Reviva • 10% Glycolic Acid Cream • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.3(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 elajean on 3/14/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by elajean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff does wonders for my skin overnight.

I use it once or twice a week, before bed. Lately I've been adding a couple drops of rosehip seed oil to it, only for the healing and nourishing benefits, as the cream itself is already pleasantly rich. I wake up in the morning with smooth, brighter skin - blackheads have disappeared and any other blemishes have calmed down significantly! It is more effective than any other natural glycolic product I have used, AND even more effective than the Peter Thomas Roth glycolic products I have tried. And at this price point, I don't think it can be beat!

HOWEVER, a warning! It can sting.. like hell! I am still a little confused about this. Sometimes it stings like mad, sometimes it doesn't. I don't have particularly sensitive skin, but this IS a strong treatment! Beware.. but if you can get your mind off it, it goes away in 10 minutes or so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lowecj on 1/17/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by Lowecj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this cream. Glycolic acid is tricky, some people have to start at low percentage and work up and some people don't. I have been through enough with my skin to know that it is pretty tough.
I ordered the 10% from Amazon for around $18 and it burned the first time and my skin looked awesome the following day. It was soft, supple and my skin tone was more even and bright. I must admit that my skin looked so good from one use that I put on again couple days later and due to no reaction or dryness (used in summer in humid Louisiana), I used every night and week later I found myself using morning and night. I was a little obsessed:)
I used cream for two weeks twice daily and noticed that my skin was looking dull and little dried out. I'm pretty sure that my skin started to get used to the acid and was ready for something a little stronger. I stopped and went back to using once a week, usually before the weekend. I dont know exactly how long this lasted but I do know that I had the cream for a decent amount of time.

I also highly suggest Juice Beauty's apple peel that contains natural lactic acids. For being natural this product really brightened my skin and was pretty powerful. I used once a week and maintained a beautiful complexion!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ravenn on 9/16/2013 8:12:00 AM more reviews by Ravenn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure why everyone raves about this cream. In my humble opinion, it isn't very spectacular.

My skin is neither dry nor oily, and for that, this cream is okay. Plus it doesn't make my sensitive skin itchy, red, or breakout. Those are the positives. First negative is that I don't see it making my skin any more glowy or smooth like AHA products should. Secondly, I hate the smell! It has a fake chemical orange smell that I find very difficult to put on my face. Thirdly, the jar packaging is also not ideal as the ingredients will lose its potency, versus if it were in a tube.

So now I am now using this cream on my legs after I shave, just so I can finish it! I have a few little scars on my legs and I have seen no fading of the scars. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 6/7/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow I love this cream! I use retin a and kept reading that when not using Retin most people were using an aha cream,peel,or toner. To alternate on the day's without the RA. So I stumbled on a review of this cream and I thought why not give it a try. i got the 10% because I have been on a retinoid so long I figure I wouldn't have any problems and so far so good. I use this only 3x's a week the RA 2x's a week the other day's just a good moisturizer and Tartes Maracuja oil. This combo has made my skin insanely awesome.

I am being told my skin is glowing..Ha! Now I am a person who suffered from adult acne till when I turned 32 and I said no more. This cream does not irritate my skin and leaves it baby soft. it's a spot killer! I had 2 small pimples and they are now gone thanks to this cream. My pores are almost non visible and they stay clean looking if that makes sense. I use this only at night around 7PM I wash and apply this first. I then use either Cerave PM or Acure oil control face moisturizer mixed with a few drops of Jojoba to combat irritation and my skin has never looked better.

My skin feels like back in the day when I was a kid and had no problems:) I am in love with this it costs more than the 5% just a few dollars more but this cream is so worth it. I will not stop using this unless they stop making it. The ingredients impress me the most everything is pronounceable and natural no crap just nature doing a fantastic job! I really recommend this to anyone with skin issues it does so much it's a great product in my skin care arsenal I love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babeybearz on 3/4/2013 1:29:00 AM more reviews by babeybearz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

