Rimmel • Glam' Eyes HD Eye Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 3.1(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 glamorgurlbeauty on 3/16/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by glamorgurlbeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I actually LOVE these! I have 3 of the colors with 2 backups! This was way better than i thought they would be! There so pigmented and long lasting the only thing i dislike is how small the 3 other colors are :( but it still works :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nudylipstickgirl on 3/16/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by nudylipstickgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this was far better than I expected and the shawdow is smooth to apply I have 005/English Rose & 002/English oak, both sort of "nakedish" colors, some are silky and some are alittle but shiny. I won't complain because I got this for 1.49 on clearance at Ulta, Packaging could be better, but I'm glad I did because I'm not sure I would have took the chance because rimmel shawdows in the brown palettes was not as good many years ago. Long ago they was once less pigmented and didn't apply so smoothly, but not with this line. Great work Rimmel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 3/3/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've got the Glam Eyes HD quad in Sugar Rush [I think it's now discontinued, but Purple Reign is still available and has very similar shades], which contains a pale pink shade, a grey-tinged purple shade, a bubblegum pink shade, and a orchid shade.

I bought this palette because the orchid shade looked pretty in the store, and now having worn it I'm totally in love with it. The shade that looked like a boring sparkly grey was a real surprise as it transforms to a lovely medium purple shade on skin, and it is no more shimmery then the other shades. The two pink shades are pretty and wearable, but as I already own similar shades in a Clinique compact, I'm a bit 'meh' overall.

First up: the quality of these shadows is fantastic. They are well pigmented, blend easily and last all day with none to very little creasing [depending if I bother with a primer or not]. I really want to give the product a higher rating because of the fantastic quality, but...


The design of the eyeshadow pan does look great, it really makes this quad a pain to use. Three of the shade sections are tiny - none of my actual eyeshadow brushes fit in the sections easily, so it is a struggle to use. My biggest gripe here is with the pretty purple shade that is intended to be used on the lid, as it is the shade with the smallest pan section. I really love the purple and orchid shades so would to use them for quick and easy one shadow looks, but as the palette is so user unfriendly I've never bothered playing around with using the shades for other looks.

Seriously: as Rimmel gives a guide on the back of the palette as to which shadow is meant to be used as the highlight shade, which one is the lid colour, the crease colour, and the shade for using to define the outer corner of the eye, why did they then make the pan sections so tiny - for every shade except the highlight shade - that you can't fit many brushes into them without a major struggle? At the very least they could have made the section for the intended lid colour a bit bigger.


My other complaint is that all four shadow shades in the palette I have are shimmery. I really think that if I'm going to wear two or more shades of shadow at once then at least one of the shadows should be matt, especially the crease shade as shimmery finishes in the crease move around on me and are more prone to causing fallout. Plus matt shades seem to make blending easier. Is this just me?


If Rimmel ever bring the Sugar Rush or Purple Reign out in a different palette I'll definitely buy it. In the meantime I'll check out orchid eyeshadow shades in other brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Azura2000 on 11/3/2013 1:32:00 AM more reviews by Azura2000

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

Ive got the 007 'heart of gold' rimmel HD eyeshadow and I don't understand why people aren't giving this product full lip sticks for everything.
I think it's amazing.

So lets start with the packaging, well the Union Jack lay out definitely drew me in. And it was just too good to resist and especially since it was so cheap. And I have to say I don't know what all the fuss is about, in my opinion the design doesn't make it hard to use at all but I don't recommend using the sponge applicator that comes with it because it usually mop lies too thickly. Instead I just use my regular eyeshadow brush.

The eyeshadow itself is really good. The colours all go together and it stays on basically all day. It's not sparkly but sort of shimmery which is nice.
It's really good especially for its price, even mum says so and she should know - she worked in a pharmacy for 20 years.

And anyway I think that the design is actually quite sensible since you use more of one shade than some of the other. The main shade has the most space while the others which you use only on a corner of your lid have less space, it's very logical.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 9/8/2013 8:25:00 PM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I tried Rimmel eyeshadows was when I was about 16. Their trapezoid-shaped Colour Rush eyeshadows failed to impress me as they were dry, and chalky; the only way I could get any color out of the pans was to constantly scratch at it, for what ended up being little color pay-off anyway, and the fastest fading I've seen in an eyeshadow. I never bought Rimmel products again until 8 years later, and wow they've come a long way.

The Glam'Eyes HD eyeshadow quad is packaged intriguingly looking like the British flag; as a sucker for novel packaging and sale signs, I got my hands on this quad in 007 Heart of Gold when it went on clearance at Ulta for $2.99. Aside from an issue with the novel packaging, the eyeshadow product itself was outstanding; it was silky soft yet had no fall-out, very pigmented, wearable, and fared well throughout the day with primer. As far as eyeshadow quality and value (retails for $5-$6), I would say that these are almost as good as the Maybelline Eye Studio Color Plush quads (retails for $8-$10) that I'm absolutely in love with. Albeit, Glam'Eyes HD doesn't come in nearly as many color options.

