Hourglass • No. 28 Primer Serum • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.0(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 9/16/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Yes this primer is quite expensive, probably twice the price of most other department store brands. Everything about it is luxurious, the bottle, the formulation, the fragrance. The No. 28 primer serum comes housed in a beautiful heavy glass bottle with a pump. It has a nice gentle lavender/herbal fragrance that makes just makes it a bit more pleasurable to apply. The formulation/feel is what sold me though, I swatched this at Sephora. It felt so smooth and satiny when I blended it into the back of my hand. Dispenses as a clear serum as the name implies. Great primer for dry skin, and the only dry skin friendly primer I know of that isn't shimmery. Even after a full day of work my makeup looks flawless. This is definitely a unique product as far as primers are concerned. I would repurchase as I can't think of anything else that comes close.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Prettygal15 on 7/1/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Prettygal15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be the best primer out there. It leaves me with a smooth appearance and reduces the size of my pores. It is light and you only need very little. A lot of other primers cause me to breakout but this one hasn't. I have been using this for almost two years now and still no complaints. Sometimes this is all I use before I got out without using any coverup.
A bit pricey but it lasts for a long time. The only thing that I have bad to say is that it comes in a glass bottle and makes me nervous because I have dropped a bottle of it already and it broke in my bathroom. But I love this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loeblori on 5/6/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by loeblori

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this, but not for all over the face. I have combination skin with fine lines around my eyes. I use this just around my eyes before makeup, especially in the winter when I get more de-hydrated. And I made a brilliant discovery one day when I was tired after work. It makes touch-ups look fabulous. Rather than taking off my face makeup and re-doing it before going out for the evening, I spread a tiny amount of this on areas that might get cakey with foundation and re-applied a small amount of liquid foundation. You'd never know I didn't start from scratch. For a less oily overall primer the Hourglass Mineral Veil (the white one) is great, though probably not for the T-zone in the summer. For my T-zone I use the Becca mattifying primer. So, basically, in the summer I've combined three primers for different areas of my face, but it really works.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StretchyElephant on 3/3/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by StretchyElephant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily skin, so this product isn't really ideal for me. Even so I like my skin to be hydrated above all else and I don't mind if my face is a little extra dewy/greasy. This primer has been my go-to as of late because my face feels amazing during and after wearing makeup when I start with No. 28. I agree that it doesn't really absorb; mostly it seems to just sit on my face and add shine. I just give it a few minutes to attempt to sink in before blotting the excess off with a tissue and continuing with applying my makeup. And you know what? My makeup looks great through 12-hour+ shifts. Yes, I'm pretty oily at the end of the day. But the richness of this primer gives my face such a healthy glow both with and without makeup that I find myself not caring about the oilies. I won't be running to repurchase when I run out mostly because of the price, but this greasy girl was a lot happier with No. 28 than I thought I'd be.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 1/20/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It suited my skin then when I was having laser Tx at the derm's office. Since I stopped those laser for 10 months and my skin has return to its normal condition, although my skin is still dry I do not find this product "sinks in" that well. It just sits there, and who has that kind of time in the morning waiting for products to be "absorbed".
I'd rather put on a cream for dry skin and then a regular silicone primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupenthusiast1994 on 1/20/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by makeupenthusiast1994

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Def on the fence with this-I got the sample or travel sized one along w/ the mineral primer. I tend to use this one more because of my dry and flaky skin, and this seems to moisturize those spots. I've been using for about 3 weeks, and so far it hasn't broken me out, It does help my makeup stay on a little longer.

Ive used this primer with both powder foundation and liquid, and it works well for both!
Will I purchase again? Ehh, im not sure. The price is pretty steep and w/ all the cones this has in it + my acne prone skin? Probably not.
But if you don't have sensitive skin, or a little bit on the dry side, I'd suggest trying this out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lingre on 1/5/2014 3:56:00 PM more reviews by lingre

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm giving this a 3 star rating. I like it a lot but its pricey. You can tell its an oil blend serum and that is really bad for the areas of my skin that are oily... I bought the one Sephora sells that has this one in a mini version with the Veil mini version. I like the Veil better I think because that does better with oil, but this goes better with the dry areas. I've tried using both combined but did not like it. So 3 starts mostly because its frustrating that this one product cant be used for combination skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 11/13/2013 5:18:00 AM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As I get older, I am less sure about calling my skin normal. Now with the LA weather, my skin is oily as hell in the summer and dry and parched in the fall. I have oily spots and dry spots. My nose often shows it first.

This primer, although smelling like tiger balm and green Asian holy oil, makes foundation on flakes look like butter on a biscuit. Smooth, no lines, and no dry flakes in sight!

Do remember that it feels like paddling grease on a frying pan and that feeling will last, but its a small price to pay when it hides flakey bits. Its loaded with cones but my skin isn't sensitive. It takes a minute to dry unlike any other face oils that lingers.
The small sample vial has been lasting me and I've already purchased the large size for many years of usage.

With a deep moisturizer like clinique at night and this prior to morning foundation, my laugh lines are also plumped. Turns out I wasn't crazy and saw them appear from nowhere. They were a sign of lack of hydration. I am only 21.

I wouldn't touch this with a ten foot pole and a glove in the summer let alone put it on any oil prone area. Its thick and suffocatingly hydrating enough as of now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UDMAC on 11/3/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by UDMAC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This broke me out terribly :( i was surprised the SA recommended this to me because I have oily acne prone skin. it feels really sticky going on but it sets into a smooth silicone finish. i like the packaging and that its clear so it doesn't interfere with my foundation. it has a nice herbal scent. although its hydrating, It didn't make my foundation last much longer. Overall, i didnt find it worth the price or breakouts.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tatcuya114 on 10/26/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by tatcuya114

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hourglass makes some amazing makeup products. It feels greasy when you put it on, but if you have dry skin, this product will help hydrate your skin and keep your makeup on longer. However, this product is seriously overpriced--it is literally silicone mixed with some essential oil. Besides, it completely broke me out, and made my pore look 10 times larger when I take it off at the end of the day. I should have known better--my skin never reacts well to silicone-based primers. But if you don't have the same problem and could afford the price tag, maybe you would like it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Primer/ Corrector products