Sally Hansen • Diamond Flash Fast Dry Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 KelsySJ on 3/30/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by KelsySJ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't use the word "miracle" often, so trust me when I say this is a miracle product. Goes on smooth with a great, soft brush and LASTS. It takes a lot to chip this top coat, e.g. at least a week plus some manual labour. Dries quickly, high gloss, and stays in great shape. If you're like me and you've been disappointed with top coats in the past, I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vic21 on 2/12/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by vic21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this! Gives a brilliant shine, I've been asked on several occasions whilst wearing this if I had gels on. Would prefer a thicker brush though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cavo on 2/10/2014 1:07:00 PM more reviews by cavo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good topcoat. Lots of shine, fast drying, inexpensive, so far does not induce chipping, and thin, easy application. What else do I want in a topcoat? Perfect! Will repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dragongirl26 on 2/2/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by dragongirl26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this bottle for quite awhile along with several other topcoats...yet this is the one I tend to reach for. I like it because it does a pretty good job of keeping my nail polish on longer, has great shine, and dries super fast. I don't have too many problems with bubbling, although it does happen from time to time. The scent is not off-putting, and tends to go away quickly once the topcoat dries. The formula is a little thin,though, which may be how it works to be so fast drying, but I think it could be better at protecting against chips if the formula were a bit thicker. I don't particularly like the packaging because it's hard to tell how much remains in the bottle, even if I hold it up to the light. Even for as long as I've had this, though, it hasn't thickened up in the bottle or become unusable. I can't remember how much I paid for this, but I think it sells for around $5.99 or so at CVS. If not, close enough. I would probably repurchase this when the bottle runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eriu on 10/20/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Eriu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I stopped doing my weak, peeling nails a long time ago. Nothing I had ever used before (including the "treatments" Nailtiques and NailTek) and they never hardened my nails, peeled off, and caused even worse peeling of my nails. I hate the look and expense of acrylics and the one gel manicure I had was great, long lasting, and when removed, caused more peeling than normal. So I decided to try just painting my own but not expecting to last more than 2 days. Since I'm lazy about it, I wanted a fast drying topcoat so I could paint them before bed. In combination with the Diamond Strength hardener as a base coat and 2 coats of polish I can now report after a week that this product absolutely lives up to its name! I use my hands all day and since it's retail, I constantly tap the tips of my nails I'm the cash drawer tray. Other than at the very tips, this polish has not chipped, bubbled, and my nails feel harder (not like rock hard, but a definite improvement). As to fast drying.....boy, I'll say! Painted right before bed and woke up with a still perfect finish. These products make me a beliver in home manicures. Now I think I will actually a permanent part of my beauty routine!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crashedandburn on 10/2/2013 9:48:00 AM more reviews by crashedandburn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this instead of my usual seche vite/opi radpidry, because the name 'diamond flash' totally stole the show for me. I like my seche vite enough I suppose, long lasting and good chip resistant qualities, but my nails always looked dull and dirty after 3ish days. I wanted a top coat that dries fast, and remained shiny so I decided to give this a try.

PROS:
- Diamond, it is. My nails remained quite shiny, until I decided to take this off. The finish does an excellent job at making my nail colour look so much better and fresher
- Dries fast! Faster than my seche vite and opi rapidry too, so convenient.

CONS:
- Is not long lasting, AT ALL. I'm not exactly very graceful, and my nail colour tends to chip pretty fast (around the 3rd-4th day) but with this top coat, I'm guaranteed a big old chip by the 2nd day (or even the 1st, depending on my activities). I even tried putting on 2 layers of this (why not, since it dries so fast) for a more resistant top coat, but no difference, still chipped.
- Glamorous looking packaging, but the solid black bottle makes it really hard to see the amount left.

If I could give it a 2.5 rating, I would. Price is not bad, it's around the price range I am willing to pay for a top coat. I suppose this top coat is good enough for me to want to use it til it's finished, but I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mimilouise on 6/24/2013 5:00:00 AM more reviews by mimilouise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Felt sufficiently dissatisfied with this to sign up here and have a rant.

Have used it three times and it's getting worse with each application. Starting out with an application it's ok, but by the time you get to your second hand it's bubbling and making weird streaks - it seems to actually make dry polish gooey again instead of drying it.

Also appears to react worse with some nail-polishes than others...my Sally Hansen metallics polish works fine with it but it pretty much destroys my revlon one unless you can do it in one single swipe, which I can't.

I'm going to give it to a friend and see if i'm just applying it poorly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 humbledaisy on 6/20/2013 1:54:00 PM more reviews by humbledaisy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I try really hard not to buy cosmetic things unless it's replacing something I ran out of, but after being frustrated by how long my mani- and pedicures were taking me, I figured I had a problem, the problem being that my top coat was too old and gummy. So I came here first and looked at what I could get down the street at one of the drug stores. I picked this up, and I am so glad. It really does dry quickly compared to my old product. I have used it four times now and have not noticed any chipping, just regular wear around the ends. It is a relief to not wait around for hours for my nails to dry. I just wish I'd thrown out the old stuff sooner. As for packaging, of course, it's in a nail polish bottle, but it's a black one, which makes it easier to find amongst the others on the shelves!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jumbojuice on 6/3/2013 10:02:00 PM more reviews by jumbojuice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have never tried any quick dry top coats so this is my first and I really like it. It goes on nicely, dries quickly and no bubbles. The brush is too narrow though (and I have narrow fingers). It also doesn't really smell. I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 polishthisannie on 3/31/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by polishthisannie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This didn't work for me at all. I just kept getting bubbles to each and every one of the manicures that I did and used this on top. Won't be buying this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Top/Base Coats products