Maybelline • Dream Bouncy Blush in Rose Petal • Blush

rated 2.9(33 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 FeminineWoman on 12/14/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by FeminineWoman

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Wanted a very fair, pale, pink blush for the natural look. Those days when a woman will still meticulously apply makeup, but wanting to pull off the "I basically look like this when I wake up". lol It takes hard work to achieve the natural look! :)

I love the look of Dream Bouncy Blush in bright, and/or dark colors, and applying it is quick and easy because of its low pigmentation. No need to be extra careful applying with a light touch because of a concern I will venture into Baby Jane territory.

When it comes to wearing a sheer, very pale pink to achieve the natural look, had to apply Rose Petal with a heavy hand and reapply at least several times to see a light, sheer pop of color.

Paid $7.99 for the blush, so can't complain. This is still one of my fav line of ds blushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aenflex on 11/24/2014 9:12:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the strangest product!

PROS:
Shade selection
Once the product is on, I really, really like the color on my cheeks. ( rose petal )
It's not as dry or drying as a typical powder, yet once it's applied, it does turn powdery versus remaining creamy on the skin. That's a great feature for me.

CONS:
Damn near impossible to apply. Seriously, no exaggeration. This stuff is damn near impossible to apply no matter the method, and for me a brush is out of the question. I'm not gunking up any of my brushes with this stuff. Getting it onto fingers isn't easy, blending it on the cheek not much easier. It's almost like finger paint that has started to dry out.
Not very pigmented. Some may desire more pop.
Doesn't have decent staying power.
Because it's so difficult to blend, it can very easily move or strip off your base.
It WILL settle into pores and other indentations when over-applied with fingers or applied to dry skin.

WTF were they thinking with the consistency of this? I was hoping for a creamy powder blush and this is more like a science experiment. I just don't understand. I will use this up. Will not repurchase.
I gave it a rating of 3 overall because they have this product *almost* right.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 8/9/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had read reviews of this blush before I purchased it and thought I recalled that they weren't favorable, but I hoped for the best. This is as bad as people say it is. First, although applying straight from the container appears to be the best way to apply, it is awkward. Second. I have very pale skin and it looks terrible on me so I can't imagine what skin tone this would flatter. It seems to work effectively as a pore magnifier, if that's what you're looking for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AquaMist on 8/8/2014 9:09:00 PM more reviews by AquaMist

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love the feel of this blush! Super easy for touch ups because I can apply it with my fingers. It applies creamy but blends really easily into your skin! Looks really natural, great for summertime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TropicEssence on 8/7/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by TropicEssence

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this blush in Pink Plum #40 . Texture is kind of a thick cream , and I just take a regular blush brush and stipple into my cheeks. It melts into the skin and doesn't feel or look heavy the way a powder can. I don't like the way it sticks to the brush, and it has sparkles. They are subtle, but I like a matte blush. This wasn't the right color for my skin tone, although it would be perfect for a cool skin tone. I will not repurchase because the hassle to apply and the color doesn't match. I'd rather use my MAC Powder Blush in Blush Baby, but this is not a terrible product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/3/2014 11:44:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Color is nice but I hate the texture of these blushes they make it very hard to apply nicely on the skin. I think this is an ok option for the drugstore but there is other options that apply much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sammy311 on 8/3/2014 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Sammy311

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't think I would like this stuff but I love it. I use it over foundation since my skin looks awful without coverage! Also, I use an el cheapo ELF small stipple brush and it doesn't cake at all...I just stipple it on carefully and it gives the healthiest glow. My skin is light and I was afraid this color would be TOO light but it's perfect. This is my first experience with a non-powder blush so I'm very surprised it worked out. I'm not sure I will try other colors since I can add powder blush over the top if I need more blush for going out on the town. PLEASE NOTE: This blush may work better on less oily complexions, since I've read it wears off on women with oilier skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emilyaye on 3/22/2014 12:40:00 PM more reviews by emilyaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush when they came out and was so excited. The packaging is so cute and so is the color. When I saw the price I wasn't shocked but I did not really want to pay around $10 for a drugstore blush. I got rose petal because of some youtubers that had raved about it. When I tried it out I realized it was quite cakey and challenging to blend onto my cheek using a brush. I watched a few more youtube videos and realized other girls were having the same issue. So I found out you can easily apply it by just swiping the actual container across your cheek. The color looked great. I just recently purchased pink frosting and candy coral. I do not think I would repurchase rose petal due to how challenging it was to figure out but the packaging is definitely adorable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mollyandwhatnot on 11/3/2013 1:44:00 AM more reviews by mollyandwhatnot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have to admit, I bought this because it looked cool and I'm secretly 5 years old and buy products based on their name... Hah anyways, I have really dry skin, so when I applied this for the first time (swirled my blush brush in it), I was pleased that it went on really smooth and blended well on top of my liquid foundation. I've gotten a lot of compliments lately on my skin, and I think it's just this blush (because my actual skin is NOTHING to write home about, seriously). This shade looks best on my I-live-in-Florida-but-I-don't-know-what-sunshine-is skin tone. The coral one made me look a little muddy. I'd buy this again and again though. Love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Daddysgirl1 on 10/26/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by Daddysgirl1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Unless you are very young and have great skin do not buy this stuff....lt cakes, get in the lines and pores and tends to be dry. Also it gets blotchy after about an hour after application and has to be smoothed out and reapplied. Sorry Maybelline but this isn't a equal opportunity beauty blush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Blush products