MAC Lustre - Retrospeck

4.2

294 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/27/2015 10:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a beautiful colour, but I do not like the fallout and the glitter, it is crazy and makes me look dirty and annoys the hell out of me. The only time I can use it is if I wet the brush and pat on it, will not repurchase



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This colour was recommended to me as one of the bestsellers. I was a little bit disappointed at first thinking the pigment wasn't that intense when applied on the lids when compared to a finger swatch. I had totally forgotten about it until recently when I was having a makeup clearance. Holy Moly-It is now my everyday eye shadow and my makeup staple. I love to create a wash of colour on the lids. It is glowy and looks like there is something there, but not overdone. It makes the entire look effortless yet put together. It is not an overpowering gold like UD half baked on my pale complexion but not too whitish like Mac Shroom. It gives the perfect amount of colour that brings out a subtle warmth on my skin. Pair it with a very subtle eyeliner to lightly define the eyes and some mascara it is just perfect! I understand that why some people may not like it because it is a lustre. If you are looking for a pigmented gold on the lid this will not be for you, otherwise it is a gorgeous white gold to have in your eyeshadow collection.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 2:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was the first MAC eyeshadow I bought, and has remained my favourite. It is a light shimmery neutral/goldish colour, but not a full on glitter, which I love. I find that it has great payoff, and atiny bit goes a long way. It is versatile not only in the ways you can wear it, but the colours that you can wear it with. I usually wear it as a light all over colour for day time, and in the inner corners/brow bone for a night look, and goes with everything! I also sometimes wear it as a highlight on my face, a trick an MUA showed me when I first got it.


on 8/14/2014 9:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Shocked at how much I love this shadow. I didn't think a shimmery gold would really get used this much, but it does! Will buy again and again!


on 4/18/2014 12:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Really nice subtle beige gold shade. Not much to say other than I like it and will rebuy as needed.
Edit: The more I wear this, the more I like it. I even get comments on how pretty my eyes are when I have this on.


on 3/25/2014 12:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Retrospeck is a light shimmery gold blonde color. It's a lustre finish so it is a little rough and a tad bit glittery but the color is beautiful. Eventhough, it has some glitter it is tame enough for everyday. I like to use it all over my eye lid and then put NARS Blondie in the crease (which is a brownish gold taupe color). I tried this alone but always feel like I still need a little definition in the crease. It just makes me feel so much more awake and beautiful. I also use this eye shadow more when I am not tan. For some reason it doesn't really show up at all when I am tan or darker. I usually wear MUFE 118 and have worn anywhere from MAC NC/NW 20 to 30 or even MUFE 123 in the past when I was really tan. Overall great eye shadow for light skin tones to brighten up a look and keep from feeling so blah.


on 12/6/2013 1:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My new favourite every day eyeshadow. It's a beautiful pewter colour with the prettiest shimmer. I wear it as a wash on my lids for work, a dream to apply and gives me a polished look with very little effort. I tend to apply my concealer afterwards as it does have a little fall out. Highly recommend this eeyeshadow, I am nc30 with dark brown hair and eyes for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 12:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a beautiful, shimmery gold color. It looks very good on light skin. Not too gold. I had no issues with fall out. It's very pigmented, like all MAC eyeshadows.


on 11/7/2013 11:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My favorite shimmery lid color. It's hard to describe. Sometimes, it's a pale gold, and sometimes it looks more taupey? LOL but it's a gorgeous lid color. A lot of people don't like lustre eyeshadows, and I usually don't either but this color is amazing. It's not as bad as the other lustres, i find


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous shadow, makes my eyes look glamorous. Pair it with Club or Satin Taupe and you're good to go. Also love it with Coquette or Kid, and Ruby Woo for the perfect retro look.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top