Revlon Colorsilk

4.0

711 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 5/11/2015 10:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Review for Revlon Color Silk 04 Neutral Blonde.

In my quest to find my holy grail of perfect in home color that I can afford to do every two weeks I next tried Revlon ColorSilk. I was impressed with the No Amonia and price $5!

Pretty basic setup. Developer and dye was just enough to do my whole head of roots. Consider two boxes if doing all your hair. The gloves were cheap but adequate. The conditioner is a baby squeeze packet. I will use it for travel.

This is not a bleach it is more of a dye so you leave it on for an hour. Nice thick cream that went on well but it did sting my scalp so I could only make it 40 minutes.

I LIKE the COLOR. Some brass but not too bad. Covered all the grey silver. Blended nice. Tonal. I went out and bought another box. It left my hair soft not dried out!

One lipie removed for scalp trouble but this is a nice warm neutral blonde that does't wreck your hair for $5!



on 4/26/2015 8:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm reviewing the lightest ash blonde. First of all i can't find it at my local dollarstore so i buy it at walmart so it's a bit more expensive (7$ canadian dollars) so it's not as cheap as i thought i would be, but that's ok.
My hair is damaged, porous and very short (pixie)
I previously had very light ash blonde hair but i decided i was bored and changed to a light reddish brown (to counteract the ash, you need red) but it was a total disaster (read my john frieda foam precision review....) so i color-oopsed and my hair was fiery orange/yellow. I toned TWICE (30 minutes each time) with Wella T18 and a developer 10, and i now have a very very yellow pale blonde. I bought colorsilk to try and take out the brass and it WORKED!!! Great great product, no damage, silky-soft hair, my hair is even and shiny, and the color is perfect: a very light beige baby blonde. Happy!!!!! Now the only issue is that i know i won't be able to do my roots in 4 weeks because it won't lift as much as i need, but we'll see. I might have to double process bleach + tone. The only con is the smell. It may not smell like ammonia but it smells like something you would clean your sink with, not something you put on your head.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Revlon Colorsilk in Soft Black 11 is my go to when I want to go back to black hair. It really is a soft black. It's just darker then the darkest brown black shades out there. I am pale and I find it flatters my complexion rather then make me look like I am ill ha ha. Normally if I do a really dark black I have to wear alot more blush and usually lipstick as well. Not with this soft black. It's very natural looking. I am naturally a brunette on the darker side so this is darker them my natural color. I get a lot of compliments whenever I dye my hair this color and it's dark enough that if I want to put fun funky colors in my hair as well it's a nice contrast without being too brown or too dark of a black. I find it to be a happy medium between my natural color of brown that bores me and going too dark of a black. The best part is the product is always reasonably priced no matter where you buy it and it lasts. It is well worth it. Revlon Colorsilk line as well as their Luminsta line are both great products. I usually go back to Luminista when I want to be a red head again. Makes touch ups a breeze for us brunettes.


on 4/20/2015 8:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Revlon Colorsilk for about 5 years now and I like it much better than the other brands I have tried. I use the color Medium Golden Chestnut Brown and it turns out a dark brown color with bronze/red highlights. The product makes my hair uniform in color from roots to ends. I like that its a no ammonia formula because it doesn't burn my scalp like a lot of other hair dyes. My hair also feels smooth and silky after using the conditioner packet. Plus I always get a lot of shine too. All in all, this is a great product and I highly recommend it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown






on 3/30/2015 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have color resistant grey hair and this is one of the products that work for me. It's affordable. The scent is not so strong that I feel like running away from my own self when I use it. The color does not fade fast. I alternate between med brown and dark brown. Always repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2015 11:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Hands down the cheapest drug store brand box dye I've come across but for good reason. I first started using this in high school when I was experimenting with my hair and since then I've used it here and there as a last resort when I have a hair emergency and Sally's is closed (usually my hair disasters take place in the wee hours of the morning. They should really consider a 24/7 Sallys thatd be AMAZING)

Anyways, this dye runs anywhere from 2-5 dollars, Walmart being the cheapest I've seen it.
What I hate:

The smell. Listen, I've been doing this a while, I don't care about chemicals or the smells, per se. But this dye just smells noxious. Like basically 6 billion chemicals crammed into a small plastic bottle. Yup.
Also, the conditioner is useless. Anything that comes in a packet that you have to use your teeth to tear it open is crap. Especially when it's watery and smells sub par.
This dye always ALWAYS leaves my hair SUPER noticeably damaged after use. Especially the darker colors. And it always feels dry and almost plastic like.


ALL IN ALL:
it's like a 2 on a scale of 1-10 and you're better off paying a couple extra dollars for garnier (which isn't much better) or going to sallys and getting some salon grade stuff.


on 1/27/2015 4:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

So I've been using the Revlon Buttercream in the shade black and I really liked how shiny my hair looked and how soft it made my hair feel at first but I realized the top of my hair was fading super fast and looking so dull. The top few inches of my hair looked like a flat dark brown and the rest of my hair was still black and shiny. I just assumed that Colorsilk wouldnt work so well due to the price but after reading so many positive reviews, I decided to go for it. I picked the shade blue black and I'm really happy I did! My hair looks very black and very shiny and healthy. Application was much easier for me than the Buttercream also, maybe it was just me but I had drips like crazy on myself as well as all over my bathroom! This was not an issue with the colorsilk, I even noticed my skin didn't stain as much and that's a big deal when you're using black hair color!
Overall I would give this produce 5 lippies in each category, the packaging isn't the best but it really seems that where this hair color skimps in that regard, it more than makes up for with the quality of the product! I picked this up for $2.94 at target, you can't beat that! And I've seen it on sale where you can pick up 2 boxes for $5!! Love it!


on 1/8/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Honestly i have tried all diferent brands in the past an none have done the job like this has. it's cheap, it's permanent and the choice of color is outsandingly pleasing. it has never damaged my hair and i will keep using this for the rest of my life. i swear by this hair dye. i must say only one thing i dont like about it is that the color brightnes after about 10 washes. but other than that i am totally in love with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

makeupalley has failed me again.
if you look through my other reviews, you will know that i am trying to get to a level 8 or 9 blonde color. i saw that this was the highest rated hair dye and it was 3 dollars so i thought what harm could it do? so i picked up medium ash blonde and left it on the recommended time. it turned my PRE-LIGHTENED roots orange and the rest of my hair a dark brassy blonde. mind you, my hair was a natural creamy light blonde before, not thanks to ion 8a [which mua also highly rated...]. so now i'm back where i've begun. probably going to try garnier white chocolate because i had a good expierience with 535 a couple of years ago.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
373 Reviews
Colorsilk
711 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Revlon Colorsilk by Denim Vixen



Back to Top