Topix • Replenix Ultra Sheer Physical Sunscreen Spray SPF 50 • Sunscreen

rated 3.7(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MUAsAlbino on 12/1/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by MUAsAlbino

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Background on my skintype: NC10 (AKA albino), very oily, very acne prone, with rosacea.

I bought this after hearing raves from my fellow oily gals. However it never fully dried on me and left the typical moist, tacky feeling that most sunscreens leave my skin with. This sunscreen is so full of silicones and anti-aging ingredients I really should *not* be surprised. To make matters worse, this broke me out horribly. Your mileage may vary. If you try this sunscreen and do not like it, I would recommend the most current Biore UV Perfect Face Milk spf50 (assuming you have oily skin).

Topix Replenix Ultra Sheer Physical Sunscreen Spray SPF 50 just wasn't for me. However there are a few pros I'll point out because I'm sure this would work beautifully on anyone with "normal" skin.

For starters, it is sheer as the name suggests. The consistency is liquidy & it won't get cakey on your face. The SPF is sufficient. Keep in mind, studies have shown that you need 1/4th teaspoon to get the full benefits of sunscreen advertised. That would take 8 spritz of this. Consumers rarely follow the 1/4th teaspoon rule so that's why it's always important to get a sunscreen with high SPF and UVA protection. Which brings me to my next point - this sunscreen has very good protection against UVA rays. UVA rays are what will age your skin and damage it. Additionally, Topix Replenix Sheer Sunscreen Spray has several ingredients for anti aging that will help aid/boost the SPF itself.

Last but not least - I've seen many whine about the cost of it. However, as much as this product did not work for me, I'd still like to argue a point. The price *is* fair. For under $30, you are getting 4 fluid oz. That is nearly $7 an ounce. Sunscreen is one of the most important things you can use for your skin - do not skimp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LTcurlygirl on 11/26/2014 6:23:00 PM more reviews by LTcurlygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite sunscreen at the moment for my dry, sensitive skin, but its not without its faults. I use it because the protection is good and it's the least drying I have found that doesn't break me out, however I do have to moisturize before applying and sometimes I still get flakes. Very slight white cast on my NC15 skin. Also, the spray bottle is a major pain. Despite its faults I repurchase because it's the best I have found.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ProductReviewer on 10/15/2014 11:54:00 PM more reviews by ProductReviewer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great sunblock, for those that want a sheer, matte product. But, on the down side, it has no white color to lighten & brighten skin.

It is fragrance free, non irritating & 'chemical free' (zinc oxide is still a chemical contrary to what some may think). It is not overly thick & it is not greasy. Because it contains a high amount of zinc oxide, it is both soothing & anti-bacterial (which helps if you are acne prone). It does not pill up or flake off once applied. It is oil free, non-acnegenic, non-comdeogenic & has never caused me to breakout. It provides complete UVB/UVA protection, and has a high SPF.

I won't be buying it again though, because it is both 1) matte & 2) sheer & not white. I like a glow - not a dry, matte look. And, I prefer my porcelain skin to be it's lightest, brightest & whitest possible - so I love the white tint that other all zinc oxide sunblocks provide, what this sunblock is definitely missing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 k10573 on 7/5/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by k10573

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This sunscreen is absolutely worth trying out, whether or not it actually ends up working out for you or not. Because, as a physical SC, it is the most sheer, cosmetically elegant one I have ever tried and is the only one I have personally tried (alot) that looks like I have nothing on. It feels like I have nothing on ever, and gives a very, very slight luminosity if I look hard enough.

To start, I have combo skin and it does not dry me out at all. I use Cetaphil moisturizing creme at night and have not had any problems. I would consider the comments on the drying something that you will personally have to work with, but not a set in stone dealbreaker for this sunscreen.

As a spray, it doesn't bother me spraying into my fingers. It isn't as if it's a complete watery liquid. It stays in place where you spray it on your fingers and then easily transfers onto your face. It's not a messy, drippy application if that makes any sense. You dont' have to hurry before it runs all over the place. In fact, it applies easier then Neutrogena Liquid Pure and Simple. That's more runny then this.

I don't notice that it takes that long to dry. I put it on after my shower and by the time I get to my makeup it's great. I don't use moisturizer under it in the morning. Still doesn't dry me out. I do don't anything special to remove it other then my Dove Sensitive Skin cleanser and have no breakouts.

Actual protection might be a dealbreaker for some. As other's have noted, I do find it's not perfect protection. I have noticed it lets a bit of sun through. Nothing to ever even burn me or even tan me, but more sun does get through then other's I have tried. I would not wear this as my only protection on my face to the beach, unless I apply several layers throughout the day. However, it will really be a part of where you live and how you are out in the sun. For living in the cloudy NW and being so cosmetically elegant it's a great everyday physical sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Daniela1977 on 5/22/2014 4:46:00 AM more reviews by Daniela1977

