New York Color • Smooth Skin Perfecting Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 2.6(48 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 cpetersen on 6/10/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by cpetersen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this primer. The first time I used it I didn't mind it that much even though it was quite sparkly but now I notice that it peels off on my skin which is super weird and it leaves me looking really patchy. Beware of this primer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SkyHawthorne on 6/8/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by SkyHawthorne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Ok this is the worst primer ever, as it does not help my make up stay fixed or last longer. It simply makes my face look like a disco ball, however as a highlighter its not bad, so i shall continue to use it as a highlighter but will not repurchase once finished.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 madisonhouston9 on 3/24/2014 7:01:00 PM more reviews by madisonhouston9

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So the only reason I bought this primer is because it was the only one in the store. So I get home and open it, and it's white with sparkles in it. Hmm... that's weird for face primer. So I put it on my face, and it's super oily and it runs and sparkles me face up. The next day, I wake up acne- ridden. I was VERY disappointed.
The price is a little too much for the poor quality of the product. The packaging is awful because it squirts out waaay too much product onto your hand.
The ONLY reason I buy this over and over is because I use it as a highlighter on my nose. That's seriously it. So, if you want a highlighter, buy this product. If you want a face primer, buy another product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cblazer973 on 3/19/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by cblazer973

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh my search for a good primer isn't over yet! I picked this up because I needed something to replace my Victoria's Secret primer.. not realizing that this was glitter bomb central. UGH! This morning I noticed that my face looked like a disco ball. Sure, I look very "lit from within" but who really wants to look like they swallowed a light bulb?! Onto the next one...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gypsiewinde on 3/18/2014 7:46:00 AM more reviews by gypsiewinde

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised with the bad reviews as well. The only reason I bought this was because they were out of what I usually buy and I needed something. This is the best primer I've tried yet. It's perfect for my mineral makeup. The expensive primer I usually order (that goes with my mineral makeup) makes it go on cakey. NYC primer makes it go on like it looks on tv. It's awesome. It even makes the circles under my eyes cover better. This is all I'll buy from now on. And it's cheap!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraCee07 on 1/30/2014 11:02:00 PM more reviews by SaraCee07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I'm really surprised at the bad reviews of this primer. This is the only primer to date that has kept my makeup on ALL day and not turned me into a greasepot. It is a shimmery primer for illuminating purposes and of course when you apply it it looks very bright and shiny with a silvery glow. Once I put my foundation (Borujois Happy Light atm) over the top with a flat top brush all I can see is an actual illuminated face - something I didn't see alone with that foundation. My foundation usually wears off pretty quick during the day and I am left with patches especially around my chin and cheeks where there's just nothing left. I wore this today and it was super hot, even went out for a walk and it has stayed put, and the only change is the primer I have used. Price - amazing. Packaging - great. Product - fantastic! Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 1/18/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The only thing I like about this was if a foundation was giving me troubles I could use this underneath as a barrier. That was it.
This doesn't help your foundation glide on, it doesn't hide pores, it does keep the oil away, and it doesn't help your makeup last through out the day. It'll make your skin glittery and luminescent before you apply your foundation. that's it.

L'Oreal Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer is a more expensive version of this. Both suck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Marielle4 on 12/23/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Marielle4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Now before you run out to buy this, read on, this may not be for you.
It is dirt cheap, doesn't smell nice at all and as many people have stated before me, for many it may be grease central..
BUT.. if you have ageing skin like me, a little dry, sallow, wrinkly in places, big pores (for me on my nose).. this might just be for you.

I have a few foundations I cannot wear anymore because they settle in my pores and I look like I have powder blobs on my face. Time for a silicone based primer to smooth out the pits and bumps on my face.
Picked this one up, not expecting much but it is rather good actually, provided you can get over the smell and only use a little bit.

I don't get the sparkles other reviewers mentioned, I get an illuminating effect which is why I only need a pea sized drop for my whole face. I use it on my cheeks, forehead and nose and it works. I can use all my foundations again. (You can even use it on top of foundations as a illuminator).

Like another reviewer below me mentioned, if you have mature skin, it really does work. HTH.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BunkysPrincess on 12/20/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by BunkysPrincess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Greasy gross! I have been using this product for a few weeks.I have come to the conclusion that this is no more than glorified body lotion! It feels greasy and then when combined with their foundation, it feels like I have applied baby oil on my face! Oh well...Off to buy another product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 11/28/2013 1:12:00 PM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

To echo the sentiments of a previous reviewer... WORST PRIMER EVER!!! It's watery, it's thin, it's shiny, it's shimmery. Does NOTHING to help makeup adhere. Even as a highlighter it's too much sheen. Straight to the trash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Primer/ Corrector products