Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 3.9(688 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LilyTaylor16 on 8/7/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by LilyTaylor16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

ALL TIME FAVORITE HAIR DYE. I've used this in pretty much every shade of black and brown, with a couple of the light blonde shades. The colors come out very true to the box and last forever. The dye smells pleasant and the small (a little too small

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 althea77 on 7/31/2014 11:34:00 AM more reviews by althea77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yes! This inexpensive color fixed my hot roots! I've tried everything and this is the best for gray too. Thanks for the reviews! The conditioner is chintzy though...best to mix with other conditioner, like someone said. It smells great though! Definitely will repurchase. I used brown-black and I don't see any red tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Annabanana030 on 7/30/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Annabanana030

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

The color fades a little. Don't think it strong enough for my roots. Other than that but was pretty nice...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monicaandree on 7/12/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by monicaandree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have changed my hair color so much in the last year that it's a miracle I even still have hair. I've gone from dark espresso brown to medium golden blonde with highlights and everything in between. My natural color is a level 6 ashy blonde, and I wish I could get it back because it is so naturally shiny! So, when my medium highlighted blonde started looking very warm and almost strawberry blonde, I decided to use the Revlon Colorsilk in dark ash blonde. I've had success with the darker colors in the past, and this was no exception. I now have a TRUE ashy dark level 6 blonde with a lot of dimension - lowlights and highlights. This darkened the lowlights and deposited color on the highlights such that I look like I had my hair professionally done. I didnt use the conditioner packet as it wouldnt be enough for my long hair. This is as close as I've been to my natural color in over a decade, and I can now just let my hair grow out naturally. HG!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Callque on 7/3/2014 3:12:00 AM more reviews by Callque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My favorite brand of drugstore hair dyes and also the cheapest!

They're a pain in the butt to rinse out and have a messy formula but the colors are great for the price and they leave my hair exceptionally shiny and soft. The colors are hit and miss for me (I find some of their darker colors too flat looking to be natural) but once you find the right color WOW. I use Deep Rich Brown 27 and love it (HG for me). It's a warm dark brown that isn't flat and doesn't have any fake burgundy tones to it.

Beautiful and a great price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dcalhalabi93 on 7/2/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by dcalhalabi93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my favorite box dye that I have ever used. Not only is is super cheap (You can buy a box from Walmart for only $2.99-$3.99), but it leaves your hair is SUCH good condition. After Rinsing and applying the conditioner that comes with it, your hair will feel satin soft and smell like heaven and have a shine like no other. I didn't want to wash my hair after that because I didn't want the wonderful smell to go away! lol

The cons to it are that I have found if you are not using a shampoo and conditioner MADE for colored hair, your color will fade pretty fast, especially if you are using a color with a red or orange base. This means money for upkeep (But hey, its only 3 bucks) and I recommend sleeping with a towel or old shirt under your head for the first few washes to avoid staining your pillow. (Yeah, it does happen) Lets just say, on April 5th I died my hair a burgundy color, and after a few weeks, my pillow became burgundy and my hair became an auburn brown/chestnut brown color. (I was NOT using a color shampoo/conditioner)

But definitely if you are wanting a change and are not wanting to commit a bunch of money on a temporary look (Because hair grows out, some faster than others and you'll have to redye it eventually) than this is the perfect product for you. I especially recommend it for people whose hair is thinner or possibly more damaged, as this will add a very nice shine and softness to it that is maintainable using the right styling products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 6/24/2014 9:23:00 AM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been coloring my hair with Revlon Colorsilk for years with excellent results. I used #72 Strawberry Blonde for years (sadly it's been discontinued). For a while I messed around with bleach and other dyes, and basically ruined my hair. I had to completely grow out the color. Then I timidly reached for the Colorsilk again. I tried the #42 Medium Auburn which turned out great. It made my naturally light brown hair a beautiful medium red. Recently, I mixed half #71 Golden Blonde with half #42 Medium Auburn to recreate the discontinued Strawberry Blonde as closely as I could. (FYI: It came out a pretty light sandy red). If you want reds that look natural, use Revlon Colorsilk. I've never been left with color too orange or purple looking. As for the condition of my hair, it feels great. I color once a month, and I haven't had any problems with damage. Keep in mind I regularly use protein shampoos and conditioners.

Normally I buy my color at Kroger's, which sells it for $2.99 a box. However, I've seen it as high as $4.99 a box at some drugstores. Regardless, it's still the most affordable haircolor on the market. Sure the gloves are cheap, but they work. The only thing Revlon Colorsilk won't do is take a dark haired person super light. You'll end up orange every time, but that's true of most boxed haircolor. You need bleach to seriously lighten dark hair. And if you go too dark, you're stuck with it until it grows out or until you see a hairdresser for some expensive color correction. Remember: It's always best to stay within 2 or 3 shades of your natural haircolor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acatcalledbellatrix on 6/8/2014 12:56:00 AM more reviews by acatcalledbellatrix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought one of these Revlon hair dyes after a mishap with a Garnier hair colour. I wanted a dark brown with red undertones and Garnier's 'Darkest Burning Brown' ended up a very deep red shade. Now I would've been fine with this but red hair is frowned upon in my workplace so I fixed it with the Revlon ColorSilk dye in 'Dark Brown'.

Normally 'Dark Brown' would be a colour I would steer clear of as it just looks like a flat dark brown. Usually I like them to have red or golden undertones but as my hair was already red, I didn't really need the undertones.

My hair ended up exactly the shade I wanted and three weeks later the colour is still as dark and as rich as it was the day my boyfriend dyed it for me.

There was plenty of colour to cover my hair and the gloves fit perfectly on his massive hands, so they're probably no good for women doing their own hair but in my case they were perfect. And I think I paid something like $6.99 for it which is amazing value.

I'll definitely try to find a shade in this line that will keep up the red undertones as well as the darkness of the brown that I've currently got.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bellamoma on 6/7/2014 1:28:00 AM more reviews by bellamoma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

FINALLY something that compares to loreal's Natural Match (RIP). I used medium brown. The baggy gloves suck but who cares? The color is excellent and covers my stubborn greys better than loreal preference, excellence, sublime mousse (horrific stuff, btw), garnier's olia and clairol's natural instincts. After rinsing out the color it was an eensy bit too dark, but after 2 washes (about 4 days apart each) the color has settled into a perfect medium brown that looks lovely. It has only now started to fade off my resistant grey, and it's been 2 weeks. (All others were fading out after the first wash!). The medium brown leans very cool on me, which I wanted. For 5 bucks, it's worth a try if you've been searching for something to replace your beloved Natural Match, like I was!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Esther66 on 5/26/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Esther66

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This product does not cover grey hairs at all! Used the ColorSilk Luminista in Honey Blonde and turned my hair orange. Not sure why this product has positive reviews. If you need to cover grey, buy something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products