But what ultimately keeps me from converting from Maybelline's Color Plush to the Rimmel's Glam'Eyes HD is that Glam'Eyes HD's packaging, while novel and interesting to look at, isn't convenient or ergonomic when it comes to actually applying the shadows; and let's face it, we don't own makeup to look at its pretty packaging. The pans are ridiculously small for most of the colors because of the flag design, making it hard to rub a finger or brush over it without smearing color into a nearby pan and contaminating the colors. That said, while the colors are brilliant and amazingly pigmented for their price (especially compared to their old eyeshadows from years ago), it's a headache trying to keep the colors from muddying up in the pan and eventually on the eyes.

While I loved the formula, I wasn't so keen on the packaging as I thought I would be. I recently tried their regular line of Glam'Eyes eyeshadows, and found that these were also quite well-pigmented and wearable in color selection, and the packaging was much easier to work with without compromising the overall design quality. Maybelline Eye Studio and wet 'n' wild Color Icon eyeshadows are my first and second favorite drugstore eyeshadows respectively, but I think Rimmel Glam'Eyes (regular and HD) have become my 3rd favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rhody on 1/3/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Like everyone else, my main complaint is the packaging. While the flag design is very appealing, the pans of colour are minuscule and it makes it next to impossible to apply. Too bad, because the shadows are decent, especially for the price. They're quite pigmented, soft, and blend like a dream. I have the green one (Green Park). A bit sparkly for anyone with crepey lids, but otherwise a good shadow in terrible packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mcalcia on 11/24/2012 10:29:00 PM more reviews by mcalcia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the palette 01 Black Cab, from the Kate Moss collection (Union Flag design).
The palette is cheap and available at any drugstore in the UK and recently also in the US. Black Cab consists of: a very shimmery ivory shade (biggest shadow in the palette), a shimmery black, shimmery charcoal grey and shimmery taupe. The 3 darker colours are really, really tiny and I made a huge dent on the taupe shade with only 2 uses.
Overall it is decent for a drugstore palette but I would not buy this again, nor the other shades. Here's why:

PROS:

- this specific palette has very nice and wearable colours. I cannot say the same about the other shades (there is one with a very odd pink shade, not sure if it would be flattering to anybody I know. But I guess it must have its fans!). The shades go pretty well together.

- still on the subject of the shades: I absolutely ADORE the taupe in this palette. It is the perfect neutral-to-cool medium-toned taupe, and if I just analyse the colour itself, it is way prettier than many popular HE taupes. This shade is the only reason why I will not just toss this palette or give it away randomly.

- pigmentation is not bad compared to most drugstore palettes in the same price range (Maybelline, I'm looking at you)

CONS:
- apart from the lightest shade, all 3 other shades are absolutely TINY, including my beloved taupe one, which had a dent from the 2nd use. Not very good value for your money even in a very cheap palette.

- I don't mind drugstore packaging at all, but this one is terribly flimsy. Be very careful not to break it.

- The texture of the shadows is extremely powdery and the fall out is insane. I have to reapply my foundation, concealer and powder after I use this, or I just leave my face undone and apply all base makeup after the shadow. I don't need to do this with most eyeshadows, but this is a must with this one. This also means that you are wasting far more product than usual, which is a bigger problem in such a small palette.

All in all I wouldn't really recommend these palettes unless you really fall in love with one of the colours and cannot find a dupe in another brand. Otherwise they are just a waste of money.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pinksasuke on 11/10/2012 1:34:00 AM more reviews by pinksasuke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this in True Union Jack because I thought it was cute. However, it isn't very pigmented and it's a bit hard to get my brush to pick up the colors without mixing them all because the corner colors are absolutely tiny!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChloeYoung on 11/1/2012 10:51:00 PM more reviews by ChloeYoung

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in English Rose because the color combination is too beautiful to resist. I like the design of the union jack segments though it's difficult to get those colors on the corner. have to take a small brush to dip into it. The color payoff is pretty nice with an eyelid primer underneath and it helps to deal with the fall out because this palette is so loosely pressed.
Anyway, it's a bit tricky but I am happy with how it turned out.
the packaging is pretty good for a drugstore eyeshadow, at least it doesn't look stupid and super cheap as most of them do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loopymonkey on 10/29/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by loopymonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I paid 2 for two in Heart Of Gold which is a mixture of browns and neutrals, I really love the colours and the formula is amazing and the colour is long lasting, this would most certainley be one of my faves if it were not for the awful packaging and the Union Jack design. Its cute and original but very awkard to get any colour my brushes, its even tricky using the supplied applicator. I'll not be buying any more of these until the packaging changes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products