NYX • Nude Matte Shadow (all) • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Florida555 on 12/20/2014 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Florida555

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought these at Ulta in Craving for $5 and Birthday Suit for $2.50 because of the sale. I thought Craving, a dark armor grey didn't look great on the eye. It was just not an attractive grey. It had hints of blue in it but was also light which I think is not a very good combination. I loved Birthday Suit because it's a beautiful, calm pale pink. It looked beautiful when it was on the lid. I'd highly recommend Birthday Suit!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deadmap on 12/8/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by deadmap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So far, I can only do a review on one shade: Maybe Later. I was browsing in the NYX section and decided to swatch some shadows out. Maybe Later really appealed to me because it's sort of a nude/skin tone colour that is a neutral light brown. It's just a few shades darker than my own skintone, so it really looks like a nice and natural wash of colour.

I love the pigmentation, the creamy and soft texture of this eyeshadow. I would've purchased more but I wanted to try one out on my lids before I committed to purchasing more. I will definitely be back, as they have a lot of gorgeous shades that would look good on most skin tones. Maybe Later is a really nice tan/brown shade that can be built up really well. I primed my eyes using NYX's full coverage concealer and the eyeshadow hasn't moved all day. It's super easy to blend, and the colour payoff is similar to high end cosmetics.

I purchased the shadow for $7 CDN, and I think sales on NYX cosmetics are super worth while when their eye shadows are such high quality. Even at full price, the NYX shadows are less than the MAC eye shadow pans. Score!

Will definitely re-purchase, and try more colours. I'll upate this review when I have more colours in my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 8/3/2014 1:50:00 AM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this is S.O.S. I was looking for a light, cool grey-brown (similar to MAC Copperplate, but lighter). I happened to see this in Ulta and thought I'd pick it up. It looks like it might be tad darker version of MAC Omega? But I don't own that yet, so I'm not 100%. Either way -- this is a very blendable, soft shadow. I like to use it in my crease to cool down a warm look or smudged into some liner along the lashline. But the way I use this most is --- on my eyebrows! I'm blonde and with very light eyebrows and this is the almost perfect color for filling in my brows. I do use a light hand and spoolie -- but it does the job and I'm very happy with this shadow. I think it will last me forever, but I would definitely purchase this again -- unless I splurge and get MAC Omega.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miniequalcrzy on 5/8/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by miniequalcrzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I don't wear eye shadow often, as I've always felt it was too much for going to school or even the mall but I've recently been getting into them more and more so I decided to get two matte shades because I only had shimmery wet n wild ones... :/
And I have to say I really like these, I bought haywire and betrayal and they're both nice and soft to the touch and actually quite pigmented... But then again I wanted colors that weren't that pigmented so whhats too pigmented to me may not be good enough for someone else
(I'm nc40 ish for reference)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 3/28/2014 12:17:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love these. I have Covet & Confession. I will be buying more shades & adding to this review. These are beautiful matte shadows with a satiny suede look. They feel so soft and comfortable.

NO IRRITATION!!! Another reviewer mentioned that unlike MAC these don't have the problematic ingredient bismuth hydrchloride.Maybe THAT is why I can't tolerate MAC. These don't irritate my eyes at all & I am super sensitive. I get rashes, eczema, redness etc so easily so that is my first test.

Blends easily. I used a satin matte cream shadow by Annabelle called #225 as a blending base highlighter. Smooth even coat.

Covet is an elegant gray green with a faint blue undertone. I have hazel green eyes with blue gray rims. This enhances my eyes & provides a soft neutral look. I have deep set hooded eyes and any shadow that goes on too dark, even my best colour greens will make me look bruised or hollow eyed. This is perfect, a touch of green in a grayed out neutral.

Confession is a dark brown liner shade or contour, with gray & green undertones. I love it together with Covet, but it goes with everything from gold to brown to taupes & gray as well as green.

Colour payoff is great. They don't grab in a spot instead they blend out well, and I can layer on more as needed. I use sponge applicator pack techniques because I don't use primer. I then use a soft brush to blend. I don't want to bother with wet application. I think if you use a brush they may go sheer, but they layer nicely. No fallout.

Both shades are neutral for a polished pulled together look. The grayed down green in Covet & the taupey grayed down greenish brown Confession look great. Neither emphasize wrinkles, nor do they go all dry & chalky like some mattes do.

I will buy more in these NYX mattes. Lap Dance & Leather and Lace look likely along with Maybe Later, Bare My Soul & craving. They aren't expensive. Around 8$ Canadian at Target & Rexall. Rexall has a 25% off sale right now so I will definitely be buying NYX

Edited to add: Lap Dance is AMAZING!!!! I liked 1017's review, she describes her deep set eyes & NW20 skin tone with purplish shadows around her eye socket, which are similar to mine. I also have red rims, visible blood vessels, thin crepey skin and wrinkles.

So when she said Lap Dance became her go to eyeshadow, that covered it all up, looking great I listened, and I agree completely. This is a wonderful nude beige with plenty of full coverage. Feels like velvet, doesn't fade or change, doesn't skip or grab, very blendable.

I also bought Leather & Lace as well as Maybe Later because I liked her "cashmere look" description of the 3 together. L&L is a great highlight that looks pinky tan in the container but goes on ivory cream with a hint of beige. It is smooth, doesn't grab or skip and makes a good highlighter. A nice matte highlight for corners & browbone or a pale cream to beige wash. This was what I was looking for in Maybelline Linen, and L&L is a much better matte pale highlight.

Lapdance and Leather&Lace are the cashmere look or what I'd call the high end look of a Burberry ad. Polished neutral shadows, whisper soft luxe.

Maybe Later has been described as tan, but on me it goes on as a nice looking orangey tan. A little too dark orange for anything but a summer bronzed eye look. Saving it for summer.

