La Roche Posay • Derm AHA • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.5(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 MartinCommaMaria on 4/18/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by MartinCommaMaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A little background about my skin: It is very oily and moderately sensitive, acne-prone throughout my early teens, but I stopped breaking out when I was about a Junior in high school and began hormonal acne only (1-5 pimples of varying sizes around the time of the month, not cystic pimples though!) I do have large pores due to my oily skin and acne blemishes/scars tend to linger on my skin after the pimple has dried out (I mostly get them on my chin and outer cheeks!).

Now, I bought this product about two summers ago. My skin was incredibly congested that summer due to walking around in the severe humidity, exposing my skin to the sun everyday for hours, partying, staying up late, consuming copious amounts of alcohol, and working at a restaurant! I noticed my skin breaking out more often and my pores getting larger, blackheads appearing, over-productivity of oil, etc. I had a fairly basic skincare routine before I bought this: One cleanser for day & night, and a moisturizing gel (Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel for day & night as well!), no toners or serums, not even an SPF moisturizer! I decided to give my skincare an upgrade and discovered glycolic acid products/peels, etc. I researched a bunch of AHA products and found this one to be one of the cheapest with great reviews on MUA and beauty blogs! So I went out to my nearest Shoppers Drugmart (they also sell them at Rexall) and splurged the $55 (inc. tax) so this product isn't cheap, but I trusted it to work its magic based on the reviews I read.

The packaging is really nice, it's a clear glass bottle, so I can see how much product is in there/have left. It has a little dropper tool on the cap for hygienic distribution, which is also fantastic :) The texture is super light-weight and absorbs quickly, it has a slippery/slimy feel when massaging onto the skin (I didn't mind it). I didn't really notice it make a difference on my skin until about Fall/Winter months rolled around, so it does take a couple of months (maybe 2-4) to notice a real difference, but I noticed that it helped normalize my severely oily skin. My oil production was more balanced, my pores shrunk slightly (not super dramatic, but noticeably smaller), my acne scars lightened much quicker (only lingered for about 4-10 days) and I definitely had less breakouts! I'm talking, like 1 teeny tiny pimple every couple of months (insane!!!) My makeup applied smoother, lasted longer and looked flawless all the time. I didn't even need foundation because this product made my skin look so uniform and smooth. Also, my skin wasn't as sensitive to new products anymore. I could only use gentle skincare and makeup before, but this somehow (I think) strengthened my skin and I was able to use MAC foundations without breaking out (which is miraculous for me.) The funny thing is, I didn't associate all of these wonderful changes to this product...I don't know why, probably because I was young and stupid. So when I ran out last summer (yes, the bottle lasted me like almost a year), I didn't bother to repurchase. However, I went about 5-6 months without this serum and I noticed such a huge difference in my skin! I am breaking out more, scars from months ago are still hanging around and my skin is super oily. I repurchased again 3 weeks ago, and already I can tell a difference in my skin!

Do I recommend this product? Yes! I will never go without this again! Ladies and gents, do yourselves a favour and get this product! The price is actually reasonable because it lasts a very long time and delivers wonderful results! It is cheaper than a lot of other serums on the high-street market like Visionnaire and Clarins Double Serum!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aidan83 on 1/2/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by aidan83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

TOO AWESOME - I have tried Neostrata 8% and 4% glycolic, Olay ngiht exlixir, Dermaglow 8% and 10% - this LRP apparently only has 3% glycolic acid but with other acids as well.
It just feels different.


Two bad things are - smell like chemicals; the bottle is hard to open.

