Essie Ole Caliente

4.2

13 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm slightly confused as to just how great the reviews on here are of this polish. I use three coats for all my polishes, however this one is nice and pigmented after just two. It's an absolutely gorgeous color, perfect for spring just as others have mentioned.

Now onto the cons. It doesn't look nearly as good on those with olive skin tones such as I have and I find that it shows blemishes on the nail very easily.



on 4/30/2013 4:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This polish is bright and fun. Perfect for summer. it's very opaque. you can get away with one coat but i do two. it reminds me of the orange on construction pylons. This with seche vite and it's good to go. very summer

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2012 6:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Opaque, bright yet muted reddish coral pink creme. Streaky on the first two coats, but with patience and a third coat it can work. Definitley looks better on tan and deeper skintones. On fair skin the color looks both a bit intense yet flat and drab. For fair skin I'd recommend Meet Me at Sunset. The color is a bit fresher and it is less streaky too :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2012 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This review comes with a caveat: I don't actually *dislike* the polish itself. Actually, I love the color. The formula is great, which I guess is normal for Essie; I can usually get away with wearing just one coat.

The problem, at least for me, is that Olé Caliente is waaayyy too close to pre-existing Essie shades to be worth the price for a bottle. I picked up a full-sized bottle of Tangerine for $5 from a salon that was discontinuing it, and imagine my surprise . . . Tangerine is almost exactly the same as Olé Caliente, which I'd splurged on the week before ($8 is a lot for me, OK?)! The only difference is that Olé Caliente has *slightly* more pronounced hot pink undertones when you view the bottles side by side. However, the difference is so minimal that it may as well not be a difference at all, and I think it can only be identified when the product is still in the bottle. Last week, I wore Tangerine on my fingers and Olé Caliente on my toes, and they looked completely identical. Meanwhile, Olé Caliente is marketed as a new shade. And it's a great color, but I just don't see that it's "new." (I also noticed in the store that Olé Caliente looked a lot like Geranium, but haven't tested Geranium, so I don't know for sure.)


That said . . . I kind of get the impression that part of the Essie brand's "deal" is that they specialize in making tons of shades that are only fractionally different from one another, thus pleasing the most obsessive-compulsive in our ranks who *must* own something painfully specifically perfect. So for some people, I'm sure this doesn't constitute a problem at all. I just want you to know that a 98%-identical color is available from the same brand, and that you may be able to find it at a lower price than the "new" one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2012 8:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got a mini version of Ole Caliente as part of Essie's Spring Collection. I wouldn't classify this as a "spring" colour but it is GORGEOUS for summer. Warm, not quite orange but not quite red. It goes on smoothly and covers well. One of the best Essie polishes I own.


on 5/6/2012 8:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

this is a great nailpolish! it is thick yet smooth, very easy to apply. the coverage is wonderful, i could almost get away with just one coat. fun color for summer.


on 5/1/2012 1:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this color!! I've never liked coral or orange nail polishes against my skintone but this color is the perfect combination of red and orange. I've found my new favorite summer color!


on 4/18/2012 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a cosmotologist so I get a discount on polish so its cheaper to buy essie than drugstore brands. That said I LOOVE this color. I love bright reds, pinks, oranges that are flat no sparkle. THis is a GREAT summer color. Im med tone skin, white but golden undertones, Looks soo good. wish I could find the exact same lip color. Its on my toes right now!


on 4/16/2012 9:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice colour, but I prefer OPI's Red Lights Ahead... Where?


on 4/12/2012 10:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Oh what a difference a tan makes! I didn't love this when I was pale (NC 15) but now that I am tan this is a great color. It is a very pretty kind of pinkish/reddish/coral fruit punch color? I like it a lot but its not my favorite. I love Essie's Geranium the most.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

49 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
Back to Top