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well ... I was so exited to buy and try this after all the recommendations from the SCB. Was hard to find for me ( in UK ) had to order online and pay $$ shipping charges , costed me in total 40 to get it here. But i tho if is good then worth it .
I read that can be drying and as i do have dry skin especially in winter ( on Retin-A ) i applied the sunscreen over moisturiser. In hot summer days i skip the moisturiser , so drying wasn't a issue .
Let me start with the fact that i HATED that is a spray. Had to spray on my hand and then apply on face. Anyway the texture was nice and no white cast after few seconds.
Also was great under make up. I use mineral powder and this sunscreen was doing really good job as a primer.
Didn't had any issues with my skin while using this. No breakouts , no rush , or anything negative. Everything was fine.
BUT THEN ....... After using the whole bottle in summer i found out i have much more brown spots on my face than ever before.
I do not suffer from pigmentation ( or at least didn't notice anything till i used this sunscreen )
After using this every day in summer i found out i have many brown spots on my face especially under my eyes and cheek bones. Which to me means this isn't a good protector for sun or at least for me.
Just to mention - i use Retin-A every other night as well as AHA the rest of the nights , Mornings i use Vit.C serum and always a good amount of sunscreen. I wear big sunglasses nearly every day even when not sunny and if i go swimming pool or beach i will wear hat as well.
I use this routine for the last 10 years and never had so many brown spots on my face. So it must be the sunscreen .!!!

At the moment i use Ducray Melascreen SPF50 Creme Ligere and i m really happy with it. My skin is clearing out as well.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonymousme on 12/27/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by anonymousme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Couple of things: 1. Excellent, cosmetically elegant physical sunscreen 2. Will dry you out if you don't take appropriate measures to moisturize 3. Will break you out if you don't remove with oil cleanser

I love this product - it's ingenious. Spray bottle, sheer feeling, virtually cast and fragrance free.

Pros:
- great packaging
- cosmetically elegant
- cast- and fragrance-free
- light feeling
- great primer
- lightened up my sun spots!
- has antioxidants
- high protection

Cons:
- MUST use moisturizer with this. Noticed my cheeks were getting flaky dry with this and it's never happened w/any other sunscreens before. Elta MD Intense over this solves the dryness
- MUST remove with oil cleanser. I use Shu and Shiseido's. Noticed I had some clogged pores when I neglected to use oil cleaning.

Verdict:

- HG status for me. I'll buy anything regardless of price if it does the trick and this hits my trifecta: time (easily ordered off Amazon, received two days later), quality (awesome), and value (great value for amount of product, IMO).

Run to buy this if you're in need of a physical sunscreen.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 9/19/2013 1:28:00 AM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I'm allergic to chemical sunscreens and also react to something unidentified in a lot of physical-only sunscreens, and I had such high hopes for this after the Skin Care board recommended it for me. I did a small patch test, though, and felt like I'd set my face on fire.

I gave it two stars instead of one because it looks like good stuff for people who aren't insanely sensitive -- easy-dispensing, sturdy package, no strong scent, light fluid that dries down matte, lots of antioxidants.

If you have very sensitive skin, though, run don't walk in the other direction :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mpshouse on 9/9/2013 8:19:00 PM more reviews by mpshouse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Topix Replenix Ultra Sheer Physical Sunscreen Spray SPf 50 is a huge name, but the product lives up to it. As the ingredients are listed above, I will just say that it is a zinc/silicone/antioxidant blend that actually manages to give a sheer finish on my face. I have measured 8 sprays to be 1/4 tsp, but sometimes I add another spray or two. If I really look closely, knowing what I'm looking for, I can sometimes detect a very slight white cast or luminosity, but this is without a doubt the sheerest, most wearable physical ss I've ever used.

I spray onto my fingertips, then apply to my face. Following tips from other MUAers, I usually apply in two layers, and use a hair dryer on cool to help speed the drying time.(For reference, regarding drying, I wear either Replenix CF, Cerave PM, or both underneath). It still takes over 40 minutes to dry and disappear, even with those tricks. The final result is a slightly tacky finish that liquid and cream mu go over very nicely, though they don't really sink in as they would without a physical ss underneath. Powders can sort of grab onto the ss.

I've worn this for a full year now, and can report that it holds up to humidity and mild sweating, and to entire days outside. I do not rely on it for heavy-duty sweating.

I have melasma on my upper lip and forehead, as well as a couple of hp spots on my cheeks, and have experienced no discernible darkening while wearing this.

In winter, I do need moisturizer underneath, as my skin can be dry.

My skin can be rather reactive, and many ss, even all physical, cause irritation bumps. Replenix spray has never caused me any irritation at all.

I can heartily recommend it. I will continue to repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yvie8 on 8/18/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by Yvie8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Easy to apply. It really is sheer. Best physical sunscreen I've found. Full of good stuff for the skin like green tea, vitamin c and q10. It is a little drying though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fannyfan on 7/25/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by fannyfan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
- High UVA protection (for physical sunscreen)
- Contains antioxidants to boost sun protection
- Completely invisible matte/satin finish
- Works well under makeup

CONS:
- Drying if used alone on my combination skin
- Not cheap
- Takes about 15 minutes to sink in (a hair dryer on cool can help accelerate the process)
- Only available online

BOTTOM LINE:
HG face sunscreen for everyday. Tread carefully if you're sensitive to silicones.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Topix products

More Sunscreen products