Sally Hansen Smooth And Perfect

2.9

38 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

AWFUL. it never dried and even after 30 minutes i touch it and the whole finger smudged. with one touch of a finger the whole nails worth of polish came off. i do not recommend this to anyone, i think peanut butter would stay on better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/23/2014 3:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I do love these polishes, despite all their glaring faults. The brush is quite wide and the formula is runny which makes it difficult to apply neatly to small nails, but the polish goes on smoothly and dries quickly to a lovely finish. I love the range of pastel shades, too - I have Air and Linen - and the subtle pearly shimmer is a nice touch; they're ideal for a nice, natural-looking manicure. Mine lasted a good three days with no base/top coat and barely any chipping, too; an impressive feat for me, if not for some. The only real downside to this polish is the bubbling which happens if you paint thick coats - I'd definitely recommend doing a few thin coats rather than one or two thick ones. You might want to bear in mind that these polishes are also quite sheer, so if you're looking for something more opaque you may wish to look elsewhere.

Pros:
- Great colours
- Dries fast
- Smooth application
- Fairly long-lasting

Cons:
- Very sheer finish, if that's not your thing
- Difficult to apply neatly
- Prone to bubbling if applied too thickly

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2014 12:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have this formula in "Sorbet". Overall, it's a solid meh. The color is super blah, the brush is clumsy, but the formula is nice.

I'm NW20, so this color hits a little too close to home. That would be great if it were a neutral, but seeing as it's supposed to be a creme orange, not so much. I'm sure it would look lovely on someone darker, or even much fairer. Two coats and I still have some minor VPL, so this looks like a three-coat polish. However, the polish is in fact very smooth, and easy to get even coverage with.

The brush is a little too fat and flat for my taste it's harder to get precision control near the edges like you would get with a thin, cylindrical brush.


on 1/3/2014 1:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this polish! I got it at the dollar store (Ikr?!) in 06 Air. I expeced it to be prety sheer, for such a light colour, but i was pleasantly surprised! It's opaque after only 2 coats! And it has the slightest undertone of gold- so gorgeous. Dries fast and is indeed, smooth and perfect!


on 6/26/2013 4:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

If you like natural, neutral and slight mother-of-pearl colors and want to extend your no-chip manicure, as I like to do, then this is the polish for you. It is a little thick, but evens out. It fills in the new nail growth quite nicely. I like the wide brush for application.

The polish is prone to some bubbling if you put it on too thick, but it isn't a deal-breaker. I use Sally Hansen's Xtreme Wear clear polish as a "base" coat (over my no-chip manicure) and top coat after applying about 2 coats of Smooth and Perfect (Dune 03). The top coat helps hide the little bubble problem. I tend to come back to Smooth and Perfect after trying other neutral color polishes.


on 5/9/2013 5:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got this in 02 Linen. It is pretty sheer, but thats what I love about it. It looks very natural. It dries very quickly. Mine was thick or gloopy, was indeed smooth and applied smoothly with the brush.


on 5/6/2013 11:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to love this polish -- the colors are really pretty nudes and they don't chip quickly. However, the formula is so gloopy! I thinned it out a little bit and it was STILL gloopy. I am particular about nail polish, but I expected better from Sally Hansen, especially for a polish called "Smooth and Perfect." I do like how wide the brush is, though. And if you can get it applied well Dune is a perfect blush pink. I just won't be buying again.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This nail polish is one of the WORST nail polishes I have ever purchased. I bought the shade "Sea" expecting it to be a nice sort of minty colour.... was I ever wrong. This color came out sheer/white and I had to do 4 coats to get even a hint of the colour. The drying time is extremely long and since you need to do so many coats that can be annoying and time consuming. Overall this was a waste of money.


on 4/5/2013 4:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the opaque look. I do not like LOUD nail-polishes. I'm sort of a tomboy and this works great! It gives me the "girly" look I want, but not too girly! I have 06-Air and I am not complaining!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2013 12:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have tried the "Satin 04" color. I love the color, it's very nice to wear to work. Just like with most drug store nail polish, you have to apply 3 layers for the color to come through like it's supposed to and for it to be even and consistent. I really don't understand why they can't make light colors more pigmented. Anyway, you do need many coats and you have to wait a long time between coats. I waited 15-20 minutes between each coat (3 of them) and then added a clear top coat and waited another 20 minutes. It seems dry but if you, for example, put your hand between your head and pillow at night, the nails get a texture on them from your hair or pillow. It's very gooey and doesn't get rock hard. After they nails get dinged, the shine goes away also. The top coat (also sally) didn't help at all. Not only that, but little bubbles appear on some nails! I would not purchase again.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
127 Reviews
Privacy Please
45 Reviews
Purple Panic
35 Reviews
Demure Vixen
52 Reviews


Back to Top