Ole Henriksen • Truth Creme Advanced Hydration • Moisturizers

rated 2.6(32 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jinxd on 3/19/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by jinxd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, I'm really surprised at all the bad reviews on this. I'm glad I didn't read them before giving this a try. I have incredibly sensitive and reactive skin, if it doesn't cause a rash, it will cause a breakout, usually both at once. This is the first moisturizer I've tried that didn't do either AND still moisturized and calmed my combo/dehydrated skin.

The smell... I'm thinking many reviewers got old or bad product. Mine smells like orange cream. It can be a little overwhelming, especially at first but I don't think it smells bad and once applied the scent fades within minutes.
I do hate the stupid jar though. I depot 1/3 of it at a time into a small container and store the remainder in a closet but I would much rather see this in a pump bottle.

This, along with The Body Shop Vitamin C Microdermabrasion and oil cleansing, have saved my skin this winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lislonard on 3/14/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by Lislonard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Ugh maybe it is supposed to smell fresh like an orange or citrus acid but it smells like sweaty armpit. also it leaves my skin oily and i had breakouts using this cream.
i do not recommend this cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sunstar29 on 1/10/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by sunstar29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

To get the most obvious thing out of the way--this moisturizer reeks. It's supposed to smell like citrus (so you'd think it would be refreshing), but to me it smells like a mix of orange peels and liquorice. I have been using it for a few weeks, along with the truth vitamin C serum and the eye cream, and I've basically gotten used to the scent.. but man, the first day it smelled really bad.

This is a decent moisturizer that, in my opinion, is overpriced and poorly packaged. I really wish they had gone with a pump dispenser or a tube instead of a tub, because it feels unsanitary dipping my finger into the same container twice a day. The tub packaging also means that all the active ingredients, like the extracts and antioxidants, end up getting oxidized by exposure to the air, and potentially contaminated if you store the moisturizer in the bathroom, where it's warm and damp after a shower. This really cuts out the beneficial effects of the cream.

I also find that this offers pretty light hydration considering that it's marketed for all skin types. I have oily/combination skin that goes closer to normal/combination in the winter, and I end up mixing this moisturizer with a drop of argan oil to make it more hydrating.

Honestly for 56 bucks (the price at Sephora in Canada) you would do way better buying a basic-but-effective moisturizer like CeReVe, and spending your cash on a well-packaged serum (a pump with a dark bottle or opaque tube) that contains antioxidants for a more effective skincare regimen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 1/9/2014 10:37:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I received a sample of this cream when I purchased some other Ole goodies and my god is it bad. I'm perfectly satisfied with the moisturizers I already use but I figured..a sample..what the hay. O M freggin G! I put this on only one time, the next morning I had two small pimples on my chin!!! Plus, yes, it kinda reeks....bearable but ..naaaaaa. I think it would be better sans the soy bean ingredients and maybe even the dimethicone so high up on the list or even at all. Those are probably what did it, as far as clogged pores go. It did leave my skin feeling decent and looking brighter. If Ole and his people tweaked this a bit, they could have a home run. I do love a couple of other products from this line though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lady5andy on 1/8/2014 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think the smell is really weird, like something is off. Maybe I had a bad one? After reading the others reviews I guess it's the normal smell of the product. I do not like jar packaging.

I have a really sensitive and dry skin and after using it my skin is red and hot. I did not like this product and I will never purchase a full size. I got this as a sample in one of my beauty boxes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Khandigirl on 12/25/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Khandigirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To everyone who said that this stuff smells horrible, I agree 100%! I got this as a sample and I can't even tell you how well it works because I had to wash it off. It took a minute for the scent to actually hit me, but when it did: ugh! I had to scrub my face for several minutes with a washcloth to get the smell off. I even applied another strongly scented face cream close to my nose to get the truth creme scent "out of my nose". I will say that it went on very smooth and felt slightly silicone-y, not greasy at all but still felt moisturizing, so I guess one lippie for how the formula feels going on the skin. It's a shame because I'm looking for a new lightweight face moisturizer and probably would have liked it and bought it had it not smelled like rotten fruit mixed with something worse. I normally love scented lotions, etc. especially on my body. Scented face products usually don't bother me either. This is the first time I've ever had to wash something off because it smelled so bad :( if you've never used this before, i would recommend smelling before buying!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jhe9488 on 11/11/2013 8:31:00 AM more reviews by Jhe9488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got the deluxe sample from my Ipsy bag and gave it a go. I was really put off my the smell of this product immediately but decided to push through it. I found that after a few days, you really do get used to it and it is orange-y smelling. The texture is quite runny but it does do a great job at hydrating my skin and my skin was noticeably softer and brighter when I was using it. However, I had gotten almost down to the bottom of my sample jar before I started getting bumps all over my cheeks. At first I thought it was another product and kept using this, but the bumps persisted until I stopped using this. I loved the way my skin felt, but definitely get a sample of this and use it for a little while to see how your skin will react before you decide to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jencat85 on 11/3/2013 3:30:00 AM more reviews by Jencat85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm with other reviewers that said that this product stinks, like literally stinks! It almost smells like it had gone bad and I wondered if I got a bad batch, but I see that I'm not the only one who experienced this. I put some on my chest and neck before going to bed at my boyfriends and he said "ugh what is that smell!? It smells like wet dog or moldy clothes!" I told him I think it's my lotion and he smelled and said "yep it is!" I was so embarrassed and bummed. It also made my chest break out in bumps by morning!! This stuff sucks sooo bad I can't believe it hasn't been recalled. Terrible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 OlivyahMartini on 11/1/2013 6:09:00 PM more reviews by OlivyahMartini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This smells so bad it made me sick. I'm not even joking. It also takes multiple washes to get the smell to fade. On the bright side it made my skin feel great for the 2 hours I had it on. I want to think something went terribly wrong with my jar or Ole Henriksen had a bad batch. Because the alternatives are this is the intended scent and some people actually like it, I'm hallucinating scents and need to see a doctor STAT, or I'm pregnant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aase1 on 10/23/2013 7:41:00 AM more reviews by Aase1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The texture was a bit runny, and the smell quite orangy, but used with the truth serum I was impressed with how good my skin looked. More clarified and refined. And did not give a shiny/greasy finish either. Would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ole Henriksen products

More Moisturizers products