God, I'm just so torn about this product. I love glycolic products and I've been using glycolic acid peels for quite some time, so I figured I'd give this moisturizer a shot since I tend not to do the peels often enough to give consistent benefits. I do the 50% glycolic acid peels, so I just opted to go straight to the 10% glycolic moisturizer rather than the 5%. I started using this on a daily basis before bed and holy s*** it just made my skin abnormally soft and smooth. I'd put it on at night and then the next day my skin would feel tremendously soft and powdery smooth. I kind of became obsessed with using this stuff... the only problem is it just has a terrible drying/flaking effect on my skin that I can't seem to negate. At first I thought my skin was just getting used to the cream and the frequency of using it, so I just stuck through it for a couple of weeks, but the flaking never stopped. I had this terrible peeling effect all over my face and under my eyes in particular... god it just made me look SO awful. Then I'd try to cover the flaking/peeling with more makeup and I just looked a mess. I didn't want to stop using this stuff because it made my skin so smooth, so I started putting this on earlier in the evening and then following it with a deep hydrating night cream. It helped a little bit, but I still had the flaking problem. I finally realized that I just can't use this product in conjunction with my Clarisonic... the combination of chemical exfoliation and mechanical exfoliation is just too much for my skin to handle. After I stopped using the Clarisonic, the condition of my skin improved tremendously, although my skin still does tend to get a bit dry after using the Reviva cream. Now I only use it 2-3 days a week and alternate it with retinol cream and my skin is very soft and smooth. There's a noticeable reduction in fine lines and my pores have shrunk quite a bit. I honestly wish I could use this product more, because the more you use it the softer your skin will be, but it's just too harsh. Maybe during the summer when my skin is less dry I'll be able to use it more often. Otherwise I might go down to the 5% and see if it works better for my skin. I would still recommend this product though - the price can't be beat and it gives noticeable results. Pretty sure I will repurchase once I run out of this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hjjung on 10/15/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by hjjung

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Get $10 off of your first purchase at iherb.com using code YEW608 !!!
--------------------------

This cream is such a bargain for its quality. No bad ingredients and just actives that will resurface the skin and make it glow overnight! This is different from other creams/treatments that contain regular glycolic acid because this cream uses polymers of glycolic acid, which is able to penetrate the epidermis better and give very thorough and deep exfoliation.

I had already used the 5% cream and other AHA products, so I could easily move onto this 10% cream, but if you've never tried AHA before, go use the 5% cream first, as it might burn and irritate your skin. It tingled and stung upon the first few applications, but I think my skin is getting used to it.

I could tell the difference in the tone and texture of my skin after first usage. DO NOT use this during daytime.. it makes your skin extra vulnerable to the sun and I just think that active ingredients such as glycolic acid should be used during nighttime when you are sleeping. Your skin might peel for the first few uses, so I suggest topping it off with extra moisturizer to lessen the peeling. I have quite dry skin, so I cleanse my face at night, apply this cream right away, and top it off with another cream mixed with oil. I ALWAYS wake up glowing and blemish-free. My skin tone is evening out as well.

My favorite nighttime products have to be Arcona's Gentle Solution and Vitamin A Complex, and this cream. Arcona and Reviva Labs both use glycolic acid polymer in their products, but Reviva's cream is just so much cheaper in price and the effect is exactly the same. I highly highly recommend this cream. It will really transform your skin, just give it 2 weeks!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lolat81 on 6/28/2012 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Lolat81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Glycolic acid is my first choice ingredient in skincare! It exfoliates well and this cream isn't too drying. You do need to make sure that your skin is accustomed to the 5% cream first! If not it will burn and irritate your skin. I also love the ingredients as there are no parabens! I only use this every other night or so . The days I don't use the 10% I use the 5%!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Remykat on 5/7/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by Remykat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I like glycolic acid as an alternative to retinol. It gives me the exfoliation without as much dryness. This cream is such a deal. It comes in a 1.5 oz. tub, and it will last you quite a while. Reviva says that you should do their 5% lotion first, but I skipped that step, 'cuz I go rogue and stuff. No harm done, but I have pretty tough skin. This tingles upon application, which surprised me because my 25% peels don't even sting anymore. I add a thick moisturizer over the top on my drier areas like cheeks and temples. I'm not noticing any improvement in "fine lines," but the clarity is definitely there. Screw you, adult acne! I just made you say my name!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Reviva products

More Treatments (Face) products