Butter London Knackered

3.8

14 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/27/2014 8:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I call this color my rainbow fish nail polish. Because that is 100% what it looks like.
It takes 2+ layers for it to stand alone as a foily, sparkly nail polish. It's kinda grey green and shines purple in light. As a translucent top coat, I've layered it over both grey and green/teal nail polishes: it looks super cool! It gives the base color more dimension. It's definitely the kind of color you stare at when you're wearing it! It's not as good of quality as OPI, but it's such a unique hue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Knackered is a very pretty pearlescent dark grey that shifts lavender with holographic microglitter - it reminds me a bit both of tahitian pearls and the aurora borealis. The polish however is very sheer and is best used on top of another color to get a dramatic effect, I've found that Deborah Lippmann's Wicked Game topped off with this really enhances the silver/purple shift both colors have. You can layer about 3 to 4 coats of Knackered to get a semi-opaque look as well, but I find it doesn't wear all that well and chips quicker this way. It applies easily and is waterier than other Butter London shade formulas. Overall, I feel it's a "nice to have" color in that it's very unique, but is a bit expensive for how it performs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My very first Butter London! Knackered is such a unique color, it's a borderline frosty shade of dusty turquoise with a bright purple shift, and on top of that, there's tiny holographic glitter scattered throughout! It includes three of my favorite things- turquoise, purple, and rainbows! Absolutely stunning! The one con I have is due to the somewhat frosty base, the glitter may appear as bumpy at some angles.

This is very sheer, I'm not a fan of it on its own. You could layer it over any color basically, black is best for the duochrome effect to stand out but if you want it to look close to the bottle color, try layering 2 coats of this over a creamy dusty turquoise such as Zoya Wednesday. I swear, these two polishes were made for each other haha! Excellent combination!

Butter London is expensive at $15 a bottle but look out for sales at Ulta. Sometimes Ulta has buy one get one free offers so stock up on Butter London then!

This polish to me was worth the price because of its uniqueness and its ability to transform any polish. Recommended!


on 3/25/2013 4:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Knackered is a color that I use very frequently, and one of my favorites. It's a dusty grey/blue/purple with holographic glitter specs distributed sparsely throughout the polish. It reminds me of the inside of an oyster shell. I think the best way to use this polish is over a base color. I've normally use knackered over several different grays, blues, purples, and even a teal, and it always turns out great.

My only issue with knackered is that because it's such a thin polish, used alone it takes about three coats.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2013 3:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Magic in a bottle.


Very pretty. I don't use this by itself, it's one of my "transforming" polishes, including Lippmann's "Diamonds and Pearls," and BL's "Hen Party." (There are others, these are the ones that come to mind.)


This is in that class of polish that is too sheer to wear simply by itself; it's meant to make an average polish great, or take an amazing color to the "I can't take my eyes off my fingertips" level.


This is actually more like 4.5 on my meter. Diamonds and Pearls and Hen Party are my top transforming glazes. If my manicure needs some umph, if I need sparkle, want something different, these are usually my first choices; but Knackered always delights me, and I ask myself why I don't use it more often.


My guess is simply because the color is less flexible .....


but it's beautiful, fun, and magic on the fingertips, especially when your modern nude, plum, dusty blue, or black polish needs to have a little life breathed into them.


Think top coat magic instead of polish. JMO

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2013 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Knackered is my first Butter London polish and it's a sheer lilac-turquoise duochrome packed with fine holographic sparkles. This isn't something I'd wear by itself since it's so sheer, but it's fun to layer over different polishes, like black, a dark purple, or definitely OPI's Jade is the New Black (as another reviewer kindly suggested). A darker base also serves to better bring out the duochrome effect. If you like playing around with polish, this would be a good choice. Overall, it seems unique and it is pretty/dreamy, but I was ultimately a little bit underwhelmed with the color on myself, so it isn't something I'd probably wear too often.


on 1/7/2013 7:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tested this out at Nordstrom today and though it looked lovely in the store lighting, as soon as I stepped outside it appeared dusty lavender (frosty in a bad 90s way). Something about indoor fluorescent lighting really brings out the duochrome in this and something about natural lighting seems to diminish it. Duochromes are so last year anyway, Butter should be releasing the truly holographic polishes that are all the rage right now.


on 12/17/2012 1:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A very sheer duochrome. It is absolutely beautiful. I know that it's a little sheer, but that's okay with me. there's also the option of layering it, which worked perfectly. I layered it over an army green polish, and it looked perfect.


on 11/12/2012 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sigh. When I saw this in the store, I was instantly drawn to it - it appeared light purple, with turquoise duochrome with loads of fine glitter. It was $14 at Ulta, which I thought was kind of expensive, so I passed it up. However, it haunted me so much, that I went back the next week to buy it. I was so excited to try it out it out, and then....it was completely sheer. And not a buildable sheer either. This is obviously meant to be a top coat, which had I known, I would not have purchased for the price. So I removed the polish, and painted my nails a dark blue-based purple, and then applied this on top. It made my nails significantly lighter, and the turquoise duochrome was much less apparent. Also, I wasn't very thrilled that the brush applicator was a bit on the thin/small side, unlike an OPI brush that is quite wide.

Overall, this is not an ugly color by any means. If I saw it on someone else, I'd probably compliment them on it, actually. I think I was just a bit underwhelmed since it wasn't what I was expecting. It did last a long time though, without chipping!


on 8/20/2012 5:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When you first see the color in the bottle, you are amazed. I do admit it doesn't look like it does exactly in the bottle but when you layer it, it looks pretty close! It goes on smoothly and stays on for so long! I have had it on for 3 weeks and is chip free (except for at the bottom where your nails grow) and I LOVE IT!




Top Rated Butter London Products

image

Yummy Mummy

57 reviews
Back to Top