LUSH Herbalism

3.4

335 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Meal, Kaolin, Glycerine, Chlorophyllin-Copper Complex, Aqua, urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Vinegar, Rosmannus Officinalis (Rosemary) Flower Extract, Oryza Satova (Rice) Bran, Gardenia Florida Extract, Rosa Damascena Flower Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Perfume


on 7/3/2015 6:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had heard tons of good reviews of this product and I thought I would give it a try. I have oily, acne prone skin and have been trying to find something to fix my hot mess of a face. I've been using it for about 3-4 weeks now and there have been no difference in my face. I still get zits/whiteheads here and there, if anything, it feels like it's just gotten worse.
The smell isn't that great, doesn't wash off make up and does nothing for my skin. My skin just feels super dry and it seems like my face creates even more oil to compensate for it.
I say get a sample, I made the mistake of buying it and it can be pretty pricey.



on 7/2/2015 10:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, I don't understand why this is labeled as a cleanser? This is definitely more of an exfoliant than a cleanser. Anyway, I've been using this every other day for a few weeks now and it does great thing for my skin!

Pros:
-really soaks up oil
-clears up small pimples and pumps
-evens skin tone
-makes skin feel fresh

Cons:
-kinda gross smell
-a bit messy


on 7/2/2015 7:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

It is oky but nothing amazing, it wount take your makeup off and will leave a huge mess in your sink, but i guess if you have sensitive skin this could be great for you as it isnt packed with chemicals, iw would buy it again if id need a face wash and woundt know what to buy


on 6/29/2015 2:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My skin seems to react really weird to new products so i got a sample rather than purchasing the product, however, the sample only lasted me for 3-4 days which was not enough time to judge the effectiveness of the cleanser.

I love the dewy and soft feeling you get after using this product! It was nice to use a cleanser that was created for oily skin types that didnt leave such a bare and dry feeling on your face. The scent didn't seem to bother me and it didnt make my skin any worse, but i did not notice a change either.


on 6/28/2015 6:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Deep Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This was one of the first Lush products. And it did not work for me. My skin felt smooth but my break outs were morphing into something horrific. My spots and zits increased in size and I experienced quite a few eczema patches on my face. DISCLAIMER: I don't think this is a bad product. However dangerous for those with certain skin types. I should have been more sensible and not started with such a strong product. In fact my first batch of Lush products included four items and only one/two has really stuck. However when I researched a bit better and found products suited to more sensitive/combination skin rather than acne prone skin my results were a 170% better! I really love the items from the second batch.


on 6/21/2015 3:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best cleansers I've ever used! It has helped quite a bit with getting rid of some of my acne. I have acne-prone (mild - moderate) skin which can get a bit oily in the t-zone. The cleanser claims to "mop up excess oil" and I truly think it does that! My skin is less oily, and has more of a matte glow. It has also gently cleared up my skin. It didn't get rid of all of my acne, but it helps to calm it down. After cleansing, it leaves your skin very soft, smooth, and balanced. It doesn't dry it out, which also makes it great for dry, acne-prone skin. Herbalism might smell and look a bit strange, but I honestly like the smell and concept of the cleanser. You just pinch of a small amount, add a bit of water, mush it all together in your hands, and wash away. Although, the cleanser does get a bit messy and it takes longer to wash your face with, than regular cleansers, because you have to ensure that all the little green specks are fully gone. So if you're looking for a gentle acne-cleanser which supports all skin types, go for Herbalism.


on 5/25/2015 2:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! I actually think this cleanser has helped clear up my skin. My skin is oily, acne prone (mild to moderate acne and have severe breakouts on occasion) and now has dry patches due to tretinoin cream. This cleanser does not irritate or dry out my skin. Instead it soothes it, allows my skin to retain moisture, and helped clear up my face. I actually enjoy washing my face with this awesome stuff! :))


on 5/17/2015 1:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This cleanser is the only thing that worked on my acne. I have sensitive skin prone to redness and scarring too, but it has cleared up my skin so much, I have received a lot of comments on how much better it is lately.

I never thought this would work as well as it did, I think I have tried pretty much every drug-store acne treatment and would spend ages reading reviews for products. Up until then I had been using St Ives Blemish Control apricot scrub and a tea tree wash from The Body Shop, which weren't really doing anything, good or bad. I am so glad I bought this. It exfoliates away dry, dead skin as well, which was a total bonus.

It doesn't smell great. It smells like salt and vinegar chips? But man do I love it anyway.


on 5/14/2015 11:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am still at my first tube now, been using this for 2 weeks. The smell does not really bother me, in fact i love the natural smells. My skin is oily, and has been trying almost all skin care to remove the exceed sebum and oil. This product cleans very well, the blackhead in my nose are reducing, the the skin looks clearer. Unfortunately have to buy it abroad since lush is not coming to my country.


on 4/30/2015 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've never written a review before, in fact I've been using MakeupAlley for a long time and just now decided to join. So I could write this review.

I've had problem skin since 6th grade, so it's been almost 8 years. In the past year, it got a lil better. About 4 months ago, it cleared up really nicely. i was using my clarisonic with the Cetaphil daily facial cleanser for normal/oily skin, and a neutrogena moisturizer I had around.

About a month ago, my skin took a nose dive. It might have been because i started spending more time at my parents, away from my clarisonic and cetaphil. But it was bad. Like cystic acne reappearing on my forehead, on my nose (had NEVER had much problem with my nose), on my chin...it was just bad everywhere. About a week ago, I got my clarisonic back and bought this cleanser from Lush.

I was sooo excited to try it. I quite liked the smell, i liked how it made my skin feel, initially, i thought it felt good to use. I did notice I had to remove ALL my makeup before using, since it didn't do a good job of cleaning that off. And after a few hours, my skin was kinda oily again... but the worst part was that it made my skin break out WAY worse than it already was!

I thought "maybe it's my skin readjusting to its old routine, it'll clear up in a week." NOPE. I stopped using Herbalism for a few days, it IMMEDIATELY started getting better. I tried it again, the next morning the blemishes that HAD been going away were red and big again. Along with more cystic pimples. I was NOT pleased.

Needless to say, I will be returning. And I would advise EVERYONE to GET A SAMPLE. And observe your skin carefully. I wish I had better results, I really wanted to like this product, since I do like Lush :/


Back to Top