Hourglass • Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(154 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 7/13/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had a sample and could use it twice to get to the following conclusion: The shade was a great match, it covered up any flaws really well, and it did mattify like I have seldom experienced it with another foundation, without drying out the skin. But, with both uses (one with primer underneath, one without) I found one thing that bugs me: after a while, it felt like a somehow greasy layer on my skin. It didn´t look that bad, not at all (I did have to blot a bit after a few hours, but I think that´s normal in summer) - but it didn´t feel good to me. For the exorbitant price, I really would expect that it feels like cool, dry silk on my skin in summer, and like plush velvet in winter - but it just doesn´t, so I won´t buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 antiguru on 7/13/2014 1:45:00 AM more reviews by antiguru

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Received sample of this in shade Nude with a Sephora purchase. It contained enough product for two full uses on my face. It blended well, looked pretty good, wore okay. I'd say medium coverage for about 4 good hours on my oily summer skin. Honestly, I couldn't tell that much of a difference between this and the L'oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder foundation. The only difference is the price. For about $60 for a full bottle of this stuff, it'd better make me look like freaking Kate Beckinsale. That didn't happen so hello again, L'oreal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CopyChic on 7/8/2014 9:45:00 PM more reviews by CopyChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so bummed that I spent so much money on this. An entire bottle nearly gone to waste. Note to self: always, always get a trial size of pricey foundation. It looked fine when I was color-matched with it in Sephora. And it mattified like crazy (best I've ever tried in that aspect), but after a few uses, I notice it left an unflattering gray cast to my skin--that also aged me. NOT a look I want when pushing 40. I have oily skin and live in an area with pretty humid summers, but i'll just have to go with Lancome or some other foundation that mattifies less effectively (yet still looks fairly natural) and reapply powder throughout the day, rather than deal with the gray old lady face this stuff delivered. Boo :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ginaxav on 7/2/2014 3:22:00 PM more reviews by ginaxav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wear this foundation in Porcelain. For color reference I am NW20 in Mac, Fresco in EL DW, 4 in Armani Luminious Silk, Fiji in Nars Sheer Glow, Warm Ivory in Dermablend Cover Cream, Fairly Medium in Bare Minerals powder.

I adore almost every Hourglass product but this just doesn't work for my skin. If you have good skin it's probably great cover but it did nothing to cover any imperfections I had. It looks very natural, but that's also probably part of it's coverage problem. I do not have dry skin but within about 15 minutes my cheeks felt really tight. They didn't look dry but felt dry. It's now been about 6 hours and the foundation still looks OK but feels tight. I've used better foundations. I will not rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 serendipity764 on 7/2/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by serendipity764

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the HG foundation for oily skin! I've tried soooo many different types of foundations and this is by far the best. It is a cream to powder formula with a matte but slightly satin finish so that it looks exactly like skin when properly applied. I have fry-an-egg-on-my-forehead type of acne prone oily skin year round. I'm a greaseball within 40 minutes of washing my face, and this keeps me completely matte for 4 hours (totally unheard of for me). I blot at the 4 hour mark and then I'm good to go for at least another 3 hours.

Proper application is KEY!!!! Use a stiffer buffing brush (I use the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush and it's perfect) and work in sections of your face to buff the foundation on each section quickly and in small light circles. Work fast or the foundation will turn to powder and dry out. I've used my fingers and a beauty blender dupe (Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge) before, but the coverage is patchy with those and the beauty blender dupe sucked up too much of this pricey foundation.

Light to medium coverage, so I go over spots with blemishes with a full coverage foundation like the MUFE Mat Velvet, Clinique Stay Matte, or ELF Acne Fighting Foundation. I always powder everything, but slightly oily or combination skin gals won't have to.