I think Lap Dance & Leather&Lace work really well together, and these 2 give me that "cashmere" or Burberry ad look. Love them. Hope NYX never discontinues them, ever!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivy1 on 1/31/2014 10:04:00 AM more reviews by ivy1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Well, I tried to make a new page for the color Bare My Soul, but I don't know if it filtered right here at MUA, so I'm going to leave my review again here on this page, just in case:

I am using this eye shadow as an eyebrow powder. None of the products I've tried that are formulated for blonde eyebrows are ashy enough for my dark blonde/light brown coloring. I had bought and then reviewed Gabriel Eye Shadow in Dove for this purpose, and used it for almost a year before it crumbled to bits in the pot, making it unusuable, even though there was a lot of product left. Not wanting to shell out another $13 for it, I decided to try NYX matte shadow in Bare My Soul. It is doing the trick. With a light touch and a small angled brush, this matte shadow is filling in the bare spots of my brows well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rsanzio on 12/24/2013 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Rsanzio

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have a very specific test for matte shadows, using them as liners with a small flat angled sable brush. This $4 shadow was nearly as good as the gold standard Chanel and blew UD matte Nakeds out of the water.

The shadow is quite heavily pigmented and went on with excellent precision (I'd give it an 8 to Chanel's 10, with UD at a charitable 4). I had no flaking and it stayed put.

I primed my lids with argon oil and Lime Time primer set with Tarte Smooth Operator (which is fast becoming the most indispensable piece of my eye makeup routine).

Other people may be looking for different qualities and have different experiences, but for what I needed mine was excellent. I will definitely be buying more.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrynaHarpy on 9/27/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Most of the reviews so far seem to be concentrating on trying to describe the colours, their personal techniques and what colour combinations they use. Well, makeup is like perfume - nothing is the same on any two women (which is why I don't buy multiple eyeshadow kits). Prefabricated makeup looks may work for some people, but trying to emulate someone else's look only works on the very young. Even there, if your basics aren't up to par it's just going to end up looking tacky. If the colour fades and changes over good primers and bases, don't wear 'em.

At 54 I'm still trying experimenting with adjusting my makeup from the bold colours and extreme makeup looks I used to adore. Mac and Nars were always my mainstays for basics, then Dior, Chanel, Lancome, etc. for their more specialised bold colours. Yes, I'm terribly picky and, considering how expensive makeup is in Australia ($45+ for a single eyeshadow in the mid to higher end brands), I've tried to do it on the cheap by splurging online over the past couple of years. Ultimately, I've come to the conclusion that all of those cheap brands I wanted to try out are exactly that: cheap.

I've had 3 of these (Skinny Dip, Leather and Lace, Haywire) since early in the year and have barely made a dent in any of them. The 2 crease colours don't hold true and look like bruising within a couple of hours of application over Nars Smudge Proof base or Too Faced Shadow Insurance with paint pot Painterly or Camel Coat. No chop. They both fade to grey. Yes, the colours are fine and have some subtlety to them initially, but it doesn't last and I'm not in a position to keep freshening up my lipstick every couple of hours, much less eyeshadow!

As regards the Leather and Lace as a base over primer: chalky. Again, a great colour to offset sallow skin, but if you have even a hint of crepey eyelid it will ensure that no one can miss that fact.

PROS
- Cheap;
- Good basic colours;
- Buildable;
- Some sense of behaving like Mac sheers so they don't look like dead, flat mattes;
- Would probably/possibly be cheap and reasonably wearable for young girls/women as an alternative to frosts and metallics or to give definition to the eye as matte contrast to really kick up the colour of bold eyeshadows.

CONS
- Chalky;
- Too much fallout when building;
- Subtlety in colours fades to the base colour rapidly (that is, Haywire only retains the grey notes; Skinny Dip only retains the blue-purple bruised note; Leather and Lace only retains the whitish notes)
- Personally, as much as I'd love to like them because they're cheap and sort of okay-ish, I can't even bring myself to use them because I like reliable, 'work every time' eyeshadows. The last thing I want to have to do is fuss around trying to repair uneven coverage or fallout or horrible colour fading. My pots won't ever see the metal base showing through, much less be repurchased.

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addied on 9/19/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by addied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

'I have a headache' is this yellow tone cream shade that makes an excellent cover up of any discoloration on the lids or even veins. I generally use it when I need to fix a clean up stain around the eyes & I also use it as a base shadow when I'm going neutral on the lids. Longevity isn't noticeable but I'm fairly sure it last over two hours as I tend to wipe my eyes after mascara irritation and they are on the wipes. Tad chalky but doesn't show up chalky on the skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cetoyant23 on 9/6/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by cetoyant23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This review is of the shade Maybe Later NMS04. It's a neutral light brown color that works great as a transition shade for any natural look, it works really great on it's own as well. Like many others, I was sad when Wet n Wild discontinued their 6 pans, the 2nd on the left in the Vanity palette was my all time HG everyday crease shade. It worked for every look I was doing & it's a color that works for almost all skintones. For the price it had the best texture of any eyeshadow I own, even my MAC ones tbh. Then I saw someone on Youtube use this NYX eyeshadow and I was reminded of the Vanity palette shade, so I hunted for it. It was on sale at Sears of all places! The texture of the eyeshadow isn't as soft as the WnW in all honesty, but it works just as well with all kinds of colors, warm or cool. I find that it does match my skintone too well at times, so I use a much lighter base from my lashline to browbone, and then I use this. I don't even have to add a lid color or brow highlight & I'm done. So if you're looking for a pre crease blending transition shade, try this one out. The packaging makes me think of a poor man's MAC but it is affordable & you can see the shade easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products