Max Factor Max Factor Ageless Elixir 2 in 1 Foundation Plus Serum SPF 15

3.7

14 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/17/2015 7:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ooh, nelly. This is a tough one for me.
I bought this on the recommendation of a friend: should've been a warning, since I don't actually much like her beauty routine (although she is, of course, a wonderful person). First off: this foundation is great if you want high coverage that lasts for a long time.
Unfortunately, I don't.
I... struggled with this foundation. Despite applying it multiple different ways, I usually found it looked dry, a bit cakey, and kind of thick on my skin, which as a look, I'm not a fan of. My solution eventually was to mix it with moisturizer, after which I loved it. It came out dewy, light, and very natural looking, although it had far less staying power. All in all, while I liked this foundation once I messed around with it enough, it's very tiresome to carefully mix together two products every morning, and afterwards it's so wet and liquidy, I can't use a brush to apply it without having to clean the brush daily. I probably wouldn't repurchase just because I know other foundations that don't require so much effort.
(However, if you're struggling with a foundation looking unnatural, I'd recommend always, always try sheering it out by mixing it with moisturizer. You'd be amazed.)

Pros: High coverage, long-lasting.
Cons: (emphasis on FOR ME) cakey, overly thick and dry.



on 7/12/2015 11:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The silkiest foundation I have ever tried. The coverage is medium to full, very nice natural to dewy look. It feels very nice and light on the skin, very breathable. It doesn't look caky, covers blemishes, pores and fine lines pretty well. The only problem is that it doesn't last all day and it is not available in stores in the US (or I haven't found it in stores, Amazon only.) - therefore you cannot try the right shade before you buy. In summer, I wear it in 75 Golden, I still haven't found the right shade for winter (I guess I'll have to try it in Europe this winter)


on 5/5/2015 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Nice foundation

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2015 8:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm going to start with the positives because there aren't that many. This foundation didn't irritate my dry skin at all and looked okay from a distance. However, up close it was a mess. It claims that it 'covers the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles' but it actually did the opposite, it sunk into every tiny line in my face, making them look worse. The foundation also started to separate and look patchy about five minutes after I put it on. However, the worst thing was the shine. I have REALLY dry skin, so even the greasiest of foundations look fine on me, except this one. I had to use several layers of powder to set it and then it went back to being super shiny in about 30 minutes. When I touched my face, I could actually see an feel grease on my fingers. I've only used this once and I definitely won't be trying it again.


on 1/2/2015 12:04:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful, everyday foundation for dry, mature skin. When Estee Lauder decided to discontinue Futurist I was on the lookout for a replacement. I loved the rich, hydrating consistency of Futurist and how it gave my skin a wonderful radiance/glow under powder so it was hard to replace but this foundation does the trick. I am so happy to have found something that hydrates my skin all day, doesn't settle into lines, doesn't have a chemical feel or smell (for my sensitive skin) and looks youthful, glowing and natural. Max Factor have done an amazing job with this foundation and on top of that, it is much more affordable than high end foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2014 12:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Didn't use any foundation for a long time because I hate the way it takes the expression out of one's face and how it sets in fine lines. And it always shows. Decided to give this a try though, because of the good reviews. But as soon as I had this make-up on my face, I remembered why I don't like foundations. It gave me a pancake look and accentuated my fine lines after ten minutes. I'will never try a foundation again and will go back to my Lancome Hydra Zen TM which I love!


on 4/11/2013 10:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really loved this foundation, it matched my skin perfectly and made my skin looked smooth and had good coverage. The problem I had with it is it makes me break out in spots every time I use it so unfortunately I have had to stop using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2013 7:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is great. Easy to blend, nice natural shades, medium-full coverage, feels nice on the skin, doesn't cause break-outs, and stays put during the day.

This isn't my holy-grail of foundations (I'm still looking for all of the above plus a flawless, dewy glow that somehow hides acne scars) but for what I can afford, and in the interests of no more trial-and-error-fails, this is my no. 1.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2013 12:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Packaging: it's pump, so it's great. I can se the shade immediately from the cover. Plastic, so it's lightweight to carry anywhere, yet it's not Eco-Friendly cause it's not easy to re-use the packaging.
It could be a smaller and more efficient packaging, but yea, i don't think any company would sell a product with a packaging that would exactly fit the contain for distribution and marketing purposes.

Use: lightweight, cover redness and discoloration and mild dark circle, but not enough coverage for dark spot or acne.
too little to no oil control, but it's fine if you use a primer.
can't be applied in layers to build coverage cause it'll make you greasy due to the serum, but it is an added bonus to treat the problem areas on your face.
Has sunblock properties, so it's a nice foundation for everyday use.
Oxidation occur, especially in heat,but still has a natural finish.

I'll try other foundation in store when i finish this, but yes, it's a product that i could finish, so i'm quite happy with it. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2012 8:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product is fantastic! You get foundation with serum + an spf 15 which is essential if you want to take care of your skin. I have always been prone to spots and blemishes and because of this have used heavier style matt make up. The result being that they cover the blemishes but can look a bit 'cakey'. This product not only covers really well but the effect is a dewy matt finish. It feels light and makes your skin look fresh. For me it's perfect because I have finally achieved a natural fresh look whilst covering up my imperfections. The price is great too compared to other very expensive foundations that I have tried and haven't really worked for me. I buy it from Boots on the 3 for 2 offer, great value :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top