OPI Pirouette My Whistle

4.7

27 reviews

96% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 5:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This reminds me of a hyped version of China Glaze "Fairy Dust." It has that same shimmer and halo but has matte white hexes and looks a tiny bit different. It's so pretty and subtle.

Looks nice over drabby neutrals and even dark polishes look stunning with this added. This is also great over a French manicure, it just adds something to it that it normally would lack.

To those people I have heard saying this is a bad polish and sheer, etc. It's never meant to be a stand-alone polish. It's a glitter topper and its meant to be subtle. It's from the Ballet Collection, which has all sheer and delicate colors and finishes. So if that's not your thing, pass.



on 12/13/2014 8:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Matte white hex glitter and fine silver glitter suspended in a clear base. Somehow, this glitter topcoat makes every polish I combine it with look subdued and boring. I love glitter polishes, but PMW has let me down every time I've used it.
There's something about it that's just drab.
Wouldn't buy it again.


on 3/16/2014 4:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have only recently begun to use nail polish again. This was sent to me by mistake, since I I NEVER thought that I would be a glitter type of polish wearer. I could have retuned it but decided to play instead.

What a surprise! I love using this just on my nail tips. It really adds something! Now I am looking for other glitters with very small hexes. I'm still not too big on the bars and large sized glitters, but this one is a winner, and it was a happy mistake to have received it!


on 3/8/2014 6:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a wonderful top coat that gives any manicure a second life! Love the mix of sizes with the glitter, though the bigger chunks need to be shaken off the bottom every time you use it. The silver color matches pretty much everything.

Th formula is nice, though it requires some finessing to get an even distribution of glitter (I usually put a really glittery glob on my nail and THEN spread it, going both down to the nail tip and then back up to the bed).

I gave it one lippy off because though I really, really like it, I don't lust after wearing this color for it's own sake usually. I usually use it to breathe some new life into my current manicure.


on 1/1/2014 8:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you only want one layering glitter in your nail polish arsenal, pick this one. It looks great over a variety of colors and finishes. The big hexes can sink to the bottom, but I get around this by turning the bottle upside down for a minute before using. It's very pretty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2013 9:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm wearing this for the first time over top of OPI In My Santa Suit for New Years and really love it! I was going to do just my accent nails with it, but loved how it looks so much, that i used Pirouette My Whistle over top all of my nails. I can see this looking beautiful over top of a lot of different colors.


on 12/9/2013 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I put this on an hour ago and thought: "I MUST finally review this!". I go on here, and someone have just done it - no searching necessary! ;D
.
I really like this nail polish: I think it doesn't look like anything special in the bottle: there are silver glitters. OK... When you put this on the nail, it is gorgeous! It has TINY round glitter and very small hexagons - quite different from the regular ordinary-sized round silver glitter (but it's not unique: other brands DO have polishes with the same types of glitter). When I apply this I can actually kinda control the amount of each type of glitter. If I hold the brush in a regular 45 degree angle on my nail, I get mostly the tiny round glitter, If I lie the brush flat against the nail, I get more hexagons out. And as the previous reviewer said: don't forget to turn the bottle upside down a few times because the hexagons tend to sink to the bottom
.
This really is a polish it's better to layer than wear by itself. I like to wear mine over red or dark colours :) Perfect around Christmas time when the previous polish begin to flake a little, but with the glitter, no one notice ;)
.
I'm pretty sure this is one of those polishes I will buy again: it has the perfect amount of glitter for layering, it looks more interesting because the glitter is tiny, it is very easy to use, I love that the OPI bottles have a flat brush and not a round, this polish can be used as a top coat, it dries fast and gives a very nice shiny, sparkly finish. Sometimes I would like to see a matte polish over this - it would likely give an interesting result :) I definitely recommend this nail polish, especially around this time of year - this can transform any nail polish into a more festive nail polish :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2013 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Pirouette My Whistle is a gorgeous glitter topper from the NYC Ballet SoftShades collection released for spring 2012. It is still widely available and I picked this up with a grocery run at HEB. In the bottle it looks interesting enough, but when you get this on it really comes to life. This has tiny silver microglitters and small frosty silvery white round glitters suspended in a clear base giving this the appearance of snowflakes or raindrops. This is a sophisticated grown up glitter with style. This isn't your teenaged daughter's glitter. I tipped this upside down for a few minutes before application as the glitters had settled in the bottom of the bottle. Application with this was a breeze and I simply painted it on like I would a regular creme polish and there is a good distribution of the tiny silver glitters and a fair distribution of the larger white circles. All the nails ended up with a nice snowy look and the nail with the least white glitters has 3 and the one with the most has 11 pieces. I am delighted with how this turned out and the distribution of the larger glitters. I did not place any of them and this required no fishing at all. This is definitely a layering polish and not meant for building up to a glitter bomb. This is a really pretty grown up glitter. It has enough sparkle and shimmer to be called a glitter but not in a flashy in your face manner. I used this over My Pointe Exactly, a sheer dove grey jelly from the same collection for an icy wintery mani and this has just the right amount of sparkle and glitz. I've also seen this swatched over You Callin' Me A Lyre?, a sheer pink as well as over Care To Danse?, a sheer lavendar, and even over a solid black creme and it is really beautiful over all of them. This is a beautiful wintery manicure and I am loving it!


on 9/9/2013 6:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is really pretty. Although I don't usually like OPI polishes as they dry too fast (before I've managed to finish the nail in painting!) I only use this as a top coat so it's a quick sweep over at the end. It is a clear base with small pieces of silver glitter and large pieces of opalescent shimmer in it. It is a much more subtle version of Crown Me Already.


on 7/7/2013 3:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Pirouette My Whistle is very grownup and subtle glitter polish. It has small silver glitters and few larger pale silver hexagons in clear base. It is quite boring and even bit ugly on its own, but perfect over any other polish. It also has very good staying power and my manicure will stay chip free longer, when I use this as top coat.

I love glitters, but can't wear anything too crazy at work. This is perfect compromise as it is not too obvious, but adds extra spark on my manicure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Dorothy Who?
Dorothy Who?
33 Reviews
Oh Cabana Boy
Oh Cabana Boy
22 Reviews
Opi Red
Opi Red
71 Reviews
Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

77 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top