I usually don't wear a primer under this because they don't seem to mattify me more than just this foundation alone. Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer also does not keep me matte and doesn't make this foundation more matte, although it seems to work for every other person. I am just too oily. My routine is cleanse, tone with Clinique Acne Solutions clarifying lotion (toner), tone with tea tree oil (good for acne), use a salicylic acid 2% serum, use a moisturizing sunscreen (I love Kiss My Face Face Factor), then this foundation.

Cons:
-Dry skin gals, this is NOT the product for you because it will enhance your dry patches. If you have dry patches, moisturize well before application
-I do find that this wears away a bit by the end of the day, so you will have to touch it up if you're going out in the evening.
-Price ($55 USDS), but you get what you pay for. I am a drugstore cheap beauty gal all the way, and this is the ONLY thing I will spend more than $35 on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 al4galm on 7/2/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by al4galm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation dries super quick. Like Hourglass recommends, you are better off applying it with your fingers or a brush. Just keep in mind that you have to apply it super fast, or you will end up with patches all over your face. I tried to build up coverage applying a bit more in certain areas and it just doesnt blend well. If you have any sort of dryness on your face this thing will make it super flakey.

I started using it daily two weeks ago. Dont get any oil control from it. Setting it with powder would give me a cakey look so I have to blot during the day. Have tried to wear it with several different primers (Hourglass Mineral Veil, bareminerals prime time, MUFE HD primer) and still get super oily.

Love the packaging. No issues with oxidation or break outs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sylveirettes on 6/28/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by sylveirettes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To sum it up: My cheap Revlon Colorstay Liquid Foundation performs FAR BETTER than this ridiculously priced one. Too bad, because I had very high expectation in Hourglass.

I have very oily skin, not to mention I also live in a tropical country (Indonesia) where it's summer all year round. This foundation dries up very quickly, so application is a bit tricky. Once I got the hang of it, the finish left me in awe. It blurred out the appearance of pores, covered blemishes like a dream, mattified my skin like wonders, felt velvety upon touch, all in all I was left with nothing but the photoshopped version of my skin in real life. I was so so so happy with it.

And then it started to turn blotchy at 4-hour mark. I turned into an oily mess, the foundation oxidized really badly, and the residue pooled in my pores like crazy. I did nothing the whole day, just sitting in my air conditioned office in front of the PC. So how come this super expensive foundation performed very poorly???

The reason why I was so interested in this was because I was hoping for a full coverage, oil controlling foundation with less heavier formula (my skin is prone to breakouts and very, very sensitive. I love Revlon Colorstay but sometimes it breaks me out when I'm not careful with the removal). For someone not as oily as me, this might work beautifully. I will try other high ends and just stick to Revlon in the meantime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annmaryx on 6/27/2014 2:30:00 AM more reviews by annmaryx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an overall great foundation for oily skin, but you do need to set set set w/ powder still! It doesn't break me out or clogs my pores. It covers up my redness and blends well. I do get oily after 4 hours of wear, so setting it is def a must. tip:The hourglass primer also goes well with this foundation.

*Good foundation, but pricey!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessicaMarie916 on 6/20/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by JessicaMarie916

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is a really great product, especially since I have extremely oily skin, and even worse during the summer. I know nothing will ever keep the oil completely away, and I've come to realization of that. It's nice that theirs products out their that help control oil.

I literally apply this foundation at 6:15 am everday - work till 5:30 and don't wash it off till about 9 and it works wonders. I use just a LITTLE (and I mean little) bit of my MUFE ALL MATTE powder to set around the nose, chin and forehead, as most oily people get extremely oily around those areas. Let me remind you that I work it a town with high humidity, and is always hot hot hot outside.

Yes you have to moisturize if your pimple is somehow dried up and leaves patchy flakes - FYI you should always moisturize no matter how oily your skin is! It will help so much better with everything and you won't look wrinkely when your older because your actually taking care of your skin.

Second, you should ALWAYS USE A PRIMER - no matter what. Theirs so many different types for oily / normal / combo skin - no excuses. IT MAKES ANY FOUNDATION BETTER AND LAST A LOT LONGER.

