NYX Nude Matte Shadow (all)

4.3

32 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/29/2015 2:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Skinny Dip (which I'm pretty sure doesn't have it's own review slot)

I have the Too Faced Chocolate bar and was really liking how Strawberry Bon Bon looked and wanted to get into more matte looks (aside from the browns that were already in my palette) to add to the Strawberry Bon Bon or even for different shades, like a taupe matte eye. I looked up some Makeup Revolution palettes but wasn't impressed with the pigmentation in store, so I got this in Skinny Dip and swatched a few Hot Singles (that were also matte, just not part of this line) and got those instead. I will agree with all the people who say Nyx's formulation changed...they are a little chalky but I still think Skinny Dip has good pigmentation, so for that color alone I will give a 4, but I wasn't impressed with any other colors so I can see why as a whole they don't get a lot of love.

The cases are so freaking cheap, don't drop those. Even peeling the sticker off, I felt the window start to fall into the case. Uggghh I don't have enough replacement pots for all the Nyx singles I've broken already! It's a trend with them, but the new (round) casing seems to be worse.

I wanted a few more pinky shades but didn't really love the ones availale in the Matte line, so I didn't buy any more of those. I did end up buying a few Makeup Revolution palettes anyway (presumably for the warmer pink matte shades) and I'm going to write a review for those next.



on 8/29/2015 1:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought the first batch of matte nude that came out, lap dance, leather and lace and I have a headache.
I love all 3 colors and ran out of lap dance to find out they change their formulation ( again! ) and now its really chalky.
Will not repurchase because I am so sick that NYX change the formulation, I've been buying their brand since they came out, they went from amazing in quality to super shitty, so I am not buying from them anymore.


on 8/8/2015 2:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Some of the NYX shadows are hit and miss for me. This review is for the Nude Matte Shadow in the color "Kiss the Day". I found it on sale at my local grocery store and it's the perfect vanilla color for my brow bone. I use it every day and it's very pigmented! The formula is very silky, not chalky and it lasts most of the day. You can't beat the price and you get quite a bit of product. I'll keep repurchasing for under my brows and my inner crease.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2015 10:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

As some other reviewers have said, there are some perfect taupes in here for contouring on cool toned, fair skin. I've been using my custom Anastasia contour palette for about a year, and it's been ok, but it can look garish if I'm not careful and even "fawn" is a little warm on me. I forget the color I got in this, but it's honestly amazing for contouring!! It's very light, and natural looking and blends in perfectly while still giving me definition (like I said I don't remember the name but it's 07.)


on 2/14/2015 9:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I love these, but I don't use them as eyeshadow. As eyeshadow, I find them totally useless and horrible. I have four shades and have thrown two away because I just have no use for them. But the other two, "Underneath it All" and "Bare My Soul" are my favorite contour powders of all time. The formula is buttery smooth, however they are not very pigmented, making them awful on the eyes but awesome on the face. These two eyeshadows are amazing as contours because they are exactly the right shades for the shadows on your face. I think a lot of people can use these shades as contours and if not there are a lot of cool/neutral shades in the range to choose from. The best part is that it's inexpensive and in most people's price range. I recommend it to everyone as a contour. Awesome stuff.


on 1/20/2015 11:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

These are amazing! So soft and velvety, they actually blend and are cheap! The colors are so pretty and versatile I am going to start a collection! Move over Mac, I think I will be sticking to Nyx for awhile..


on 12/20/2014 1:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought these at Ulta in Craving for $5 and Birthday Suit for $2.50 because of the sale. I thought Craving, a dark armor grey didn't look great on the eye. It was just not an attractive grey. It had hints of blue in it but was also light which I think is not a very good combination. I loved Birthday Suit because it's a beautiful, calm pale pink. It looked beautiful when it was on the lid. I'd highly recommend Birthday Suit!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2014 8:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

So far, I can only do a review on one shade: Maybe Later. I was browsing in the NYX section and decided to swatch some shadows out. Maybe Later really appealed to me because it's sort of a nude/skin tone colour that is a neutral light brown. It's just a few shades darker than my own skintone, so it really looks like a nice and natural wash of colour.

I love the pigmentation, the creamy and soft texture of this eyeshadow. I would've purchased more but I wanted to try one out on my lids before I committed to purchasing more. I will definitely be back, as they have a lot of gorgeous shades that would look good on most skin tones. Maybe Later is a really nice tan/brown shade that can be built up really well. I primed my eyes using NYX's full coverage concealer and the eyeshadow hasn't moved all day. It's super easy to blend, and the colour payoff is similar to high end cosmetics.

