MAC • Matte - Gesso • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 2/2/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Gesso is a stark matte white. The formula is a bit dry, but I think that's necessary for proper application of such a white color. If this was overly pigmented we would all look like drag queens when applying it. This used to be my HG highlight until recently... Vanilla and I are having a love affair. Even though this may sound blasphemous to some makeup snobs... the best way to apply Gesso is to use a sponge tip applicator, like the ones you get in Covergirl trios. Overall I like it... don't loooooove it. Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 YoHarajuku on 8/18/2012 9:42:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Really dissapointed with this. Very chalky and found it hard to blend or look smooth, my lids look so patchy no matter what i do. Maybe I got bad eyeshadow or its old but I wouldn't buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 8/10/2012 1:03:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very dusty/chalky and not very pigmented. It's an okay basic matte white, but there are better whites out there. Works well to blend other colors out, but that's about it. Doesn't work well for inner corners (it clumps up), or for using in an eyeshadow look (doesn't show up much).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupLover321 on 7/15/2012 3:46:00 PM more reviews by MakeupLover321

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

There are many dupes for this eyeshadow however this is such a good neatral colour. It is a vivid white. I really love this colour and I will have to re-purchase this because I have hit pan on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kkate142 on 5/28/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Kkate142

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like MAC and their products.But this one was not my favorite.It is not shockingly pigmented like I thought it would be.Which is why it was disappointing.It works okay as a cheek highlight, but I prefer to use my matte white from Maybelliene over this, and I also dont like it because you cant use it for inner corner highlighting either.Dont waste your money.But on the bright side it looks cute with all of my other MAC eyeshadows, and I love the packaging, very sturdy and small.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liviiflutelouu on 5/23/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by liviiflutelouu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Gesso has been my go to highlight color for under my brow bone for the past few weeks..during the spring/summer time I don't enjoy wearing anything too sparkly on my eyes since it seems to draw attention to my already oily lids and face! I don't use this to highlight my nose or cheekbones since it is not super pigmented..it does give my under brow area a nice "lift" though without any shimmer or shine. Just matte. Very nice for this time of the year!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 plasticbambi on 5/20/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by plasticbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is as pigmented as I'd like but, you can layer it (you have layer it a lot) and it'll pop. I wish I could find a true matte white....oh well....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BlueLaTifa on 2/6/2012 9:44:00 AM more reviews by BlueLaTifa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not pigmented at all. The worst MAC eye shadow I've ever tried. I had to use water on my pencil before I used this eye shadow to even see the tiniest piece of colour. I will never buy this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 12/23/2011 1:58:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've hit pan and repurchased this shadow many times of the years and consider this to be a staple in my collection. It's the perfect pigmented matte stark white shadow that is extremely versatile for me. Love it and I would be at a loss if I didn't have it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ParkwayDrive on 11/19/2011 12:37:00 PM more reviews by ParkwayDrive

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Just a plain matte white eyeshadow that really brightens up the eyes. A staple in my makeup collection! Will buy again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products