NARS Liberte

4.5

26 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/29/2015 2:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been scoping out Liberte for quite some time. I haven't been able to find a blush that quite matched the old school Jane Blushing Cheeks in Blushing Babydoll. I used that for years, and when Jane was discontinued I was able to get one pot on ebay like 5-6 years ago. I've hit the pan and I still have a bit left, which I save for special occasions. It is truly my HG blush. So, since then, I've experimented with lots of blushes.

The reason I was initially attracted to Liberte is the warmth in it that reminded me of the Blushing Babydoll. While it's been described as orangey (and I've never worn orange blush), and despite my super fair coloring (NW 15-20), I decided to take the plunge. Well, to be fair I asked for it for XMAS, so my lovely boyfriend took the plunge and shelled out the cash.

I hate the Nars compacts (like IT Cosmetics), with the black rubbery outside. It picks up every bit of makeup off your hands and counter and gets dirty. Not a major complaint, just mildly irksome. Also for the money, the amount of product you get to me, is quite small.

The color of Liberte is brownish orange; a tad brighter than a rust or a terracotta color. It has a bit of glitter you can see in the pan. As I swept my brush across the blush, I was frightened I would look like a glittery orange clown. Now, you must use it sparingly (like most Nars blushes), but the pay off is quite nice.

On me, it looks like a warm peachy brown coral if that makes sense, and you cannot detect the glitter once applied at all. Really quite nice and flattering, especially if I'm wearing a warm toned eyeshadow to pull the look together.

While other reviewers have stated that this blush is not for the very fair, I would tend to disagree. Being very fair, this works for me, but because of my skin's undertone. I'm a fair almost olive toned person. I'm yellowish and when I get some color I lean toward green. For reference, I used Sterling Minerals Bianca for years as my primary foundation. If you are fair and warm, neutral, or olive this will work. If you are fair (or darker for that matter) and pull more cool/pink, Liberte is not for you.

Overall, I quite like this blush. The brightness is good to perk up my look for a change, and for daytime. However for everyday I find myself reaching for my usual combo of Benefit's Dallas and Bobbi Brown's Blushed. But, that's just me.



on 9/3/2014 11:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm very happy with Liberte. I purchased this on a whim (ahem) online without seeing it in person and wasn't sure if it would be too dark for my fair skin or not. This is a deepened, rust colored orange with tiny microshimmer. When I first opened the compact, I thought this would be more suited to medium-dark toned skin, but it worked surprisingly well for me. I applied this lightly and it gave me a really healthy glow. It wasn't too dark at all and the shimmer was not visible on the skin. I used it with a bit of bronzer and it gave me a very "summery" look. This blush is highly pigmented and finely milled, and you don't need much. It also blends easily. This lasted about six hours on me before fading a bit and I reapplied then. The only downfall is the typical NARS packaging, which becomes sticky as the rubber material degrades and attracts particles of dust and fuzz.Due to this I usually depot NARS blushes. I love the look of the packaging and think it's very sleek, but I wish NARS would change it. Overall, this is a good blush to add to your arsenal, and I would buy again.


on 8/23/2014 3:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

uraznbabygurl is out of her mind! light/medium is considered pale! you dont have to be a ginger to be "pale"


on 8/22/2014 8:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Along with Taj Mahal, this is a rather unique blush shade in the NARS line up. The color isn't commonly found among other brands and in my opinion it's one of NARS' underrated blushes.

Liberte is a great rust-red shade that is beautiful on the skin.I was advised by an associate at a NARS counter to try it. He insisted that it would be perfect against my skin tone and he was right.

I'm generally not a fan of red blushes and usually find them to be garish looking but the muted rust tone of Liberte compliments me so well and gives a glowing sunset look.

It's a blush that looks great against yellow, tanned complexions but I believe darker skinned women will probably enjoy this as well. Fairer women will need a light hand with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2014 3:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The most gorgeous blush I have ever tried in my life! My HG!


on 6/3/2014 12:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this blush. It brightens my face with a subtle peachy glow. Really glad I purchased!


on 5/17/2014 10:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A little bit about my coloring: blackened-brown hair & eyes, NARS Fiji/NC25, Deep Autumn

This is one of the newer permanent blush shades from NARS. I feel that it may be one of the reasons why it doesn't get a lot of talk, or maybe because it is a rather intimidating color. I have an extensive NARS blush collection as I think they're excellent blushes. Liberte was one that wasn't on the top of my list to try or own. However, eliminating the ones that were way too cool-toned for me allowed me to take the plunge to try Liberte on at Sephora. I must say I'm a fan and that I will be purchasing this blush.

I highly recommend this if you are at least light-medium and warm toned. I can imagine this being too harsh for cool toned and pale complexions. I also think this is a great blush for Deep Autumns because it's what I would call a "bold natural" shade. It isn't quite as in-your-face bright like Exhibit A, nor is it subtle like Madly. NARS calls it a "burnished apricot," but I would call it a "burnished persimmon." The base of this shade is orange with a hint of red and brown. The brown gives it a slightly muted quality that makes it a little easier to wear on my lighter skin. Liberte is rather pigmented, but maybe not quite as smooth as other NARS blushes I own. I will definitely be busting this shade out this summer and fall!


on 1/1/2014 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A highly underrated product from NARS. I've heard from some that Liberte is best reserved for deeper skintones, though even as an NC30 it's one of my HG blushes. Once applied with a light hand, it appears on me as an orange-based red that glows and yet has a bit of a subdued quality to it. There's some shimmer, which becomes more evident in the pan after several uses, but glitter-phobes (and I'm one of them) need not fear: the result is a VERY subtle, barely-there glimmer. This isn't a blush that will work on everyone, but it's great for those with pronounced yellow to olive undertones, whether deep-skinned or not--the yellow of the skin makes this colour shine.


on 7/7/2013 10:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this blush! It is so pretty. The best way to describe the color is a beautiful reddish terra-cotta. This blush is perfect for those with deeper skin. However, I'm sure it can be worn lightly by fairer skin tones too. It applies like a dream. A little goes a long way. But it blends very easily. Nars makes some of the longest lasting blush that I've ever tried. The only downside to this is the price@ $29 :(


on 6/19/2013 5:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous glow. Looks great alone or with HAC on my nc45ish skin. Long lasting. Does not highlight my acne. Very pigmented.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
5128 Reviews
Contour Kit
90 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top