L.A. Colors • Sunflower trio • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sage4dylan on 5/12/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVED these. this one is so pretty and i have 2 more. they are awesome and for 1$ you just cant beat it. so glad i found L.A. Colors.

Edit: I wrote this review right after only using these one time. I have to say I am so impressed with this one that it has become my every day go to shadow. Looks great on me, stays for my 10 hour day with Elf primer on my eyelid with NO problem. Blends better than any other shadow I have and does not crease. Pigment is awesome. I couldnt have gotten any better deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 5/12/2014 3:55:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy pigment! I passed on these at the Dollar Tree so many times. So many. I kept thinking, no, it's cheap and going to be chalky and have no pigment. Then I passed it again this week and thought, well, I saw one of these trios on Youtube and the reviewer was impressed.

I grabbed 3 of the trios to try and figured, okay, only $1. Wow. This is a seriously pigmented and buttery palette. ALL of the palettes I grabbed were. I am stunned. This is so pretty. Very natural and very much a fun palette for summer with the bronze colors.

They last a long time and remind me so much of UD in how they wear and look. NO chalkiness or powdery look. They are just very soft and blend easily. I can't get over this palette and the others. Grab them if you see them, you wont be sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeidiF69 on 7/22/2013 6:18:00 PM more reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've bought several of these shadow trios at Dollar Tree, and some are better than others. This Sunflower trio is just gorgeous! I applied it over my Fergie primer, and it lasted all day, didn't budge. At the end of the day I had forgotten which shadows I had used because they just stayed much better than expected.
I applied these with a wet brush over primer, so it really helped to "foil" the colors. I used the gold on the lid, the rust in the crease, and the brown in the outer V and under my lower lashes. So pretty!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aquafina on 5/3/2013 12:55:00 AM more reviews by aquafina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Vey impressed with this product considering it was sonly a dollar,,,live ive!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ambrielle15 on 4/27/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by Ambrielle15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Not very pigmented, but for the price ($1), I can't complain. They are nice colors when I layer them on and have a nice sheen. Not my favorite shadows but definitely get the job done at a great price. I'd repurchase this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 7/4/2012 10:39:00 AM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

LA Colors has truly amazing eyeshadows that I personally enjoy. Some of their older makeup isn't the best but these new trios are really great quality. I love finding new makeup from them & they are cruelty free, affordable, and a very nice company. They care about their customers.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~ PRICE & AVAILABILITY ~~~~~~~~~~
LA Colors is available in my area at my local Dollar Tree, Dollar General, Five Below & Family Dollar stores. They also have their own website online that you can order from. I really hope that a big store would pick them up & sale their products bc I know they would be big like Wet-n-Wild is. Their makeup is very cheap & affordable. I am on a strict budget so their makeup is great for it. The new trios only cost $1. yes, one dollar but don't let the price tag deter you bc they are great!
~~~~ SHADE & FORMULA & PERFORMANCE ~~~~~~
The LA Colors 3 color trios are an amazing soft, super pigmented and creamy shadows. They arent exactly like the new Loreal infalliable shadows but pretty similar. They are pressed well, butter smooth, apply so nicely and blend well. The top layer i find has an metallic overlay but ends up being more matte with a slight shimmer. The finish ends up being more on the satin side. The trio comes with 3 amazing shadows that coordinate together but i love to add different finishes esp mattes into my looks for more day time appropriate looks. The LA Colors 3 color trios are an amazing soft, super pigmented and creamy shadows. They arent exactly like the new Loreal Infalliable shadows but pretty similar. They are pressed well, butter smooth, apply so nicely and blend well. The top layer i find has an metallic overlay but ends up being more matte with a slight shimmer. The finish ends up being more on the satin side. The trio comes with 3 amazing shadows that coordinate together but i love to add different finishes esp mattes into my looks for more day time appropriate looks. These colors in this trio are very soft and pretty. They are super pigmented and smooth with minimal fallout. I do see very little loose powder after dipping my brush but i expect much more with such a cheap trio but its actually not too bad. Whats super nice about these trios is the pigmentation & the feel of the shadows. They almost feel wet or like a foiled shadow. This makes it super easy to apply. The three shadows from left to right are:
1st shadow: a yellow gold sun color
2nd shadow: a orange with golden & bronze undertones
3rd shadow: a unique brown with somewhat of a green undertone
Sunflower is a nice neutral trio with some fun colors. Its warm, great for summer or fall. I love this colors. They can be added to any look. Great for those with warm skin tones. These shadows are so smooth & silky and I like them better than alot of drugstore shadows I've purchased.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ PACKAGING ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The LA Colors 3 Color Trios come in the standard hard plastic rectangular compact. The lid is see through with the LA Colors logo and the back is black with sticker with shade name and ingredients/info. The compact snaps open/shut easily. These arent super flimsy where they will crack or break easily like some drugstore compacts. They are slim enough to fit into bags for travel. Inside is 3 circular pans, bigger than 28mm which means you get a whole bunch of shadow which is awesome. The shadows have a flower pressed into the top. The flower will disappear with use. The compact isn't the best but they work and they hold the product safely. They include a double ended foam tip applicator for those who may need it. I do use brushes but ive had instances where ive needed one. I love that you get a good size deep pan of shadow. What I care about is that the product inside is great & that it will be safe. And better if i get a good amount of product.
Overall, LA Colors trios are amazing!! (they also have other new trios that are similar to these but w/out the flower imprint)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eyeshadowforall on 6/29/2012 1:31:00 AM more reviews by eyeshadowforall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I. LOVE. THIS. The colors are soft, richly pigmented, and shimmery. It applies smoothly and evenly and is easily blendable. The colors are GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It features a beautiful coppery-red, a brown-gold, and a lovely buttercup, honey-gold yellow. I don't know what the other reviewer was going on about with olive-green and such, they clearly got the wrong palette. The picture posted does not do it justice! I can't believe this is only a dollar!!! Ok, the lasting power is terrible, granted. They don't crease or fade, but they do all blend together if you try to use separate colors. Thy stay put fine with a high-end primer, but the drugstore primers I've tried haven't done much. Then again, I only tried 3 drugstore primers before buying Urban Decay Primer Potion, and all were the lowest of the low end, the cheapest of the cheap. I'm sure there are better-working drugstore primers out there. HOWEVER...I still gave it 5 stars because I wouldn't mind reapplying all day, these are so gorgeous. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE HIGHLY RECOMMEND JUST USE A PRIMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* waymire01 on 4/23/2012 7:36:00 PM more reviews by waymire01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Picked this up at Dollar Tree for $1. Part of their new spring line, all named after flowers. In the pan there is a gold, a red/copper, and an olive green... all very metallic, with a flower imprinted into each. The colors look very bright in the pan, but when applied the lack of pigment is quite dramatic, they are about half as pigmented as they appear. I did use primer. That being said, they are actually quite pretty, the colors in the pan are so bold they could be hard to wear.....but they are soft and very wearable on the eye, and made a beautiful warm copper/terracotta eye look, with the green in the crease and the gold on the inner corner. Most of the metallic shimmer did not transfer to the eye either, they appeared satin, and as the day wore on almost matte. The gold was the most pigmented of the bunch, and the most shimmery on the eye. They were soft, yet not crumbly and not a ton of fallout, not chalky, and blended very well. I'm really torn about these, they were nice on, and wore very well through the day.. but completely different than expected when purchased. I would say they are nice shadows, especially for someone wanting a soft and wearable look, and the price is great, but a complete fail if you are expecting them to be the color/finish in the pan.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More L.A. Colors products

More Eye Shadow products