Garnier • Nutrisse Nourishing Color Foam • Hair Color

rated 2.5(53 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 MakeMag on 7/28/2014 6:33:00 PM more reviews by MakeMag

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

BE AWARE OF *Dark Blonde 7*!!!

I really struggled with overal rating score for this product, but I eventually decided to give it 1, only, as although the product itself is fine-applies easily, smells ok, did not damage my hair, but it was just not the colour from the description neither the one from the picture on a packaging.

My hair was light blonde and I wanted it to be something between dark blonde and very light brown and this shade looked just perfect. Well, I ended up with very dark brown hair...It is nothing like dark blonde, it is nothing like darkest of the darkest blond. It is just very dark brown, almost black. The colour itself is not bad, quite nice and naturally looking and I actually quite like it so not a big disaster for me, but I can imagine, that most of people would be devastated. There really is something very wrong with this particular shade and there is hundreds complains all over the internet re this colour from Garnier and I think it is time they look into this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Selderon on 1/11/2014 10:08:00 PM more reviews by Selderon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Good gray coverage on main portion of hair
Same resulting color as the creme formula
Excellent conditioner, generous amounts

Cons:
Tends to run
Does not color maverick strays (particularly grays around the hairline)
Difficult to rinse out
Causes very stubborn tangles, increasing risk of mechanical damage

I've been coloring my hair at home to cover gray for about ten years. When Garnier came out with the Color Foam, my local store decided to replace the cream formula with the new foam formula. Unwilling to blindly switch to another brand or wait to do my research, I grabbed the Color Foam box in my color - 3-Darkest Brown.

Application
One of the selling points of this new formula was the "no stress, no mess application". While the foam mixed up easily and didn't splatter when colorant levels in the bottle were low (like the creme), it dripped when I wasn't careful to check all areas of my glove. I think the formula condensed on the glove when the bubbles burst and whatever was left behind returned to its liquid state. It was very difficult to apply the product with any precision, and stains seem to be unavoidable. They're larger and more frequent than with the creme formula.

Processing
I have had great results just coloring my regrowth every 4-5 weeks, so I applied the foam to regrowth only, contained the remaining dry hair with a ponytail holder, and went to sit (carefully) in the living room and watch some TV while my color processed. I had to get up several times to catch trickles of color trying to run off my scalp. In later experiences, I chose to smoosh the hair over the area where the trickle was starting and that stopped most of them.

Gray Coverage and Resultant Color
Around my hairline, I have some stubborn grays that stand away from the rest of the hair and won't lie down. I found these extremely difficult to color. Although I was careful to deposit foam on them, it didn't stay. After washing the color out, I found that the grays were just slightly tinted instead of fully covered like the grays in the rest of my hair. Grays in the main portion of my hair stay well covered for 4-6 weeks. The resulting color looks the same as the creme formula.

Rinsing Out the Color
Washing the color out was very difficult. We have low water pressure, which didn't help. The worst part was the texture. The foam makes my hair very grabby and tangly. It was impossible to get my fingers through the hair, much less a comb. It was like combing through velcro. The first time, it took so long for the water to run clear that I eventually settled for "mostly clear" and put a towel over my pillow to catch the transfer. My scalp was itchy and my hair bled dye for days.

After several tries with this product, I find that the best approach is to start with a very wide tooth comb and work the tangles out from the ends in order to rinse the color out. However, even using this method it's a long time before the water runs clear and I still have tangles. Furthermore, I'm concerned that all this detangling with wet hair increases the risk for mechanical damage.

The Conditioner
The conditioner leaves my hair glossy and soft, and comes in a large tube. I have very thick, hip-length hair, but one tube lasts four weeks with an initial all-over application and twice-weekly application to the length and ends after that.

Conclusion
I've given this formula a good try and I'm confident that the inconvenient application and less-than-stellar results are a consequence of a less-than-stellar formula, not user error. So although the color result is lovely, I will choose the creme formula or another brand for the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Candym on 12/23/2013 4:53:00 PM more reviews by Candym

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

What a drippy, runny mess! I usually use John Frieda Foaming hair color, but I decided to try something different to save a few dollars.
I chose the medium ultra intense red (5ur) Being that my hair is dark auburn and I figured the haircolor wouldn't lighten that much to match the box, I purchased this shade hoping for a redder auburn.

Previously when I used foam color, I'd apply it and clip my hair up and wait the 30 min before washing out with no worries about drippage, I assumed the same with this product. Au contraire!! It dripped all over the towel around my shoulders, down my face (I did have the foresight to use coconut oil on my face and neck to avoid staining).

