Acure Organics • Moroccan Argan Oil + Argan Stem Cell Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.9(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jpaulhynes on 3/23/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by jpaulhynes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Acure Shampoo Moroccan Argan Stem Cell + Argan Oil. this is a vegan product, containing no animal ingredients and not tested on animals. It is a clear shampoo, light in consistency, with a natural sccent of almond extract. I prefer non-scented products, but I must say the almond scent is nice and does not linger. This shampoo cleanses my medium-length curly and frizzy hair well, however I take one lippie off due to the fact that it does still leave it tangled. I recommend this shampoo because I think it is gentle, but it is not detangling. Due to that, even though I would repurchase, I think I'm going to stop using it and replace it with Conditioner Only washing, most probably with the Acure Conditioner Morrocan Argan Stem Cell + Argan Oil. This is probably my favorite shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 boodapest on 1/9/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by boodapest

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Smells great, tho as others mentioned it doesn't last. Rinses easily and leaves my hair soft n shiny, and just the right amount of body. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tashi09 on 8/2/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by Tashi09

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought the scent would be a deal breaker, but I find that it doesn't linger at all. By the time it's mixed with water it's okay with me -- and almond is really not my favorite. The Acure literature says that many natural and organic brands are not pH balanced -- you know, that thing that happened with most shampoos back in the 70's. That rang a bell with me; I had just tried something called Griffin Remedy. It smelled delicious but turned my hair to straw. The Acure stuff is fantastic for smoothing out frizz. My hair has improved a lot since I started using it. My only complaint would be that it can be a little too moisturizing, meaning that I need to shampoo more frequently. (I also tried the lemongrass version, but found the smell to be a bit much. And I thought it lingered for far too long. A matter of personal preference, I guess.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pawnshop_rose on 4/6/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by pawnshop_rose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this shampoo. My hair is fine/damaged and I have oily scalp. I also have some stress/illness related thinning. So, my hair is a huge mess at the moment. I can't do shampoos with SLS and most other "natural" SLS free shampoos don't clean well enough or they are stripping. On the days I use this I can actually skip the conditioner. It produces a nice lather and the almond smell is devine. I have also noticed when I use this I have less hair the in drain. I can't say it's helping with hair loss or not but I am not complaining either way. I can't wait to try other hair products from Acure.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dakeeks on 2/15/2013 6:42:00 PM more reviews by dakeeks

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've never written a review about shampoo. I have never tried a shampoo that actually made a remarkable difference in my hair - until I tried this one. My hair was pretty dry and damaged because I've gotten 3 perms in the last 10 months. It was feeling like wheat. This shampoo and the matching conditioner really made a difference in my hair. The smell is wonderful - like almonds. It brought moisture back and made my curls come alive and my hair is healthy again. I didn't know a shampoo could make so much difference!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 11/15/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

For a natural-based shampoo, this is pretty average. It does not strip my hair of oils, but also does not leave it feeling very clean. Has a cherry almond scent that could be cloying to some.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maliaxoxo on 11/11/2012 5:31:00 PM more reviews by maliaxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this because of all the great reviews but my hair hated this shampoo. I made sure to wash it out thoroughly but there was some nasty film left over & my hair felt really dry under all that heavy coating. Some people like the scent, but I find it a bit nauseating. Overall, I regret spending $20 on this set.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fuchsiaheart on 10/26/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by fuchsiaheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought both the Lemongrass and Moroccan Oil shampoos to try. I don't like the Moroccan Oil shampoo for three reasons.
1) It is HEAVILY scented. I am sensitive to fragrances and I like my organic products to have very light, natural scents from essential oils, but this is as scented as a conventional shampoo like Herbal Essences. It's not a nice, light cherry almond scent. It's a rather overpowering cherry Tootsie Roll Pop-like scent.
2) I don't know if I am allergic to something in this shampoo, but about an hour after getting out of the shower, my scalp starts to itch, and I can also feel a buildup on my scalp. The itching continues until I shampoo with a different product a couple days after.
3) My hair gets greasy faster (1st or 2nd day after shampooing) when using this compared to other shampoos (3rd day after shampooing).

I DO, however, love the ACURE Lemongrass shampoo and have already bought a second bottle for when my first one runs out. I have none of the issues with the Lemongrass that I do with the Moroccan. The scent is much lighter (just a subtle, refreshing citrus), I don't experience any itching or buildup and my hair is left shiny, bouncy and smooth for days. I highly recommend trying the Lemongrass, but I won't be repurchasing the Moroccan Oil shampoo.
Edit: Just found out that there is Cassia Bark Oil in this, which, according to Aura Cacia's website, is "highly irritating and should not come in contact with the skin." That explains my problem!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saraevamaya on 9/20/2012 2:52:00 PM more reviews by saraevamaya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As I mentioned in the review I wrote for the conditioner, they pair very well together. I don't shampoo very often (curly girls aren't supposed to) and I don't need much product for it to be effective, so this stuff lasts a looong time (and is therefor an amazing deal! It's gentle on my scalp yet definitely cleansing. I think this would also be good for others with sensitive scalps even if your hair isn't super dry, certainly as a non-stripping daily shampoo. It's great for my color treatment too.

Said this in the conditioner review too - don't buy this if you hate the smell of almonds. For me, it smells yummy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jesmy02 on 9/17/2012 10:17:00 PM more reviews by jesmy02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this shampoo and conditioner. I am so glad I finally found a shampoo that has natural ingredients and that cleans very well! I think the price is great because my last shampoo was the macadamia which cost over 20 dollars!! and it made my hair feel like crap after.

I just used it on my daughters hair and with just one wash is shiny and soft again! will buy again and again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Acure Organics products

More Shampoo products