Ole Henriksen Truth Creme Advanced Hydration

2.6

39 reviews

28% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, Glycerin, Squalane, Triheptanoin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Candelilla/Jojoba/Rice Bran Polyglyceryl-3, Esters, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Ceramide 2, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Hydrolyzed Viola Tricolor Extract, Calcium Ascorbate, Rosa Canina Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Saccharum Officinarium (Sugar Cane) Extract, Acer Saccharinum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Soybean Sterols, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Bisabolol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Trehalose, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Extract, Sorbitol, Xanthan Gum, Potato Starch Modified, Sodium Phytate, Potassium Sorbate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum/Fragrance.


on 1/20/2015 2:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This does moisturize and make my skin look better.

However it's too expensive for the results I'm getting... also feels like it loses potency over time... probably because it has vit c as the active ingredient and has a CLEAR JAR that has a wide mouth that you DIP your fingers in ... vit c degrades with air and light exposure.

I find this with all Ole Henrikson products... the right ingredients that ultimately fails from the poor packaging because whomever designed it, didn't have enough chemistry knowledge about the ingredients.



on 1/17/2015 9:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

What hydration? should be the name of this product. I have oily skin and this left my skin feeling dry. I definitely need more moisture in my moisturizer. Maybe for those with really oily skin this would work, but I did not find this product to be overly impressive, especially for the price point. Additionally, if you want to wear this during the day, you need to layer sun protection over this product, which means you need to spend more money just to make this doable. At least this did not irritate my skin.


on 1/1/2015 12:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I currently use and love OH's Sheer Transformation, so I was excited to try my sample of Truth Creme. TC has a liquidy, serum-like consistency but it moisturizes really well. I woke up to super smooth and soft skin. However, the scent is pretty gnarly and smells like rotten oranges, so I would not use this in the morning under my makeup, although the consistency definitely works if you want to layer products. I was not a fan of any of OH's Orange scented products, including the vitamin c serum which is very popular, but I think the scent of the TC is different and worse.


on 10/6/2014 10:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The scent is quite off-putting. The creme itself is just okay. It is hydrating but somewhat greasy. I bought the small jar of this in a set on boxing day at Sephora. I would not purchase the full-sized product. I don't feel this is the proper product for my combination, dehydrated skin and do not feel it is worth the price. I would purchase the serum in lieu.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got a sample of this in my Ipsy bag. It moisterized moderatly well and didn't break me out but I just can't get past the terrible smell. It smells like rotten citrus to me. Overall, for the price it's not worth it.


on 6/14/2014 8:19:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I feel kind of bad writing this review for 2 reasons, 1. I love Ole's Truth Serum, and 2. I only used the moisturizer two times ( I received it as a sample). I don't normally have such a strong reaction to product, but as soon as I put it on my face I was grossed out. The smell is so bad my dog was literally sneezing when I walked by him( he has a very sensitive nose), and the smell lasted forever. The consistency felt sticky and overall not good!!


on 6/1/2014 11:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This face cream works great for my sensitive skin. Calms it down, makes it look clear. I like the slight citrus scent. It absorbs immediately; will definitively buy again.


on 3/19/2014 11:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Wow, I'm really surprised at all the bad reviews on this. I'm glad I didn't read them before giving this a try. I have incredibly sensitive and reactive skin, if it doesn't cause a rash, it will cause a breakout, usually both at once. This is the first moisturizer I've tried that didn't do either AND still moisturized and calmed my combo/dehydrated skin.

The smell... I'm thinking many reviewers got old or bad product. Mine smells like orange cream. It can be a little overwhelming, especially at first but I don't think it smells bad and once applied the scent fades within minutes.
I do hate the stupid jar though. I depot 1/3 of it at a time into a small container and store the remainder in a closet but I would much rather see this in a pump bottle.

This, along with The Body Shop Vitamin C Microdermabrasion and oil cleansing, have saved my skin this winter.


on 3/14/2014 3:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Ugh maybe it is supposed to smell fresh like an orange or citrus acid but it smells like sweaty armpit. also it leaves my skin oily and i had breakouts using this cream.
i do not recommend this cream.


on 1/10/2014 5:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

To get the most obvious thing out of the way--this moisturizer reeks. It's supposed to smell like citrus (so you'd think it would be refreshing), but to me it smells like a mix of orange peels and liquorice. I have been using it for a few weeks, along with the truth vitamin C serum and the eye cream, and I've basically gotten used to the scent.. but man, the first day it smelled really bad.

This is a decent moisturizer that, in my opinion, is overpriced and poorly packaged. I really wish they had gone with a pump dispenser or a tube instead of a tub, because it feels unsanitary dipping my finger into the same container twice a day. The tub packaging also means that all the active ingredients, like the extracts and antioxidants, end up getting oxidized by exposure to the air, and potentially contaminated if you store the moisturizer in the bathroom, where it's warm and damp after a shower. This really cuts out the beneficial effects of the cream.

I also find that this offers pretty light hydration considering that it's marketed for all skin types. I have oily/combination skin that goes closer to normal/combination in the winter, and I end up mixing this moisturizer with a drop of argan oil to make it more hydrating.

Honestly for 56 bucks (the price at Sephora in Canada) you would do way better buying a basic-but-effective moisturizer like CeReVe, and spending your cash on a well-packaged serum (a pump with a dark bottle or opaque tube) that contains antioxidants for a more effective skincare regimen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top