John Masters Lavender & Avocado Intensive Conditioner

4.0

31 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (water), aloe barbadensis (aloe vera leaf juice) gel,* cetearyl alcohol, panthenol (vitamin B5), sorbitol, persea americana (avocado) oil,* soy protein, simmondsia chinensis (joboba) seed oil,* arnica montana (arnica) extract,* camellia sinensis (white tea) extract,* anthemis nobilis (chamomile) flower extract,* calendula officinalis (calendula) extract,* hydrolyzed wheat protein, citric acid, orbygnia speciosa (babassu) oil,* behentrimonium chloride, capric caprylic triglycerides, soy lecithin, tocopherols, apis meliferra (honey),* lonicera japonica (honeysuckle) leaf extract, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil,* cedrus atlantica (cedarwood) oil,* cymbopogon martinii (palmarosa) oil* * NOP Certified Organic


on 2/5/2014 11:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I very much wanted to like this conditioner because it’s readily available from Whole Foods and less expensive than salon haircare deep conditioners. However, it’s one of the least moisturizing masks I’ve tried, and I’m not at all impressed. I’ve been using it for about half a year and look forward to finally using it all up. The best deep conditioner I’ve used is Living Proof Restore Mask. If you’re deadest on something natural or organic, I recommend simply looking up a DIY recipe specific to your hair type. Avocado, egg white, coconut oil, etc. can all make great homemade hair masks.



on 12/31/2013 3:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have medium textured curly hair and have the usual curly haired issues - frizz and dryness. I was expecting this conditioner to be intensive because of the name. For me it's not intensive at all, it's more like a regular conditioner. I like the smell of lavender and like the concept of the John Masters line. My favourite part of this product is the tube packaging - it's very flexible so you can get every last bit out. Overall I won't buy this product again because it doesn't do anything special. It does what a conditioner should do, makes my hair soft and less dry but I have other conditioners that do that too. I have tried leaving it on for 30 minutes and then rinsing out and I don't notice any difference compared to when I rinse it out after 3-5 minutes. I like that it is easy to rinse out, but I would rather spend $32 on something else so I won't be buying this one again.


on 10/27/2013 3:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't understand the high rating for this conditioner. I don't like it for the following reasons:

1. It's expensive--$22 for 7 oz, and I have to use quite a bit if I expect to be able to get a comb through my hair.
2. It doesn't smell good. I find the smell sort of medicinal, which sometimes I find with lavender.
3. The texture is sort of strange. It doesn't have that slippery feel that almost every conditioner I've ever used has.
4. It doesn't detangle well, even if I leave it on for the full 5 minutes.

It doesn't weigh my hair down, which is why I didn't give it 1 star, but my hair is so dry and frizzy after I use it that I am always so disappointed. I am looking forward to using it up.


on 8/16/2013 7:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have long straight, medium thick hair. My scalp gets a little bit greasy.
I use the conditioner as a mask once a month and I also use honey & hibiscus hair reconstructor once a month.
I find the avocado less moisturizing then the honey & hibiscus hair.
It makes my hair soft for 2 days. Nice smell and nice ingredients. If you have dry hair this would be perfect to use as a moistursing booster. If you have super dry hair would recommend the honey & hibiscus.
I have and will still repurchase them both.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2013 6:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a wonderful organic conditioner. It detangles like no other, without weighing down my fine hair (with a greasy tendency). I only need a tiny amount, so I feel it is worth the $30, given how much better my hair looks.

Ingredients:
Aqua (water), aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice*, cetyl alcohol, panthenol (vitamin B5), persea gratissima (avocado) oil*, sorbitol, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil*, behentrimonium chloride, lecithin, tocopherol, citric acid, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil*, hydrolyzed soy protein, caprylic/capric triglycerides, mel (honey)*, orbignya oleifera (babassu) seed oil*, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, wheat amino acid, juniperus mexicana (cedarwood) oil*, lonicera japonica (honeysuckle) flower extract, cymbopogon martini (palmarosa) oil*, glycerin, arnica montana (arnica) flower extract*, calendula officinalis (calendula) flower extract*, camellia sinensis (white tea) extract*, chamomilla recutita (chamomile) flower extract*, geraniol, linalool

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2012 8:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Now this is a super heavy-duty conditioner! That said, it really doesn't weigh my hair down (which is fine, but there's a lot of it). I use it maybe once a month as a treatment rather than as a usual product. For long hair, I only really need about a pea-sized amount which I spread between my hands first and then lightly smooth through, concentrating on the ends. It's particularly good in the winter time when my hair can get very static-y. I love the smell of this one too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2012 10:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Smells great, left hair really smooth and frizz free (even after airdrying).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2012 5:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For me, the results of this conditioner are atypical of organic and natural haircare products. I get super shiny and smooth hair that has a bit of bounce two days later, even though I have very fine and limp hair. Smells good, but I do have to use two dollops to really untangle and conditioner the length of my hair. I alternate between this and the detangler. I'm a really big fan of John Masters products -- although mostly natural products don't work on my very sensitive skin, I'm really impressed with how this line leaves my hair in healthy condition that seems only to improve. The results are cumulative, and definitely worth the slight expense over "organic" brands like Giovanni or similar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2011 9:15:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this as a pre-blowdry product - just rub a bit in hands and into ends of hair. My hair is dry, coarse and curly and this left it manageable and shiny.

I haven't tried it as a washout conditioner tho.

I will def. buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2011 8:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm writing this review after finishing one bottle of this conditioner. And i have to admit that so far it's the best natural conditioner i've had. Now i'm using Alaffia Organic Coconut and Shea Butter, but i can feel the difference - it doesn't make my wavy unruly hair that soft and that silky as John Master's one. I'm almost sure that i'll make it my everyday conditioner, while using Alaffia once a week or so! Recommend to those with dry and unruly hair!
UPDATE: Best conditioner so far! (tried 2 more natural and organic ones..)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top