LUSH • Herbalism • Cleansers

rated 3.4(306 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 bellavee on 7/23/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't a bad cleanser, it's just not a winner in my book. It's very gentle and cleanses well. I've had zero problems with it being messy and I know a lot of people complain about the price, but a little goes a long way. Literally use a pea sized amount and rub it all over your face and you're good to go. But as my skin is extremely oily and suffer from clogged pores, it just wasn't strong enough to make a big difference in my skin. Although, some people prefer something more gentle so I'd definitely try getting a sample from Lush to try it out. For me, I might try something like Dark Angels next time to combat my troublesome oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AcapellaDitty on 7/22/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by AcapellaDitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am a massive fan of Lush cleansers and i bought Herbalism on a whim while i was visiting the original store in London. Initial impressions were a little dim as i wasn't over fond of the smell and i found the cleanser-to-water ratio to be a bit tricky to master but it was totally worth it in the end. Even after the first use i noticed that it had reduced the redness of a spot i had developing and left my face feeling fresh and clean.

Not my favourite cleanser but definitely worth a re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pickmepinup on 7/7/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by pickmepinup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't necessarily dislike the product but it didn't work for me personally. I got two samples from an online Lush order and have been using it occasionally but never finding myself too fond of the results. It didn't break out or give me any big issues but it had no benefits for my skin which makes it pretty pointless really.

Like other people have been saying, I'm not big on the smell, which is an off-vinegar, and secondly it doesn't mix together as well as Angels on Bare Skin which makes a nice, milky paste. Herbalism makes more of a bulky, chalky, crumbly mess in your hand and although it does give a clean feel, the smell and texture alone are not a totally pleasant experience and I'd choose something else that feels more luxurious and nice for that price tag.

Angels on Bare Skin has a more pleasant smell and doesn't leave a film on your face like this one tends to do. Herbalism is just a bit too astringent and potent-feeling for my sensitive combination(normal and dry) skin and for the price it should do something amazing or give some sort of result. I'm not going to purchase the full-size and wouldn't really recommend it for people of my skin type, much less oily skin because of the film.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blairxbianca on 6/13/2014 4:35:00 PM more reviews by blairxbianca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

horrible stuff. It did leave my face smooth and not dry, but unfortunately left me with cystic acne. Thank god I only got a sample of this. Sometimes it's best to use cleansers with chemicals in it if you are prone to acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lucymorrison on 6/5/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by lucymorrison

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so impressed with this product. I have issues with hormonal acne on my chin and in the last year breakout on my forehead and I haven't been able to find a product that has worked. After 3 nights of using this I have noticed the biggest difference and my skin is finally beginning to clear up. Although it is not quite there yet, it is noticeably obviously that this cleanser is doing the trick. I also have no more redness which was a huge issue for me.
I'm in love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ehlisen on 5/6/2014 4:15:00 PM more reviews by ehlisen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have problems with clogged pores & oily skin and I hoped this product would help. Firstly, I hate the packaging. Maybe it's just me but I would usually brush my teeth, wet my face before proceeding to take a chunk of this cleanser. However, this would mean that the rest of the product in the pot would be damp :(. I also didn't like the smell of it but I guess this can't be helped since it is made of natural products. Thirdly, when I go over with a toner on a cotton pad, I could clearly see green residue on my cotton pad which makes me feel like my skin is made dirtier than before I cleansed it! It does help to reduce oiliness on my skin but the inconvenience of a solid cleanser just doesn't appeal to me. Also it is a hefty price to pay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princessho on 5/6/2014 12:03:00 AM more reviews by princessho

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

HG cleanser right here. I have extremely oily skin and terrible acne, and this baby is working wonders for me. I've had it for 3 weeks now and not only had it calmed my breakouts, it's healing them and old ones as well. You have to remove your makeup before you use this but it's totally, totally worth the price as the small tub lasts forever, I've had it three weeks and I'm not even 1/3 in. BUY THIS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 juliaday on 4/13/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by juliaday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have oily skin, with bad acne at the time I bought this (cleared up now, thank god.. Or my dermatologist). I loved the whole idea of Lush; the all natural ingredients, the packaging, the brand image, the way the shop smelled, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. I wanted to buy something. The girl in store recommended this for my oily skin, and I used it for a few months, or three tubs' worth.

I liked it well enough and was going to use up five tubs (bring back five empties and you get a free face mask) but I got fed up and stopped buying when I realised it was doing nothing for my skin. A couple of months later, I started going on Paula's Choice Beautypedia (Google it if you haven't looked at it before, it's an invaluable resource) and reading up on skincare a lot, and Paula does not have good things to say about this cleanser.. Apparently the ground up almonds in this can tear the skin, and the plant extracts and oils are skin irritants.

Anyway I can't say that my skin was obviously irritated by this, but it was so irritated already with the acne that that's not saying much. I gave it two lippies instead of one because it didn't actively make my skin worse. In fact, I liked using it in the beginning because it felt sort of alternative and natural, then the novelty wore off and I realised that it was messy and that I ended up looking like Shrek every night, and my sink was full of green gunk.. And as I said, my skin was never any less oily or blemished with this cleanser. After a lot more trial and error with other products, I found The Body Shop Aloe Gentle Facial Wash, which definitely did improve my skin, and I'd recommend that 100% more than this to anyone with oily and/or blemished skin, especially oily sensitive skin.

Wouldn't recommend and haven't repurchased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RixTrix on 3/15/2014 4:33:00 PM more reviews by RixTrix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I started using this cleanser about 3 days ago. I have my period and had some small breakouts which is normal for me and this cleared it up so much. I have fair skin that is combo and reddens easily. I feel this is balancing my skin and calming it. I love how it feels and it made my skin look better quickly. Definitely worth a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jayb123 on 3/12/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by jayb123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It really depends on the type of acne you have. If its like a few zits, im sure it will work, as anything would. If your face is crazy breakouts and prone to redness, dont bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products