Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 3.9(692 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Katejang81 on 9/18/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Katejang81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have colored my hair many many years now at home. I have used a lot of different brands. I typically use L'Oreal Excellence or Garnier. I wanted to add more red in my hair, so I picked up Revlon in Deep Red. I've used Revlon years ago. The color won't stop bleeding out of my hair after each wash. It also left my hair dry and irritated my scalp. I have never had a hair color do that before. Even brands with red in the color. The only good thing is the color came out what i expected.My hair just doesn't care for Revlon.I know my sister has had great luck with Revlon. Sadly I would not repurchase. Back to my 2 favorite brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bbydiva on 9/9/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by bbydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this since high school to keep my hair black and I love it . My hair ends up feeling and looking healthier after I use it which I love ! I dyed my hair red at one point (ugh) and had to change it back because I simply didn't care to keep up with it so I used what I knew , revlon color silk and sure enough it worked like charm. Id recommend this product most def . Now keep in mind , your hair should be in good condition when you dye so if it's not and it falls out or something, don't blame the hair dye ! Haha

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maybom on 9/9/2014 1:47:00 AM more reviews by maybom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first time I've tried Revlon hair color, my usual is L'Oreal. The Revlon shade I used was Medium Golden Brown which is more or less my go to shade regardless of brand. After the process, I was surprised at how dark my hair had turned - less golden brown and more very dark brown/soft black. I didn't like it at all! I even tried to strip the color the next day using the baking soda paste method. I figured that my color would start lightening within a week but it hadn't. After two weeks had passed, the color did look a little lightened, about 2 shades but still not medium golden brown enough for me. It's been 3 weeks since the process and the color has finally settled to a shade I like. I have a few stubborn grey hairs that other dyes really never seemed to cover but the Revlon dye has done an outstanding job of getting them, even 3 weeks later. The Revlon color is fantastically priced and I'll buy again but maybe I'll try a lighter shade next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hkc123 on 9/6/2014 5:31:00 AM more reviews by Hkc123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've been dying my hair since I was 11, and revlon colorsilk has always been my number one go to brand! The color range is awesome, and you can't beat the price! I always get a shade lighter than what I'm going for, but that's something you always should do when coloring with box dye. I have used the blacks, browns, reds, and a few of the darker blond shades and I've had success with all. My hair always feels amazing and the conditioner is really great. I only wish it came in a bigger packet! Sometimes I will branch out and get clairol nice and easy or garnier, but I always end up coming back to colorsilk. Nothing compares! Just used the light ash brown on my bleach blond hair today and my hair has never been this close to my natural with a box dye! Also my hair was very warm towards the bottom and it fixed that completely and my hair is all one color now. I recommend this 100 percent to everyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilyTaylor16 on 8/7/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by LilyTaylor16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

ALL TIME FAVORITE HAIR DYE. I've used this in pretty much every shade of black and brown, with a couple of the light blonde shades. The colors come out very true to the box and last forever. The dye smells pleasant and the small (a little too small

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 althea77 on 7/31/2014 11:34:00 AM more reviews by althea77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yes! This inexpensive color fixed my hot roots! I've tried everything and this is the best for gray too. Thanks for the reviews! The conditioner is chintzy though...best to mix with other conditioner, like someone said. It smells great though! Definitely will repurchase. I used brown-black and I don't see any red tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Annabanana030 on 7/30/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Annabanana030

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

The color fades a little. Don't think it strong enough for my roots. Other than that but was pretty nice...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monicaandree on 7/12/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by monicaandree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have changed my hair color so much in the last year that it's a miracle I even still have hair. I've gone from dark espresso brown to medium golden blonde with highlights and everything in between. My natural color is a level 6 ashy blonde, and I wish I could get it back because it is so naturally shiny! So, when my medium highlighted blonde started looking very warm and almost strawberry blonde, I decided to use the Revlon Colorsilk in dark ash blonde. I've had success with the darker colors in the past, and this was no exception. I now have a TRUE ashy dark level 6 blonde with a lot of dimension - lowlights and highlights. This darkened the lowlights and deposited color on the highlights such that I look like I had my hair professionally done. I didnt use the conditioner packet as it wouldnt be enough for my long hair. This is as close as I've been to my natural color in over a decade, and I can now just let my hair grow out naturally. HG!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Callque on 7/3/2014 3:12:00 AM more reviews by Callque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My favorite brand of drugstore hair dyes and also the cheapest!

They're a pain in the butt to rinse out and have a messy formula but the colors are great for the price and they leave my hair exceptionally shiny and soft. The colors are hit and miss for me (I find some of their darker colors too flat looking to be natural) but once you find the right color WOW. I use Deep Rich Brown 27 and love it (HG for me). It's a warm dark brown that isn't flat and doesn't have any fake burgundy tones to it.

Beautiful and a great price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dcalhalabi93 on 7/2/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by dcalhalabi93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my favorite box dye that I have ever used. Not only is is super cheap (You can buy a box from Walmart for only $2.99-$3.99), but it leaves your hair is SUCH good condition. After Rinsing and applying the conditioner that comes with it, your hair will feel satin soft and smell like heaven and have a shine like no other. I didn't want to wash my hair after that because I didn't want the wonderful smell to go away! lol

The cons to it are that I have found if you are not using a shampoo and conditioner MADE for colored hair, your color will fade pretty fast, especially if you are using a color with a red or orange base. This means money for upkeep (But hey, its only 3 bucks) and I recommend sleeping with a towel or old shirt under your head for the first few washes to avoid staining your pillow. (Yeah, it does happen) Lets just say, on April 5th I died my hair a burgundy color, and after a few weeks, my pillow became burgundy and my hair became an auburn brown/chestnut brown color. (I was NOT using a color shampoo/conditioner)

But definitely if you are wanting a change and are not wanting to commit a bunch of money on a temporary look (Because hair grows out, some faster than others and you'll have to redye it eventually) than this is the perfect product for you. I especially recommend it for people whose hair is thinner or possibly more damaged, as this will add a very nice shine and softness to it that is maintainable using the right styling products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products