Update: This is by far the easiest brush I've used to blend out concealer, and if I'm not using this, it's my stippling brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missamanthann on 6/15/2014 2:44:00 PM more reviews by missamanthann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'll first preface this by saying that very few of my brushes are used solely for their stated purpose. I have a tendency to multitask my brushes, and I'm of the belief that a good, high-quality brush will be able to hold up to almost any task. It may not be the best at a task, but it won't fall apart if I use it for something other than its designed purpose. 99% of the good brushes I have used hold up to that expectation; unfortunately this setting brush does not.

I use this brush to blend in and set my under eye concealer. I have almost all good things to say about the entire line of Real Techniques brushes but unfortunately this particular brush sheds so much. I end up with at least 2 hairs under each eye after I'm finished with applying product; I can excuse the occasional shedding but this is a consistent shed and it's very annoying. I even just tested this brush by wiping it on my arm, no product, to see if it was the liquid concealer I was using, but brush hairs still fell out on my arm.

The domed shape of this brush though is excellent for applying powder or concealer to small, specific areas. It also comes to a decent point, which is perfect for detailed applications, and it's flat enough to give a general wash of powder to the face if you want a more broad application. However, it's not quite as soft as the other Real Techniques brushes, and the bristles can feel rather pointy. I think this brush could be reasonably used for very specific purposes.

I would recommend a brush like this if you are on a budget and can live with the shedding in exchange for a good price (as far as drugstore brushes go, this line is probably the very best). However, if you can afford a more expensive brush, I would skip this brush and go for a better-qualify brand that doesn't shed as much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rayoflight121 on 5/25/2014 10:37:00 PM more reviews by rayoflight121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going back for more of these! It does an amazing job at buffing in my liquid under eye concealers and for patting in setting powders. You can also use it for highlighting smaller areas on the face. It works just as well as my higher end brushes and hasn't shed at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 5/25/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I recently purchased this brush during a sale at Ulta. I had read all the fantastic reviews here on MUA and decided to give it a try. I have been using my ELF concealer brush to apply setting powder to my under eye area but the reviews on this brush were very compelling.

I purchased and when I got home I unpackaged and set aside to clean before use, as I do with all my brushes before using. When I went to wash this brush, half the bristles fell out! I have never experienced anything like this, and was quite disappointed. I own many RT brushes and like some more than others, but all of them have been through the same routine...unpackaged and washed before use and they all passed the muster, except for this one...arghhhh!

Back to Ulta for a replacement, I hope the second one lasts longer than my first. It would be nice to at least apply setting powder and see if it's worth adding to my daily routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beccs on 5/23/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by beccs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

JUST PERFECT! like all of the real techniques brushes!! I use this for the dark circles under my eyes, after i apply my Bobbi Brown correcter using this i then use a Soap and Glory kick ass concealer powder (NOT THE CREAM because they have silica in them and are a terrible product) and this brush just applies everything perfectly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darthodis on 5/21/2014 5:20:00 AM more reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought it, loved it so much for many different purposes I had to buy two more. And I'm considering buying another just to have a clean setting brush available at all times. I use one for highlighter, one for under eye concealer and one for contouring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 5/19/2014 4:06:00 AM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this brush! Real Techniques is easily one of my favorite drug store brand of brushes (even beating out Eco Tools). I was originally using a Sigma pointed "highlighter" brush to set my under eye concealer and I loved it but I saw this and decided to try it out. The bristles on this are a lot softer and delicate for the under eye area yet still dense enough to pack on enough powder so your concealer doesn't crease or slide around. I also love using this to kind of blend out eyeshadow I put underneath my eye. GREAT brush and great price without cheating you on the quality! I also love it for highlighting the bridge of my nose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman products

More Makeup Brushes products