Essie • Ole Caliente • Polishes

rated 4.2(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 withlovemelanie on 4/14/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by withlovemelanie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm slightly confused as to just how great the reviews on here are of this polish. I use three coats for all my polishes, however this one is nice and pigmented after just two. It's an absolutely gorgeous color, perfect for spring just as others have mentioned.

Now onto the cons. It doesn't look nearly as good on those with olive skin tones such as I have and I find that it shows blemishes on the nail very easily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chickiness on 4/30/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by chickiness

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This polish is bright and fun. Perfect for summer. it's very opaque. you can get away with one coat but i do two. it reminds me of the orange on construction pylons. This with seche vite and it's good to go. very summer

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 8/29/2012 6:29:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Opaque, bright yet muted reddish coral pink creme. Streaky on the first two coats, but with patience and a third coat it can work. Definitley looks better on tan and deeper skintones. On fair skin the color looks both a bit intense yet flat and drab. For fair skin I'd recommend Meet Me at Sunset. The color is a bit fresher and it is less streaky too :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mg1013 on 5/20/2012 6:13:00 PM more reviews by mg1013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This review comes with a caveat: I don't actually *dislike* the polish itself. Actually, I love the color. The formula is great, which I guess is normal for Essie; I can usually get away with wearing just one coat.


The problem, at least for me, is that Olé Caliente is waaayyy too close to pre-existing Essie shades to be worth the price for a bottle. I picked up a full-sized bottle of Tangerine for $5 from a salon that was discontinuing it, and imagine my surprise . . . Tangerine is almost exactly the same as Olé Caliente, which I'd splurged on the week before ($8 is a lot for me, OK?)! The only difference is that Olé Caliente has *slightly* more pronounced hot pink undertones when you view the bottles side by side. However, the difference is so minimal that it may as well not be a difference at all, and I think it can only be identified when the product is still in the bottle. Last week, I wore Tangerine on my fingers and Olé Caliente on my toes, and they looked completely identical. Meanwhile, Olé Caliente is marketed as a new shade. And it's a great color, but I just don't see that it's "new." (I also noticed in the store that Olé Caliente looked a lot like Geranium, but haven't tested Geranium, so I don't know for sure.)


That said . . . I kind of get the impression that part of the Essie brand's "deal" is that they specialize in making tons of shades that are only fractionally different from one another, thus pleasing the most obsessive-compulsive in our ranks who *must* own something painfully specifically perfect. So for some people, I'm sure this doesn't constitute a problem at all. I just want you to know that a 98%-identical color is available from the same brand, and that you may be able to find it at a lower price than the "new" one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siobhanerin on 5/6/2012 8:21:00 PM more reviews by siobhanerin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got a mini version of Ole Caliente as part of Essie's Spring Collection. I wouldn't classify this as a "spring" colour but it is GORGEOUS for summer. Warm, not quite orange but not quite red. It goes on smoothly and covers well. One of the best Essie polishes I own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gogoamy on 5/6/2012 8:38:00 AM more reviews by gogoamy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

this is a great nailpolish! it is thick yet smooth, very easy to apply. the coverage is wonderful, i could almost get away with just one coat. fun color for summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kfunk on 5/1/2012 1:40:00 PM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this color!! I've never liked coral or orange nail polishes against my skintone but this color is the perfect combination of red and orange. I've found my new favorite summer color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siobhanboston on 4/18/2012 11:20:00 PM more reviews by siobhanboston

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a cosmotologist so I get a discount on polish so its cheaper to buy essie than drugstore brands. That said I LOOVE this color. I love bright reds, pinks, oranges that are flat no sparkle. THis is a GREAT summer color. Im med tone skin, white but golden undertones, Looks soo good. wish I could find the exact same lip color. Its on my toes right now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherylf on 4/16/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by cherylf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice colour, but I prefer OPI's Red Lights Ahead... Where?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aladie on 4/12/2012 10:29:00 PM more reviews by aladie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oh what a difference a tan makes! I didn't love this when I was pale (NC 15) but now that I am tan this is a great color. It is a very pretty kind of pinkish/reddish/coral fruit punch color? I like it a lot but its not my favorite. I love Essie's Geranium the most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products