Catrice Prime and Fine Smoothing Refiner

2.9

15 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, ISOSTEARYL ISOSTEARATE, TALC, CERA MICROCRISTALLINA (MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX), DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ISOPROPYL PALMITATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, LANOLIN, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, DIMETHICONOL, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, HYDRATED SILICA, DIMETHICONE/METHICONE COPOLYMER, MICA, PEG-8, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, TOCOPHEROL, SILICA, ASCORBYL PALMITATE, ASCORBIC ACID, CITRIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, CI 75470 (CARMINE), CI 77163 (BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE), CI 77491 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE).


on 8/29/2015 9:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got this primer as a free gift with a purchase and I'm so glad I didn't pay for it! It's a disappointing product for me. It makes the skin kinda smooth and it gives a soft luminosity but that's all. I personally didn't notice any drastic improvement to my pores or fine lines, just a light blur. It didn't help foundation to last longer...actually it made my foundation wearing off easier.

I'm using Clinique Stay-Matte foundation which works great even without a primer, so I found Catrice Prime and Fine smoothing refiner useless since it reduces my foundation's longevity.



on 8/29/2015 8:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

_____ OVERVIEW
Catrice "Prime and Fine Smoothing Refiner", contains 14g (0.49 oz) of product and comes in a screw top jar.
Claims: "Base for an instantly refined, smooth and soft skin appearance. Makes pores and lines invisible."


_____ CONSISTENCY, COLOR
The color is a very pale pink. When spread on the skin, it slightly brightens it, but doesn't look obviously pink. The color goes on very sheer.

This primer contains a lot of silicones, so it spreads easily on the skin. It has a heavy, greasy feeling when you put it on the skin. The finish itself isn't very oily, but it gives a slight sheen.


_____ CLAIM: smooth, refined skin. Invisible pores and lines
The one thing this primer is really good at, is that it definitely blurs out the skin and makes pores and lines less obvious. I wouldn't say that it makes them "invisible" though.
My skin does feel smooth after using this, but it also feels very heavy on the skin. You can feel the layer of primer sit on your skin, and personally, I don't like this feeling at all. When I used this underneath foundation, it gave my skin a more flawless look, and photographed *very* well. I don't think this made my foundation last any longer though.
This works quite well when used under the eye (to prevent concealer from creasing), but I wouldn't recommend it as an eyelid primer.


_____ FINAL OPINION: 2/5, wouldn't buy it again.

This is a very basic primer, and it does exactly what it says on the packaging.
It is *only* meant for blurring out the skin! Catrice doesn't mention anything about it making foundation last longer (and it doesn't), and it's not a good eyeshadow base either.
It works quite well under the eye, and gives a nice airbrushed finish when you apply foundation on top of it.

The ingredients aren't the best for your skin (silicones!) so I only use it under the eye, or on my whole face on special occasions.
Not only is the packaging not very sanitary, with 14g of product it's also very small jar compared to other primers. For what it is, I think this primer is heavily overpriced.


+ blurs out lines and especially pores very well
+ when you put foundation on top, it gives a smoother, airbrushed finish
+/- doesn't really make foundation last longer on skin
- the packaging is not very sanitary (screw top jar)
- heavy, greasy feeling
- expensive for what it is; you need a lot to cover the whole face and the packaging is very small compared to other primers


on 4/11/2015 11:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to use this as an eyeshadow base, because I couldn't find the actual product under their brand. It comes in a jar, which is a bit unsanitary, in my opinion. Application is smooth and it goes on translucent, but I have to admit that the pinkish hue it has is a little off-putting and suspicious. It makes a fairly decent base, but it is a little too oily for my liking, which took off lots of points.


on 4/1/2015 1:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

at first i did liked it cause it mde my skin feel so soft but after a week i broke out like crazy i had 6 new pimples and i searched their website and looked for the ingredients and they are so many pore clogging things in this product i do not recommed this product!


on 3/28/2014 1:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It does do it's work. It blurs out my pores and any lines. It's still visible though. After applying it, my face feels super smooth :-) It feels like spreading butter which is not oily. It does help my foundation to apply better. It doesn't really help my make up stay longer, but maybe it's just the mixture of products I have on? I do use setting powder. I have used l'oreal true match bb cream, garnier bb cream and revlon new complexion foundation with this. I feel that is decent considering the price of 10SGD or so. However, I feel that it's not very hygenic... Sure I sanitise my hands before application, however I find this pacakaging is a no from me. It's not a HG product for me but probably a cheap alternative! Hope this helped :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2014 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This product was a huge let down for me as I really wanted to like it.
As a primer, it probably does its job decently. It smoothed out my pores and it felt really nice on my skin, kind of silky.
However, it broke out my acne-prone skin madly. My skin haven't been this bad for years.
Would not recommend and definitely not repurchasing again.


on 8/23/2013 5:25:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Fantastic product, I hope it never gets discontinued. Excellent value for money.


on 4/16/2013 7:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

THEWORST THING i have EVER had on my face!!!
This will enhance durability of foundation and boost makeup colours, blur pores BUT It broke me out madly as it has 3 highly comedogenic ingredients among first 7 ingredients on the list.
I only used it twice & i wouldn't give it even to my worst enemy!


on 4/13/2013 6:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have bought this mainly because it was cheap (compared to L'oreal) so I gave it a try. I agree that it's pretty much pink silicone, which smooths out your skin. I haven't experienced any clogged pores, mainly because I make sure to clean my face properly every evening. It didn't break me out or anything, but I can't say it helps my face and make-up in any way. Actually it doesn't work with my make-up. I can imagine it would work under liquid foundation, but mixed with my Max Factor facefinity compact, it looks gross. My powder foundation doesn't hold on this primer. After a few hours it turns into a greasy mess that can't be fixed with another layer of the powder. It still looks cakey and greasy under the 2nd layer. And what I like about my MF facefinty is that it looks natural no matter how many layers I put on. I am disappointed by this product but it did no harm to me (no blemishes or irritation). I don't have experience with liquid foundation. So if you have less oily skin than me and like to experiment, I suggest you try it because it's still a lot cheaper than L'oreal which will give you pretty much the same result.


on 11/4/2012 5:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i really do like this primer alot i just wish u didnt have to keep dipping ur finger into the pot because im really a but picky when it comes to things being clean especially around my face as i am prone to spots. It comes at a great price and I have become a big fan of catrice products. I would give it a go its very soft and feels great on your skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top