oh it also absorbs so fast that i have to use 2 pumps. the Olay absorbs slowly thus you can use just a bit and spread over the whole face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kwill89 on 10/18/2013 5:48:00 AM more reviews by kwill89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I was torn between purchasing this La Roche Posay AHA serum or the AHA serum by Ren that is available at Sephora. I ended up purchasing this one because I have been quite satisfied with my first batch of purchases from LRP and I am glad I did buy this. I was having a terrible hormonal breakout along the sides of my mouth and my jawline since I discontinued a birth control pill I was taking, and my usually fairly good skin because unmanageable. I was recommended to use this AHA serum and follow up with the LRP Effaclar H moisturizer. I use these products as a nighttime serum and a nighttime moisturizer, and they have been incredibly effective. This serum comes in a dropper form which I like, because I can control the amount that comes out. Usually I need about 4 small drops to cover my entire face. My face tends to turn sort of red at first but the redness disappears and a tingly-slight burning sensation occurs but it also goes away quickly. This is a chemical peel in the form of a serum, so this may be a wee bit uncomfortable for people with super sensitive skin. I have sensitive skin but this doesn't bother me all that much, I just wouldn't use it on a daily basis is all - I use it about 3 nights a week. Also, this apparently will rid the skin of dark marks, which is what I have left where my hormonal breakout occurred, so now that the breakout is over I am using this to heal the marks, so I will update after a few weeks of use, but I am feeling very good about this product! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maryszhita on 8/9/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Maryszhita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this a month ago. First of all, I was skeptical. I have a very picky/intolerant/sensitive and did i said picky skin. So, i talked to the cosmeticians, one of them tried it and rave to death about it. I told her my alcohol products fear. She told me to tried it, but give it a month . First 3 days, my skin hate it (I guess) , i felt the burning, itching, and all the redness. I got scared, but I continued. A week later, my skin started to get smoother and no more redness. Now, its been a month of religious application, and my skin thanks me. If this product ever gets discontinue, i think my skin its going to hate me. Thank you LRP for giving my skin all its glory glow and giving me confidence :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlework on 2/4/2013 1:24:00 PM more reviews by littlework

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is awesome, it made my face feel soft and less rough in less then a week. I have had very bad acne for the past 8 years and this is the first time in a long time my face feels so fresh, clean and clear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyjunkie22 on 11/23/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Ok - I had tried AHAs a long time ago, but had a bad experience (different brand) and was afraid to try them again. But then I read the reviews here, so decided to risk it...and so glad I did. I LOVE this product - the results are outstanding. I definitely feel it when it goes on, but it's not uncomfortable and only lasts a minute. My skin was smoother from the first time I used it, more even-toned and glowing. It's so noticeable I've had strangers tell me I have beautiful skin...who doesn't love that?! This is now my go-to, can't live without it product. seriously. Highly highly recommend - and although it's not cheap, it's worth every penny.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Australianforbeerk2k3 on 11/5/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by Australianforbeerk2k3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful product. I went to my local cosmetic boutique looking for a chemical exfoliator. I almost bought neostrata, which I've heard good things about, but this was a bit cheaper and had better reviews online. I have had wonderful results. I use it nightly, and after about two weeks I noticed my skin became much smoother. I need much less makeup, my skin is softer and more even, and I no longer have dry patches. My pores look a bit smaller, and some of my fine lines have softened.
I don't find this stings at all, and a little bit goes a long way. I highly recommend trying this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ctlee420 on 7/12/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by ctlee420

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

WOW! This stuff is truly amazing! It really does resurface your skin. My skin is so much smoother and more uniform. I don't even need to wear foundation anymore, love it! The only downside is the price, it's not cheap.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandooza on 6/16/2012 7:46:00 AM more reviews by sandooza

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe how little love this product has gotten on here. Perhaps because its fairly expensive? I received a small bottle of this in a gift pack and am really happy I did. Old acne scars are fading, my pores shrink and my face looks brand new everytime I use it. Honestly its a beautiful thing, I was not expecting such noticable results. I find I prefer it over effaclar K, which I'm debating whether its even worth buying again after this little miracle product. My skin is dark as well, and this doesn't seem to be having the dreaded 'bleaching' effect. I'm happy about everything besides the pprice tag, but its well worth it. I no longer find it necessary to constantly wear coverup, and I can attribute that specifically to this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 monty713 on 5/2/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by monty713

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this every 3 days. Much better than having to exfoliate with messy products, no need to rinse off. My sensitive, rough, dry skin is now much more smooth. LRP is one of my go-to lines for many years now. Started using them in my early 30s and now at 44, people tell me I look like I'm in my early 30s!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products