NARS • Larger than Life Long-Wear Eyeliner Via Appia • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 dienausicaa on 11/28/2013 7:54:00 AM more reviews by dienausicaa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Color: YES YES YES a darkest plummy bronze brown which flashes reddish sparkles. On my skin those red sparkles overtake the base color bringing out my honey brown eyes. LOVE IT. I have many brown eyeliners yet this is the most memorable and truly makes a difference in my look while keeping an air of nonchalance since its not an scandalous color. ( I love scandalous colors though!)

Texture: Oh man...not really dry as to say tugging but, after trying the Three flash performance eyeliners, I can not help but to think these are a little rough. Yet not as rough as MAC ( of which I only kept Prunella because of the moody black Bordeaux).

Wear: standard , edges of flicks are not neat after a while, but the color somehow remains.

Please Nars, step up the texture, or release this color in a cream eyeliner texture? thanks!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VicklePickle on 7/17/2013 3:42:00 PM more reviews by VicklePickle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a pretty, bronzey automatic pencil-great for blue eyes! I'm blond with fair skin, and I thought it was too light ( in color and pigment) for my upper lashline. I've switched to Almay's liquid liner for more intensity, but this would be gorgeous for the lower lashline if you're interested in using two separate products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 artartistartistic on 3/11/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by artartistartistic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this eyeliner. It is a beautiful shade of coppery burgundy that makes my hazel eyes pop. The best part about the liner is that it stays on all day! It's well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pambryant on 3/9/2013 11:56:00 AM more reviews by Pambryant

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

paid the price for these liners in black, brown, and gray, because in the store I put them on the back of my hand and then rubbed over and the liner STAYED PUT with NO SMEARING.

I haven;t used the brown yet, might make this a five when I do, but the black and brown STAYED ALL DAY! Even when my eyes watered from allergies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alise1968 on 1/29/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by alise1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Hard to find an eyeliner pencil that goes on smoothly and doesn't tug at the lids, or require blending with fingers. This is it! Easy to apply, and the color is unique. Great for blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shady74 on 12/19/2012 9:30:00 AM more reviews by shady74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The best eyeliner I have EVER used. I first noticed is on an SA who had it drawn in a very thick line to give a beautiful coppery shine. I held off buying one as it's quite expensive but finally caved and boy am I glad I did. It's in my top 5 MU products of all time already.
Firstly, the colour is stunning. It's a deep brown with copper shimmer. I am NW15 with green eyes and it looks great. The SA was Asian with black eyes and it looked equally amazing on her.
Secondly and most importantly it does. not. budge. At all. I have very deep-set eyes and there is not a single eyeliner that doesn't transfer if I used it on my upper lash line. This one stays put all day. I don't know how. Thinking of trying another colour just to see if they're as good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/16/2012 12:29:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This eye liner will NOT budge! Beautiful shade of burgundy brown with burgundy glitter. Makes my blue eyes pop and although I own a ton of brown eye liners, nothing like this shade. Have not tried it on my waterline yet, but the upper and lower lid holds for DAYS.

EDIT Jan 2013: I changed the rating of this product to a 3 for two reasons: First, it annoys me how the pencil cannot be sharpened to a fine point. Second, I fell out of love with this color. While it is a very unique color, it is no longer flattering to my blue eyes. I find I prefer bronzey browns over this red brown.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paula3boys on 8/23/2012 11:32:00 PM more reviews by paula3boys

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My mom loves this liner and when she was visiting me she had to locate backups (yes, multiple backups) because she likes it that much and couldn't find any near her. Anyway, she got me one and now I am also addicted. This is literally the first product that I have ever purchased a backup for. My favorite eyeliner is Bobbi Brown gel liner in a discontinued color so I have been on the search for something comparable. This is the next best thing for me right now. I wish BB would bring back the bronze gel liner that they had though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nlt87 on 7/30/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by nlt87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have very many brown liners and the ones i have are just junk so I opted for this one and it's an amazing liner. I'm really glad I tried it, it really is water proof only makeup remover will remove it and it does last all day long. I just love this brown color it's not a super dark brown, it's on the lighter side and just beautiful. It will make your eyes pop and not look so harsh unlike black liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shourek on 5/3/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by Shourek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the only pencil eyeliner I have ever found that holds the line, doesn't smudge, doesn't move, and actually looks like a liquid eyeliner.
Hands down the best pencil eyeliner I have ever tried (and I have tried A LOT)
Now to the "bad" side: I never actually had to dip a Q-Tip into makeup remover to fix my line until I started using this. Once you put it on, nothing, and I really mean nothing will remove it or smudge it other than makeup remover. I even tried water and facial cleanser.
I guess this is also a good point, since it means it will not move or spread under any circumstance.
Second and last "bad" point: I don't think NARS and I have the same definition of a sharpener. I got around that by drawing a thicker line around my eyes and then using a Q-Tip to shape it.
Overall, this is an amazing eyeliner, the best staying power I have ever seen and it does not irritate the eyes. The color is beautiful, although a matte version would be nice as well, the shine doesn't look to overpowering, and it has a beautiful dark brown tint which is great for blue/green eyes.
I am extremely happy I tried this, and I will keep on purchasing and stop wasting money on high brands that make bad products (aka Chanel, Lancome & Dior)
Hope this helps!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NARS products

More Eyeliner products