Third - this is not meant to look like your wearing a mask. It's meant to look natural - like real skin ya know....if you want full coverage, go elsewhere. But its made to look like your not really wearing anything at all. Which I like cause it's nice to switch from full coverage one day to barely there the next.

Only bad thing is the smell. I have a lavendar plant outside my house - (since theirs lavendar in the product) and it smells nothing like lavender....its just a weird smell but its something to ignore.

You have to work fast with this product - its amazing how fast it changes from liquid to powder.

But dry skin should avoid - don't attempt - even if your more dry skinned then oily. You won't like it and it will just leave you to leave a bad review. ITS CALLED MATTE FOR A REASON - OILY PEOPLE NEED THAT.

Not like us oily people are going to wear something that's dewy - it'd just be a hot mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mymilktea on 6/20/2014 7:17:00 AM more reviews by mymilktea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS PRODUCT; IT IS NOW MY HG.
My skin is combination oily with some dry spots depending on the weather so it's a challenge to find a foundation that matches its needs perfectly, or even close to perfect. My skin is in fairly good condition with no acne and barely noticeable acne scars. I walked into Sephora with some specifics in mind: I needed a foundation that did not contain SPF, was lightweight and not cakey when applied but still provided light to medium coverage, would last long without the need for blotting and touching up, and was made for oily combination skin that is more on the oily side. The salesperson led me to the brand Hourglass which, to be honest, I had never heard of in my life. I've been using the foundation for about a month and a half now about four or five times a week; I also use it with the Hourglass primer if I need SPF protection.

Pros:
No parabens or phthalates
Can be applied with your fingers (I didn’t want to have to spend $18 on a brush when fingers are irreplaceable and free)
Easy for me to blend
A little goes a long way
Sheer upon first application; but coverage is buildable
Matches my skintone perfectly and naturally
Pores are nicely hidden

Cons:
I don’t particularly mind the pump form but getting the last bit of makeup at the end bums me out
Must apply on a thoroughly moisturized skin, else you’ll see the patches of flakiness

As far as its power to absorb oil goes, it does a good job keeping sebum at bay. Even with the weather in the three digits lately and working two shifts in one day sometimes from morning to night, I’m thrilled about not having to touch-up midday. My face stays fairly matte throughout the day and I can look forward to knowing that it won’t blind the customers I face during work. I have slept with the makeup on on some occasions (suuuuuper bad I know) and in the morning, my face is still at a dewy stage. With a little blotting, I can go the next couple hours with it still on. It has not broken me out in any acne and my skin does not get too clogged as long as I wash the product off thoroughly.

It gives me a naturally flawless look. Most of the other foundations I have used would sink into my pores after three hours or so. With this, my pores are diminished and any discolorations of my skin are easily covered. I have noticed that my pore size has lessened quite a bit as well. Since I do not have any problems with wrinkles yet (thank goodness), I don’t know how true are the anti-aging claims. It is good to know that the ingredients are there but I just don’t know if it works or not. It doesn’t take away from the overall purpose of the product though.

Like everyone’s mentioned, be sure to moisturize thoroughly before putting the product on your skin. If your skin is flaking in some areas, it will show when applied. Sometimes I will add a little more moisturizer on top of it when the flakiness shows through. If you need full coverage, I would not recommend using this product. The first application on the skin is somewhat sheer which I do like and buildable, but it can only go so far. If you have noticeably bad acne and dark spots you might either have to invest in using a primer or concealer if you choose to use this product or go with a product with a thicker formula.

Overall, the price is certainly steep; at $55 a bottle, it's three times how much I used to spend on foundation alone. However, I would say that Hourglass’ Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation is a definite steal for anyone with extremely oily skin and worth the investment. If you have severe problems with uncontrollable shine and are always trying to combat sebum throughout the day, this product is definitely for you. I wish I found this “miracle in a bottle” sooner and hope the product does not get discontinued in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Foundations products