Frederic Malle Angeliques sous la Pluie

3.6

52 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/1/2013 12:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A very crisp, very dry, and somewhat bitter green fragrance, that is largely unisex. A bit of anise, a bit of coumarin and a dusting of bergamot keep it from smelling overly culinary. Lasting power is quite good. Very refreshing on a hot day, and something to wear when you absolutely do not want anything sweet.



on 3/26/2013 7:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

This is my olfactive rendition of the colour green: sage green, to be exact. In this fragrance, nose Jean Claude Ellena managed to build the image of Angelica stems made wet by a warm morning rain. There's an interesting frame of spices built around the flower: pink pepper and coriander, plus the interesting and slightly sharp addition of juniper berries, which gives the impression of a spring garden.
The overall effect is wet, wet, wet, and it verges on the masculine side a bit, but in an innocent, unoffensive way. The musky base is very solid and tames all the spices down.
I think that the best interpretation of angelica so far is Annick Goutal's Vanille Exquise, where it plays such a spectacular, fundamental supporting actor to Vanilla to the point that it steals the scene at times.
This one comes close second.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2012 12:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Tricky / trickster herbal green. For me, this one needs heavy application and a lot of time to sort out. Otherwise, I dismiss it as "musty," which is a mistake. If I'm patient with Angelique, the reward is very good.


Starts with a blast of juniper. Gin and tonic. Interesting, but I don't like smelling as if I've sloshed my drink all over myself.


Then for the next half hour, it seems, Angelique goes through a roll call of notes. Yes, I get the angelica and the coriander. I also get something salty, something mineral/tangy, maybe something like rain in the city (very different from rain in the woods, or rain in the desert).


Finally it settles down into something pretty and soft. Pretty without florals. Soft without vanilla. Angelica dominates. Herbal. Maybe a faint bit of pepper in the background. The scent is more cool than warm.


It's not quite like anything else I have. Green, but no moss, no hemlock, no grass. Contemplative, but no incense, and the woods are silent background players. I like that it doesn't go for the obvious.


Still, I liked Angelique Encens better, and if I could own only one Frederic Malle, this wouldn't be my first choice. It's something I'd wear when I'm working at home all day, and I need all of its different phases as little sniff breaks to keep me alert.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2011 8:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It's very clean but somehow opaque and pretty warm on me. Like, it's not angelica flowers after the rain but violets three hot days after the rain. If I wanted a fragrance along these lines, I would opt for Penghalion's Artemisia.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2011 12:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Angeliques sous la Pluie is so fresh and so young. The first whiff is the scent trail of a young girl in the garden. In the opening, there is a fresh mix of juniper berries, green flowers, and something incredibly dewy and light - hedione, a chemical Chandler Burr calls the smell of pure light. The drydown is perfectly clean, a musk that stays shower-fresh without getting soapy or stale.
After a while, Angeliques sous la Pluie is almost distractingly sweet and tender. A little bit of woods thrown in keeps it elegant, so it doesn't cross the line over to children's perfumes. However, to me, it is such a fleeting scent and so fresh and gentle that it feels wrong for me to wear it. This isn't me! I am not an aristocratic young girl playing in her garden! Angeliques is a fantasy perfume, and like a fantasy, it disappears too quickly.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2011 4:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Peppery floral very like a cross between Blanc and Apres Les Ondee. Light, sheer springy floral. The only good word is ethereal. Not sweet, over-flowery or sugary in any way. A dreamlike garden scent. Might not seek because I have and love Blanc and Apres Les Ondee already, but is still lovely


on 9/19/2010 11:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This fragrance is so exquisite, just like its name: "Angelica Flowers After the Rain".
With notes of angelica, juniper berries, coriander, musk and cedar, its as if you put your head on the shoulder of a beautifully scented woman holding a perfect gin and tonic. It has a shadow of violet, seen also in Apres L'ondee and from the gorgeous indie perfumer Soivohle's Violets and Rainwater. It captures the idea of new beginnings after the rain, but with this perfume there is a touch of naughtiness, a reference to the past one might be trying to forget!
I would give this five stars except that it disappears almost immediately. Otherwise, I would put it on and never take it off!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

starts out as a pleasant citrus (a lot like cologne bigardee) but then very quickly in a matter of minutes it goes all mosquito repellant. As it dries down it gets some cedar (not a note that I can wear well) and soapy. Its okay not a scrubber so I will use up my sample but not full bottle worthy for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2009 5:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Why does this smell so much better in the bottle than on my skin? In the bottle is a soft powdery and so lovely, like cashmere or something. On my skin its citrus bugspray, yuck and then it turns to pepper... Just not my sorta scent.
would love to try others by him.. I can see this being more of a mans scent then womans.

As time went by I learned to love this scent. Still cannot tell you why, but this is a pretty fragrance for any woman.. Give it a try or two..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2008 6:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Cool and lovely, like a fleeting visit from an angel. Jean-Claude Ellena again!


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews


Back to Top