Maybelline • Eye Studio Master Precise Ink Pen Liner • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(208 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 1/28/2015 10:22:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As much as I wanted to like this eyeliner, it was very clumsy to wield and had subpar staying power.
I'm constantly on the hunt for the best liquid eyeliners, so I was hoping for the best with Master Precise. I bought the one in black for everyday wear. Upon first impression, I was surprised by the size of the felt tip. It was probably twice as long and, even though it's tapered, the widest part is about twice as wide as those I've previously used. The tip, I've noticed, is also not completely tapered; the tip ends off in a small, blunt cut. It usually doesn't bother me, but sometimes I need to make a sharper point that is difficult to achieve with this eyeliner. Plus, the felt tip is quite flimsy; it bends easily, which can sometimes mess up my application.
I like the pigmentation of Master Precise. It's very black, and it applies opaquely in one coat. I haven't had issues with it fading or being too watery.
Unfortunately, the staying power is a letdown. This eyeliner isn't claiming to be fully longwearing or waterproof, but this eyeliner was so easy to smudge! I have naturally watery outer eye corners due to allergies, and this eyeliner had no chance against moisture. It budged and smudged with incredible ease. That's a bit of a dealbreaker for me; staying power is very important for the 20 or so hours a day that I wear makeup, and this one didn't deliver.
Master Precise is relatively inexpensive, but it's on the higher priced end of drugstore eyeliners. They go around $10 a pop. I think it's a decent product if you don't wear makeup for too long, or if you don't mind limited staying power. Also, it helps to have patience when wielding this liner. Imo, there are some better liquid liners out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kh112299 on 1/22/2015 9:01:00 PM more reviews by kh112299

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

If you wear eyeshadow DO NOT but this product. The moment it glides across the shadow it dries up. After about 20 mins on this on my eyes it turns grey. Worst $12.49 ever spent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Berty on 1/13/2015 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Berty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've used this for a while but am looking for something different. It's good when it's new, but dries out SO quickly. The staying power is ok but it doesn't stay black all day - it fades to a dark grey, which isn't great. I would re-purchase if I were in a rush and hadn't found anything else to replace it, but ideally not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AndiSaysHi on 1/5/2015 2:12:00 PM more reviews by AndiSaysHi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Best liquid eyeliner I have ever used! The formula is great because it applies smoothly, dries quickly, and is long wearing. The tiny felt tip is perfect for getting right up to the base of the lashes and making an ultra thin line. This is so easy to use, I don't have to wipe it off and start over because of mistakes. I will re-purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 periwinkle92 on 1/1/2015 1:04:00 PM more reviews by periwinkle92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I can't find ANYTHING negative to say about this liner. I have had it for over a month now and it doesn't disappoint! I have tried a few different liquid liners from the drug store (nyx,elf, etc) and NONE of them create clean, long lasting lines like this one. It doesnt transfer to my upper lid (if any liner does use primer!) And stays allll day so much that I am sad wiping my makeup off at the end of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 macmsnsucks on 12/29/2014 2:12:00 AM more reviews by macmsnsucks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The eyeliner does not last for people with oily lids!! I tried it with the urban decay eye primer and the eye primer from etude house and it still smudges... It is also hard to draw thin lines because of its design.

I still prefer the maybelline liquid liner with the golden lid (which they don't sell in the states).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mabina1 on 12/14/2014 4:17:00 AM more reviews by Mabina1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm just learning how to do my top eyeliner and this product has made it so easy and perfect! I LOVE this pen. The tip is firm and the liner applies easily. Before this product I hated doing my eyeliner and would avoid it as much as possible. Now I want to do my eyeliner all the time and I've only had it for three days! It's AMAZING! I would definitely recommend this product to everyone. The price is decent and the lasting power is good too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Caseyyy24 on 12/10/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by Caseyyy24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this eyeliner way more than I thought I would. I am always a little bit wary of any drug store make up, but I was out of my tarte MultilEye eyeliner, and I was in Target and this was on sale so I considered what the hell. I bought mine in black and this eye liner goes on smooth, has a dark color and stays on pretty much all day but never flakes for peels. It also dries very quickly. My only complaint is that the tip is a little harder than I like, but it works.

If you are looking for a cheaper eyeliner that still looks good, lasts and is easy to apply then this is it! I will definitely be repurchasing this once it is out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cnguyen112 on 11/26/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by cnguyen112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Just to get this out of the way, I have oily lids (as with the rest of my face), so one of the problems I face with this eyeliner is that by the end of the day, the top of my liner would stick/smudge on the top of my lid when I blink, depending on how thick I drew the liner that day.

Nevertheless, I would still buy this liner again. It's around $8 on sale, and regular $10. It's also a felt tip which I find a lot more easier to use when drawing your line. On the first use, it's very pigmented. It takes about a 2 months of daily use until it starts to dry out.

TIP: When you notice signs of drying/less ink, I recommend keeping the pen stored vertically, with the cap at the bottom. This is so that the ink runs down to the felt tip. Does this actually work? I don't know, but try it and you tell me. I think it does.

Overall, I'd buy this again and recommend it to people who want an easy time applying eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 10/26/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Still experimenting w this; I got it as a rec from a friend whose eyeliner always looks perfect. The top lash line no problems but forget doing the lower lashline or waterline. This draws pretty thin lines & is pretty black but the CG pen is better to me in some respects. I have tried 4 different liner pens: this, the CG, Black Radiance (for returned!), & my fave out of the 4 which was Kat von D Trooper. This is over priced imo most Maybelline products are generally. But I like this & I would so repurchase just to use on top lashline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products