Avene • Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(219 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 chewedcucumber on 9/6/2014 6:22:00 AM more reviews by chewedcucumber

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Saved me after some bad sun damage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Michael0586 on 7/1/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Michael0586

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I initially bought his product about 3 years ago, my skin was going through a rough time and despite normally being oily was extremely dry, irritated and red!!

After a few laps around the boots skincare section I was approached by a sales assistant who after one look at my face and dragged me over to the avene counter (of which I will be forever grateful!!!)

This cream calms the skin immediately and after about a week my skin resumed its normal service, I initially used this ad-hoc when my skin was playing up or I'd used and exfoliate, but now since discovering the combination skin option I use it as a night cream.

I cannot speak highly enough about this product, or about avene as a brand, as I'm getting older my skin appears to becoming more and more sensitive and this brand (particularly this moisturiser) keeps my skin in check.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 qingdao on 6/18/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by qingdao

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

Like some users I have red flat hive type eruptions,.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jagorkarinte on 5/30/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by jagorkarinte

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I used this after chemical peels of whenever my skin was dry and needed some extra attention. The first couple of times I used it I loved it and thought I'd found the perfect alternative to my beloved (but expensive here in Sweden) Dermalogica Active moist. However, after I started to use it every day, the effect seemed to wear off and I ended up with dry patches of skin. This is very unusual for me, and it disappeared after I stopped using this product. I now use Avene Cold cream after peels and Active Moist for every day use and could not be happier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debstarnes on 5/26/2014 12:31:00 AM more reviews by debstarnes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have super sensitive skin that reacts to just about everything I put on it. This is the one cream that seems to work for me. It works so good, that I'm a little concerned that it might contain hydro cortisone, which is not a good thing to use long term. I've tried to research one of it's ingredients "Parcerine", which the Avène website says is the ingredient responsible for the calming affect, but not much is available about it. If anyone can help with this query I would be most grateful :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fionahz on 3/20/2014 9:52:00 PM more reviews by fionahz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm on my second tube of this moisturiser and I've decided that it is now a fundamental part of my skincare repertoire. I use Retin-A a couple of times a week, which sometimes gives me flakies around my nose and mouth and I've been looking for the perfect soothing, repairing moisturiser to deal with this for years. I've also just started using a MaryKay Skinvigorate cleansing brush, which means I need a bit more moisturisation because of the exfoliation.

Over the years I've tried some decent, almost-there moisturisers that would work for a while and then not handle my skin on its worst days, some moisturisers that would cost a bomb and which I would throw out after a week's use because they would break me out, irritate my skin, pill under my make-up or do nothing to help my skin. It has been a very expensive, tedious exercise. Skin Recovery Cream is not perfect. It doesn't completely eliminate the flakies, but it doesn't sting, it doesn't make me red, it doesn't make me oily or break me out, it doesn't make my make-up pill or disappear and my skin feels hydrated. The only drawback I can see so far is that the tube is so small and Avene products are pretty expensive.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 damsel19 on 3/18/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by damsel19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing product for sensitive skin types, very moisturising but not greasy. Perfect if you have had an allergic reaction/hormonal skin.Will definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 misszb on 2/2/2014 7:09:00 AM more reviews by misszb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had two little samples of this which my dermatologist gave me after I told her I've had some dry patches on my cheeks. I just didn't like it as it's too greasy for my combination skin which is ok since it is a moisturizer for more drier skin, so I started putting it on only onto my dry patches and it would just sit on my skin, which explains the fact that it contains mineral oil.
I don't think mineral oil is good for any skintype so I don't recomment it even if you have dry skin, because you just don't need a moisturizer that will sit on top of your face! And even besides that, it won't make your dry patches any better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nlutes on 1/5/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by nlutes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this on the recommendation of a SA to deal with my irritated, dry skin. I have reacted poorly to a few products and have been experiencing dryer-than-usual skin.

I've been using this product now for about a week and it has made a world of difference. It doesn't irritate at all, has moisturized and calmed my skin dramatically. It has even helped with an eczema scaly patch (flare up from stress) on my face. So far so good.

Time will tell if it continues to be a great product, but at this point I am definitely happy with my purchase. Of course, it isn't a product that contains the active ingredients one may want in a moisturizer, but it does its job of calming down skin. In a couple of weeks I plan to switch to another more "active" cream, but will definitely keep this around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DCCD on 11/12/2013 11:22:00 AM more reviews by DCCD

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you have oily skin, beware of this product as it contains mineral oil. This ingredient is a petrochemical, a derivative of crude oil. It has large molecules which are unable to penetrate the surface of the skin, therefore it acts a non-absorbent oily film, said to 'lock in moisture'. But is this such a great thing? Initially, the skin will feel smooth, as you might expect. However, this layer of mineral oil smothers your skin like cling film, preventing it from breathing naturally. Which in turn enables sweat and bacteria to become trapped beneath the layer of oil. This can exacerbate acne, eczema and psoriasis problems and potentially create a false dependency in the long term.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products