I purchased the shadow for $7 CDN, and I think sales on NYX cosmetics are super worth while when their eye shadows are such high quality. Even at full price, the NYX shadows are less than the MAC eye shadow pans. Score!

Will definitely re-purchase, and try more colours. I'll upate this review when I have more colours in my collection.


on 8/3/2014 1:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I got this is S.O.S. I was looking for a light, cool grey-brown (similar to MAC Copperplate, but lighter). I happened to see this in Ulta and thought I'd pick it up. It looks like it might be tad darker version of MAC Omega? But I don't own that yet, so I'm not 100%. Either way -- this is a very blendable, soft shadow. I like to use it in my crease to cool down a warm look or smudged into some liner along the lashline. But the way I use this most is --- on my eyebrows! I'm blonde and with very light eyebrows and this is the almost perfect color for filling in my brows. I do use a light hand and spoolie -- but it does the job and I'm very happy with this shadow. I think it will last me forever, but I would definitely purchase this again -- unless I splurge and get MAC Omega.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2014 12:17:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love these. I have Covet & Confession. I will be buying more shades & adding to this review. These are beautiful matte shadows with a satiny suede look. They feel so soft and comfortable.

NO IRRITATION!!! Another reviewer mentioned that unlike MAC these don't have the problematic ingredient bismuth hydrchloride.Maybe THAT is why I can't tolerate MAC. These don't irritate my eyes at all & I am super sensitive. I get rashes, eczema, redness etc so easily so that is my first test.

Blends easily. I used a satin matte cream shadow by Annabelle called #225 as a blending base highlighter. Smooth even coat.

Covet is an elegant gray green with a faint blue undertone. I have hazel green eyes with blue gray rims. This enhances my eyes & provides a soft neutral look. I have deep set hooded eyes and any shadow that goes on too dark, even my best colour greens will make me look bruised or hollow eyed. This is perfect, a touch of green in a grayed out neutral.

Confession is a dark brown liner shade or contour, with gray & green undertones. I love it together with Covet, but it goes with everything from gold to brown to taupes & gray as well as green.

Colour payoff is great. They don't grab in a spot instead they blend out well, and I can layer on more as needed. I use sponge applicator pack techniques because I don't use primer. I then use a soft brush to blend. I don't want to bother with wet application. I think if you use a brush they may go sheer, but they layer nicely. No fallout.

Both shades are neutral for a polished pulled together look. The grayed down green in Covet & the taupey grayed down greenish brown Confession look great. Neither emphasize wrinkles, nor do they go all dry & chalky like some mattes do.

I will buy more in these NYX mattes. Lap Dance & Leather and Lace look likely along with Maybe Later, Bare My Soul & craving. They aren't expensive. Around 8$ Canadian at Target & Rexall. Rexall has a 25% off sale right now so I will definitely be buying NYX

Edited to add: Lap Dance is AMAZING!!!! I liked 1017's review, she describes her deep set eyes & NW20 skin tone with purplish shadows around her eye socket, which are similar to mine. I also have red rims, visible blood vessels, thin crepey skin and wrinkles.

So when she said Lap Dance became her go to eyeshadow, that covered it all up, looking great I listened, and I agree completely. This is a wonderful nude beige with plenty of full coverage. Feels like velvet, doesn't fade or change, doesn't skip or grab, very blendable.

I also bought Leather & Lace as well as Maybe Later because I liked her "cashmere look" description of the 3 together. L&L is a great highlight that looks pinky tan in the container but goes on ivory cream with a hint of beige. It is smooth, doesn't grab or skip and makes a good highlighter. A nice matte highlight for corners & browbone or a pale cream to beige wash. This was what I was looking for in Maybelline Linen, and L&L is a much better matte pale highlight.

Lapdance and Leather&Lace are the cashmere look or what I'd call the high end look of a Burberry ad. Polished neutral shadows, whisper soft luxe.

Maybe Later has been described as tan, but on me it goes on as a nice looking orangey tan. A little too dark orange for anything but a summer bronzed eye look. Saving it for summer.

I think Lap Dance & Leather&Lace work really well together, and these 2 give me that "cashmere" or Burberry ad look. Love them. Hope NYX never discontinues them, ever!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top