Jerome Russell • Punky Color • Hair

rated 4.2(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 KayLives on 3/17/2014 1:33:00 AM more reviews by KayLives

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I adore this brand of dye. It was given to me as a gift in flamingo pink and I used it to dye some previously bleached ends on my hair. Having never dyed my own hair before, obviously I was cautious. Usually, my mantra is leave it to the hairdresser, she's a professional for a reason. But this time, I though why not? I psyched myself up and went ahead with it and I could not be more pleased with the way it came out! The packaging is easy and simple, and while it did have a very strong grape-y smell, I found it a lot nicer than that chemical smell that most dyes give off. It went on easy enough. I've heard other people complain about the mess, and it will stain clothes, but some of it comes out. If you get it on other surfaces, as long as you wipe it up quick it won't stain. I would advise taking a sponge with you into the shower when you rinse out the dye and wiping down your shower immediately, or yes, it will stain. As for colour, y hair held the colour really well! I didn't have to re-dye for over 2 months. Yes, it faded, but it fades nicely, this colour. It just went a paler pink. (Originally it was more of a dark fuschia-pink, quite lovely). There was a little bit of bleeding onto my shirt collar during the night when I slept for the first little while, but I tend to sweat in my sleep, so it was only due to moisture around the neck area. But my white pillowcases came out unscathed! There was a lot of dye still coming out also in the shower when I washed it for the next couple weeks. I don't need to wash my hair very often, so that's really only about 3-4 washes. I would be a little bit careful with towels and things, but I didn't have any problems with bleeding onto my towels. All in all, a fabulous product, and I didn't experience any of the problems with bleeding or fading that others seemed to be having. I'm sure it all depends on your hair type and how you care for your hair. I would suggest washing your hair thoroughly and blowdrying before dyeing, but don't condition, as that will block out the colour. I also use a shampoo that is easy on colour. Apparently my hair is quite absorbent, so it may just be that my hair absorbs colour well. You won't know until you try it how it works on you personally. I would highly recommend it, you can't go wrong with Punky Colours!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovexoxo on 6/27/2013 4:00:00 AM more reviews by lovexoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the color pigment that this dye has! I also love how long it lasts and that it doesn't smell bad. The only thing I didn't like was that it's quite messy and bleeds onto towels like no other after showering. I highly recommend this dye but just be careful of the messiness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 5/30/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Punky Color is a great semi permanent fashion color/stain. Like all, it is quite messy but with practice, it is easy to manage. Personally I found this product to last longer than Manic Panic, and I take all precautions to prevent fading. The only downside is this bleeds like a mother. I used a towel on my pillow case - as long as the color was in, it bled. That being said, for the price and how long it lasts I will still repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kiokukara on 5/19/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by kiokukara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first time dying my hair such an odd colour. I used Alpine Green over bleached streaks in my hair.

-Dying. I didn't do it myself. Instead, I got a hairdresser to bleach my hair and then put the colour in it, since I suck at dying my own hair. :)

-Washing-Okay... I was expecting some staining, but not as much as it did! I didn't rinse it as throughly as I should have the first time, and bam! My face, neck, back, hands and shirt were turquoise. Nail polish remover is your friend.

-Colour-Since I used Alpine green, I was expecting it to be a lot darker... its shade was closer to the Apple green, so I was slightly disappointed. But my hair has been dyed for two and a half months now, and while the colour has faded, it is still very beautiful, and has faded to varying colours.

-Lasting-As I said, two and a half months so far. There are some parts where it is nearly blonde again, but the majority of it is still a vibrant green. I like the staying power. I am hopeful it will fade completely away eventually though.

