MAC • Matte - Gesso • Eye Shadow

rated 3.7(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 theperoxideprincess on 5/22/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by theperoxideprincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not really a fan of MAC, but I decided to give this product a try. Bought this to highlight my brow bone. MAC is known for it's highly pigmented eyeshadow so I thought this would get the job done. It didn't. It was like applying chalk to my face. And yes I did apply eyeshadow primer first.

If you want a great cream colored eyeshadow, try Estee Lauder Pure Color Eyeshadows in Sugar Cube and Summer Linen. You don't need primer. It doesn't crease and it blends really well. Much better than this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadiemonster on 5/17/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by sadiemonster

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Stupidly, I bought this without reading reviews. I won't buy it again.

I'd never really used matte white shadow much in the past, but I got some in a LORAC PRO Palette (which was great btw), and I loved it. For some reason LORAC doesn't make single eyeshadows in the colors you get in the palette, so I had to find dupes. I thought I couldn't go wrong with MAC's basic white.

Unfortunately it sucks. While the LORAC white was richly pigmented, creamy and smooth, the MAC Gesso is chalky, unpigmented and dry, almost gritty. It's like a really cheap talc-based shadow. In fact, white talc would probably be MORE effective.

With the Lorac, I only needed to tap my brush in the color a couple of times and sweep it over the whole lid. With Gesso, I need to swirl my brush around in the pan quite vigorously and scrub back and forth over the lid to spread the color. You can actually hear it, it's like sweeping chalk dust on sandpaper. And even then, it's uneven, patchy and dry.

Sweeping it right up to the browbone is virtually impossible, because it's so hard to blend and get coverage. Using it in the inner corner doesn't work - it highlights dry patches you didn't know were there. Because it's so light on pigment, you only end up with a slightly paler lid than your normal skin color (I'm NC15), so it's just not really even worth it. Blending other colors over the top isn't great either, because the Gesso makes them hard to blend.

So now I have a MAC quad with three shades in it I like, and a base shade I don't, which is really annoying. I'm glad I only paid US$10 to get this from the American MAC online store and not the US$24 it would cost in Australia. On the downside, it's probably not worth sending back.

So it's back to the drawing board in the search for a basic, reliable white.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 2/2/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Gesso is a stark matte white. The formula is a bit dry, but I think that's necessary for proper application of such a white color. If this was overly pigmented we would all look like drag queens when applying it. This used to be my HG highlight until recently... Vanilla and I are having a love affair. Even though this may sound blasphemous to some makeup snobs... the best way to apply Gesso is to use a sponge tip applicator, like the ones you get in Covergirl trios. Overall I like it... don't loooooove it. Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 YoHarajuku on 8/18/2012 9:42:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Really dissapointed with this. Very chalky and found it hard to blend or look smooth, my lids look so patchy no matter what i do. Maybe I got bad eyeshadow or its old but I wouldn't buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 8/10/2012 1:03:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very dusty/chalky and not very pigmented. It's an okay basic matte white, but there are better whites out there. Works well to blend other colors out, but that's about it. Doesn't work well for inner corners (it clumps up), or for using in an eyeshadow look (doesn't show up much).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupLover321 on 7/15/2012 3:46:00 PM more reviews by MakeupLover321

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

There are many dupes for this eyeshadow however this is such a good neatral colour. It is a vivid white. I really love this colour and I will have to re-purchase this because I have hit pan on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kkate142 on 5/28/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Kkate142

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like MAC and their products.But this one was not my favorite.It is not shockingly pigmented like I thought it would be.Which is why it was disappointing.It works okay as a cheek highlight, but I prefer to use my matte white from Maybelliene over this, and I also dont like it because you cant use it for inner corner highlighting either.Dont waste your money.But on the bright side it looks cute with all of my other MAC eyeshadows, and I love the packaging, very sturdy and small.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liviiflutelouu on 5/23/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by liviiflutelouu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Gesso has been my go to highlight color for under my brow bone for the past few weeks..during the spring/summer time I don't enjoy wearing anything too sparkly on my eyes since it seems to draw attention to my already oily lids and face! I don't use this to highlight my nose or cheekbones since it is not super pigmented..it does give my under brow area a nice "lift" though without any shimmer or shine. Just matte. Very nice for this time of the year!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 plasticbambi on 5/20/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by plasticbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is as pigmented as I'd like but, you can layer it (you have layer it a lot) and it'll pop. I wish I could find a true matte white....oh well....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BlueLaTifa on 2/6/2012 9:44:00 AM more reviews by BlueLaTifa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not pigmented at all. The worst MAC eye shadow I've ever tried. I had to use water on my pencil before I used this eye shadow to even see the tiniest piece of colour. I will never buy this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products