NYX • Soft matte lip cream- San paulo • Lips

rated 4.5(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 3/9/2014 12:46:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a dark pink rosey color that is on the warm side when applied to my lips. It does flatter my skintone and even fades well, however it can be a bit drying. I definitely have to make sure my lips are prepped before using this. It has a vanilla-like scent that is not too cloying and goes on very pigmented. I would say if you are little apprehensive about wearing red lipstick or lipgloss shades, this is a nice color to use to transition. Bright enough without being over the top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mehays on 2/21/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by mehays

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm always searching for just the right lip product, and have an embarrassing number of them setting around. So glad I bought this after seeing it on YouTube. It's just brightening enough without feeling like too much. It feels nice on, lasts and doesn't feather on me. I intend to buy more as back/ups. I have never repurchased a l/s or gloss till now. It's matte but not drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gm071109 on 1/2/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Gm071109

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The color is so pretty. Im tan and I think it looks amazing on my skin. The problem is how dry it made my lips. It made my lips get all cracked and they started to throb of how dry they were. I feel like the revlon, em cosmetics matte lipsticks are better bc they didn't dry out my lips. I gave it 2 try's but it did the same thing. Will not repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/14/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful. . .I'm so in love with this colour! I love the NYX soft matte lip creams in general but this is one of my favourites. It looks really good on my skin (yellow toned, NC20-25) and dark brown hair, sort of like my lips but plummier and rosier. This shade is natural and pretty enough that I think any person with any colouring can pull it off! The matte isn't a harsh drying matte, but is - like the name implies - a soft matte. There is no glossiness at all but it does feel creamy on the lips. This is very pigmented and sometimes I just wear a dab as a stain under gloss for a more natural look, and other times I will apply a layer all over my lips for full-on colour. I also dab it on my cheeks as a coordinating blush (be careful and apply sparingly if you want to do this - only a small dab otherwise you will seriously look like a clown!). Look gorgeous when the rest of the face is bare with minimal make-up.

What I LOVE is IT STAYS on the lips - no migrating all over, into any crevice or around the mouth or even on teeth, yuck. I put this on with the wand applicator (no lipliner) and it somehow miraculously stays on my lips. I do wish the staying power was a bit better - when I don't eat I have to re-apply in like 4 hours. If I drink it tends to wear off in the centre of my lips only, same thing if I eat. But honestly every lipstick/lip product does that on me and the "long-wear" stuff dries out my lips and feels like cracking paint. This feels smooth, and doesn't make my lips looked all chapped.

Good price, highly pigmented, beautiful rich sophisticated colour, comfortable on lips - this is another A+ product from NYX!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jivelovebug on 12/13/2013 2:59:00 AM more reviews by jivelovebug

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is really beautiful .. Glides on like a cream but it leaves a matte look ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 11/16/2013 10:20:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought San Paulo on a whim and kind of initially forgot about it, but I'm glad I came back around to using it. It's a very flattering color and easy to use with a sophisticated finish to boot.

I'm a NC10-15 and I love how this bright raspberry shade compliments my naturally pigmented lips and is perfect for a night now or a special occasion. I can't see this color looking bad on anyone, I'd say it's universally flattering if you're looking for a statement lip that veers on the side of elegant rather that bold.

As for the formula, I like the soft vanilla smell and that this feels very luxe when applied - the texture reminds me of homemade whipped cream in that it has a good amount of density/richness but it still feels light. These apply evenly and the applicator/collar of the tube keep application crisp by getting rid of any excess product when you take the wand out. My only tiny quibble with these is that they don't dry down to a truly matte finish for me and do seem to take a long while to actually set. I don't mind so much since it's a comfortable formula to wear and I like that it doesn't dry out my lips, but with matte in the name it's not exactly the most accurate label in my opinion. I know sometimes with these type of cream to matte/stain formulas the pH of your skin can cause these type of reactions so it's not a deal breaking by any means, this just isn't what I'm going to turn to for super matte lips.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 11/5/2013 2:14:00 PM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a perfect product, I wish NYX was more easy to get ahold of where I live! I would buy so many more of these matte creams! The smell is absolutely fantastic like vanilla icing, and it doesn't have an obnoxious taste! The packaging is the same color as the product inside as well which would be super handy if you had more than one of this product. I also really like the doefoot applicator, it gives wonderfully precise application and never has an excess of product on it. Now on to the actual product.

The color is a beautiful, warm plummy rose shade which is very rich and pigmented. It feels creamy when first applied, but dries down and feels light as a feather! No tugging or pulling on the lips when applying! I don't find it drying like most mattes either. Applied lightly it can be worn almost like a stain and it passed the kiss test better than my Hourglass lip creams (which retail at $33 dollars each)!

This product would certainly be worth repurchasing. The smell is divine, the packaging is practical, it wears like a dream without feathering! Plus the price is right. I can't wait to buy more, highly highly recommended! I will post a picture :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simplysarah on 10/27/2013 12:06:00 AM more reviews by simplysarah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I really really really love this!! The color goes good with my skin (dark tan) and I love the texture of this creme. It's one of my favorite products at the moment! I love the matte finish it leaves but it doesn't dry out your lips like other mattes do. I could go on and on about How great this product is. It's not too bad in price it's definitely worth spending for. It's just a great product I highly recommend it to all girls looking for a flirty lip to wear!! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 10/22/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The only reason that I bought this color is due to recommendations. At the time, I was into nude/light pink lip colors and hesitant of the brighter lip. San Paulo gives me the most gorgeous lip colors. It matches perfectly with my NW15 complexion of pink undertones. The texture is smooth and matte, without being sticky whatsoever. Smells like baked goods and cake batter straight out of the tube.

The color makes my face glow when I am pale. You can wear it on its own without anything else. It is a berry pink color that looks as if raspberries and cranberries were mixed with light pink roses. It is something that you can wear daily, though it is not subtle.

Overall, I highly recommend NYX's soft matte lip creams. They last a really long time and only cost about $3-6 dollars a tube. I am an NW15 and own Antwerp and San Paulo NYX lip creams.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mayganade on 10/12/2013 9:40:00 PM more reviews by mayganade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I really love this! One of my new go to lip colors for fall! I'm a bright lip stick kind of girl. I hate nudes on my skin. I just feel so weird & out of place & like they just dont go well with my skin. On others nudes look amazing :( So I was looking for a neutral kind of shade that I could wear everyday... THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR :D I don't like shimmer on my lip products (well very slight on my glosses) and this has a gorgeous matte but not overly matte finish. It feels and smells amazing. It goes great on my medium skin tone. Now I want to try all of them :-( Haha I love NYX!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products