-Use again?-Yes! I am planning on dying it Atlantic Blue next. My whole head this time :D

-kiokukara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 livyleduc on 5/15/2013 7:52:00 AM more reviews by livyleduc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

love it! smells good and stays on for about a month :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 laydeegambit on 5/4/2013 5:17:00 PM more reviews by laydeegambit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have peek-a-boo blue highlights and I've used everything. I assumed this will be the best since it received really good reviews on here. Uhh.. No. The color payoff is great but staying power, no. In less than 2 weeks, the bright electric blue turned into a ugly green. Uhhh gross! Honestly, the best I've used was Prevana. So sorry, Jerome Russell, I won't be repurchasing from you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NinaSun on 2/18/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by NinaSun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to have deep blue-based deep purple hair and I previously used Splat but Splat's purple was actually a magenta so I thought I'd try this out. I bought the color Violet and from my experience with it, it has incredible staying power for a temporary alternative dye. I didn't bleach my hair a light blonde but it was in that stage between dirty blonde and very light chestnut brown and after dying my hair with Violet, it was a rich deep blue-based purple and I couldn't have been happier. It also smells nice, like blueberries, but it stains like a mother so be careful when showering and sleeping. I would recommend a layer of petroleum jelly on your face, neck, shoulders, hands, and arms and wear a really crappy t-shirt as the dye will get on you.
After a fresh dye, it was a deep-purple and I haven't tried any of the other colors but I believe they all have about the same lasting power before a touch up - about 1 and a half to 2 months, depending on how faded you mind it being. Mine always lasted about a month and a half before it started becoming a dull brown purple.
The price is also great for what you get! I usually only need half a jar to cover my whole head - my hair then was about shoulder length.
Great alternative hair dye and definitely check it out if anyone's interested in long-lasting and relatively cheap hair dye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lexi90delux on 1/29/2013 4:22:00 AM more reviews by Lexi90delux

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

LOVE this hair dye brand it smells sooo good the colors I have in Plum, Lagoon Blue, Poppy Red the colors stay on for sooo long the darker the color the longer it lasts The plum is the takes forever to fade it takes more then 1 month depends how often you wash your hair The staying power is amazing I don't have to reapply the color for a while. The dyes are Vibrante Beutiful all the colors that I have is long lasting!!!!!! This cost about $8-$13 depends on where you live and the store

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueberryfrost on 10/26/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by blueberryfrost

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I effing LOVE Punky Colour by Jerome Russell!!! The colors are so beautiful, and very pigmented and rich color. I have used Manic Panic, and in my experience it washes out way too fast and is a waste of money. Punky Color will not budge and even on unbleached hair, the color is still very strong (if you have black hair though, you will need to lighten your hair). My colors of choice are Rose Red (extremely beautiful magenta/hot pink/with a touch of purple) and Red Wine (pinkish burgundy red).They look great mixed together. Anyway, Punky does not budge in my hair, even with daily washing it looks amazing for at least a month or more. It has a thick cream texture and smells like grape juice. My procedure is: Paint on punky color with tint brush on clean, dry hair. Wrap hair in plastic bag or shower cap, then cover with hair turban. This prevents it from drying out and keeps the warmth in. Leave on as long as possible (6-8 hrs) and rinse out. Do this on a day when you aren't going anywhere... the longer you leave it, the longer your color will last. Yes when you shampoo it will stain everything in sight because it is SO pigmented, but clean your bathroom with bleach and you'll be good. Also, your hair is likely to stain anything it touches when wet, so you should blow dry or keep it in a bun until it dries. And to protect your pillow from staining (even when dry, the first week or so, it will rub off on stuff) put an old t-shirt around your pillowcase to protect it. If you are willing to take some extra care, Punky is amazing for unnatural shades. I get compliments all the time on my magenta hair. I order it online from ebay or amazon for $8-10 shipped. I can't rave enough about this stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lukki7ster on 10/24/2012 1:45:00 PM more reviews by lukki7ster

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Can we say stain city! I am used to using Manic Panic that was quite messy and bled every time i washed or wet my hair but it NEVER stained my sink the way this did. I used Red Wine..while the color is nice too hard to clean up. My hands are a mess.

never again..stickin to Manic Panic

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jerome Russell products

More Hair products