In about 15 minutes into the wait I looked in the mirror, my hair was this weird orange color- I freaked and jumped into the shower to rinse the color out. The color kept rinsing out-it seemed like forever. I gave up and applied the conditioner provided. It did smell good, but I can tell it wasn't detangling. Rinsed out the conditioner, the color kept coming out.

I gave up and decided to just style it and call it good for the day. (before the hot water ran out in the shower) Omg, the texture was horrible! My ends felt so damaged and despite using every detangling product I had, I ended up cutting my ends off.

Today was hair wash day (I waited 3 days) More color came out throughout the washing and conditioning. I wrapped it in a towel, leaving color traces. ( it did wash out in the laundry).

The color is a brighter red as I was hoping for, but it seriously wasn't worth the damaged texture and the non-stop color stripping in the shower. I think in the future I'll spend the extra $5 and go back to John Frieda.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 byankitty on 12/13/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by byankitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, not cool when my hair starts falling into my hands as I shower! I have thick hair, and it's prone to fall out but wow this product made my hair fall out! It was messy. The foam was watery. If you're going for foam, pay more for John Frieda. Seriously. I wi t post about the color because it's still wet. I'm just not impressed at all with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 12/12/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've dyed my hair since high school (It's now a decade later). I've always stuck with Garnier and Clairol. Every time I've wandered my hair was fried from the dyes.

This is just like any other Garnier or Clairol hair dye. It works and it does a great job. Unlike the regular hair dyes, I find foam hair dyes tend to not stain the skin as much.

I bought this in the 3UR (deep ultra intense red) color and it turned out a lovely dark red. I couldn't ask for more and will add this to my list of choices when choosing a random dye in the future (I like to switch it up).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 helloxkittty on 12/5/2013 12:21:00 AM more reviews by helloxkittty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've used a few different box dyes and this was by far the worst. The application was standard and simple, like other foam dyes. I was going for what I hoped would be a very dark, almost black brown, but as I was putting it on my hair didn't look as dark as it should. I thought after I took a shower and dried it it would be darker but it wasn't. My boyfriend couldn't even tell a difference and I barely did. It also got all over everything after I washed and I was sure to rinse thoroughly until the water was clear. A few days after washes the color was almost completely faded and it defeated the purpose of dyeing in the first place. It did leave my hair smelling nice for a few days, but that is the only good thing I can say. It has been two months later and I'm wanting to color again (obviously with another product). Very disappointing, but I've never had much luck with Garnier Fructis. Waste of money and I would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 10/8/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Worst product ever... I wanted to change my color. So I went for black.. Now the color of the product isn't bad. The product itself is horrible. I followed the directions to a T. After I was done I looked like I worked in a coal mine. I have to use two boxes since my hair is so long.. I swear this stuff went everywhere. I'm still finding little black spots in my bathroom. If your hair is long like mine stick to the creme.. Less messy and frustrating

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caylac88 on 9/1/2013 10:39:00 PM more reviews by Caylac88

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I dyed my hair

(WITH Garnier Nutrisse Nourishing Color Foam 4IM Iced Mahogany Dark Brown)

it turned a shade darker with some red tinges. I wanted my hair to go darker and redder however, the this dye I use did not do enough. It looks natural and everyone tells me it looks natural. I was pleased when I dyed it the first time.

8 weeks later I dyed my hair again (the same dye) but i let it sit for 10 mins longer hoping for a better result then the first time. When my hair dried I absolutely loved it but like all dyes it faded a little bit. I'm still happy-ish with my hair but a week and a half my golden highlights came in more this time and mostly my roots (in the light) you can see the red. This is why I didn't rate it more. HOWEVER, my hair is still very pretty and a lot of people love it but I just wanted more results.

The link below is a pic of my hair 2nd time around!

https://sphotos-b-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/1235411_690733217608877_835331558_n.jpg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SarahSugartits on 8/12/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by SarahSugartits

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

BARF!
My hair was a bleached blonde..And i got tired of having to do my dang roots.
So i figured i would drop by walmart and pick up a dye to just make my hair a little darker.
DARKER is what i got. The box said dark BLONDE. I got like a ugly brown color with gray (because of my bleach i guess) ALLLLLL in it.
I HATE IT.
This product is very misleading.
I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Reviewsonly on 8/10/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Reviewsonly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Great stuff! Wish it lasted a tiny bit longer, but I have really resistant grays, so I don't think it was even the fault of the color. Left my hair silky and covered all the grays. Very easy to use, much easier than cream colors. And the conditioner it comes with is fantastic!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Hair Color products