NYX Soft matte lip cream- San paulo

4.5

28 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/26/2015 3:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

First soft matte lip cream that I've tried. Hopefully the other shades are just as nice. This is a unique shade; a bright pink with a tinge of berry/plum and a tinge of rose. Can be both an every day and a going out shade. It has a sweet scent, but it is not as strong as some of nyx's other lip products, which can make me feel ill. It smooths into the lips fairly easily with the applicator and you only need a few swipes as it is very pigmented. It also allows for precise application. It has an interesting feel on the lips, which you get used to after a minute or so. It is indeed both soft and creamy. The initial feeling is almost heavy and powdery. But it will set and you'll adjust. The finish is semi-matte and isn't that drying for a matte product. I wouldn't wear it if my lips were in poor condition as while it isn't drying it has no moisture in it either and I'm guessing it would look gross on chapped and cracked lips. It isn't advertised as long wearing but I find it lasts very well on me and remains after multiple drinks. Although like most lipsticks, it will mostly disappear after a meal. I really like this and I find the shade suits me. I also enjoy the matte finish it gives as I can enjoy the effect without it destroying my lips. So amazing and it goes for an affordable price.



on 3/19/2015 9:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The color appears to be a brght pink on my lips which isn't really one of my typical colors however they're always sold out of almost all the colors whenever I look and it is a nice shade so I picked it up anyways.

I like to wear it with a lip liner because I think it prevents any feathering and really improves the wear time. Without a lip liner it can be trick to get a good application.

It does have a really strong scent but its not unpleasant and does wear off quickly. The formula is my favorite part. It's only slightly drying , but whats really great is that it just feels so light on the lips. It's a really interesting mousse like texture but I ove it. I definitely hope to try it in a few more colors.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE THIS LIPPIE. The color is so beautiful and rich, it's a great pink, not too barbie looking but not too red/magenta either. I could wear this color every day.


on 2/17/2015 12:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have two of these from NYX, Antwerp & San Paulo, but the latter is absolutely my favorite. First off, the color is a gorgeous, fiery pink with a touch of red in it that looks stunning in daylight just because it makes you stand out, in a flattering way of course. If you find red a bit too much to sport during the daytime but still want to go for that pop of color, then trust me, this is THE ONE for you. The formula couldn't be more perfect as well. It dries down to a matte, velvety finish but sans the drying part. But help your lips out too by exfoliating prior to application, forget about lip balms, these babies look even better without them on. Somehow they just stick better that way. The doe foot applicator is ideal as well for an even more precise application especially for those hard to reach part of the lips. The only beef that I have for this lippie is that it isn't that long lasting, especially through meals & whatnot. However, I'm willing to overlook that because it is SUCH a gorgeous color. The price can't be beat as well so all in all, this lip color is a true winner in my book & I will recommend them to anyone, lipstick junkie or not, in a heartbeat.


on 4/30/2014 4:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the color but the effect is far MORE than you expect based on the packaging. It dries down pretty dark, almost to a deep berry.

That said, my reasons for rating it as low as I did are as follows:

-It MUST be applied using a lip liner. I have no wrinkles around my lips and have normal/combination skin that is well moisturized. This bled all the way around my lips the first time I wore it. It has a way of soaking into whatever facial makeup product (powder, foundation, etc) you have on around your lips. So, whatever you do, use lip liner.

-It MUST be applied over a lip balm because it is very drying.

-It has an unusual, strong smell that I'd compare to the stereotypical, waxy-sweet "lipstick smell" of yore before all the cosmetic companies started adding peppermint, vanilla, etc to their lip products. It's not BAD, but some may find it off-putting.

It's a lovely color and a lovely look...it's just a lot of work that I could get the same look of from another product with less hassle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2014 12:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a dark pink rosey color that is on the warm side when applied to my lips. It does flatter my skintone and even fades well, however it can be a bit drying. I definitely have to make sure my lips are prepped before using this. It has a vanilla-like scent that is not too cloying and goes on very pigmented. I would say if you are little apprehensive about wearing red lipstick or lipgloss shades, this is a nice color to use to transition. Bright enough without being over the top.


on 2/21/2014 7:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm always searching for just the right lip product, and have an embarrassing number of them setting around. So glad I bought this after seeing it on YouTube. It's just brightening enough without feeling like too much. It feels nice on, lasts and doesn't feather on me. I intend to buy more as back/ups. I have never repurchased a l/s or gloss till now. It's matte but not drying.


on 1/2/2014 7:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The color is so pretty. Im tan and I think it looks amazing on my skin. The problem is how dry it made my lips. It made my lips get all cracked and they started to throb of how dry they were. I feel like the revlon, em cosmetics matte lipsticks are better bc they didn't dry out my lips. I gave it 2 try's but it did the same thing. Will not repurchase


on 12/14/2013 6:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful. . .I'm so in love with this colour! I love the NYX soft matte lip creams in general but this is one of my favourites. It looks really good on my skin (yellow toned, NC20-25) and dark brown hair, sort of like my lips but plummier and rosier. This shade is natural and pretty enough that I think any person with any colouring can pull it off! The matte isn't a harsh drying matte, but is - like the name implies - a soft matte. There is no glossiness at all but it does feel creamy on the lips. This is very pigmented and sometimes I just wear a dab as a stain under gloss for a more natural look, and other times I will apply a layer all over my lips for full-on colour. I also dab it on my cheeks as a coordinating blush (be careful and apply sparingly if you want to do this - only a small dab otherwise you will seriously look like a clown!). Look gorgeous when the rest of the face is bare with minimal make-up.

What I LOVE is IT STAYS on the lips - no migrating all over, into any crevice or around the mouth or even on teeth, yuck. I put this on with the wand applicator (no lipliner) and it somehow miraculously stays on my lips. I do wish the staying power was a bit better - when I don't eat I have to re-apply in like 4 hours. If I drink it tends to wear off in the centre of my lips only, same thing if I eat. But honestly every lipstick/lip product does that on me and the "long-wear" stuff dries out my lips and feels like cracking paint. This feels smooth, and doesn't make my lips looked all chapped.

Good price, highly pigmented, beautiful rich sophisticated colour, comfortable on lips - this is another A+ product from NYX!


on 12/13/2013 2:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is really beautiful .. Glides on like a cream but it leaves a matte look ;)




Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top