Bobbi Brown brightening finishing powder

3.9

16 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/30/2015 7:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a not shiny highlighter but it is frustrating totally. Just shimmer, no highlighting!



on 5/29/2015 11:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

So ladies, those who know me know that i LOVE LOVE LOVE Guerlain Meteorites Voyage Compact in Mythic. That is my HG finishing/setting powder for my NC15-20 skintone that immediately brightens my complexion and makes my skin look fantastic - it simply takes my skin to the next best level! This BB brightening finishing powder in Porcelain Pearl is a dupe of my Guerlain one. It does the exact same thing except it goes on a tad bit chalky on me. If used heavily it can look really chalky; otherwise a great product. It's great for those who do not want to splurge on the Guerlain one nor have tried the Guerlain one. But since I've tried the Guerlain one and can compare the texture between the two, I much prefer the Guerlain one more. For this reasonI will not be repurchasing this.


on 3/28/2015 6:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased the Brightening Finishing Powder in Porcelain Pearl, which is a nice complement to my very pale complexion (NC10/15). As my skin has become somewhat drier with maturity, I don't find as much need for shine-control in a setting powder. I sweep this lightly over my face, even on my drier cheeks, and find this adds a nice even finish. I've been using my Da Vinci loose powder brush with this, and it feels very nice. It doesn't appear cakey or glittery to me, even with a magnifying mirror, it just imparts a subtle luminous glow. I would venture to say this has less of a shimmer effect than Guerlain Meteorites in the loose spheres, but more than the Meteorites Voyage compact powder.

I prefer carrying the Meteorites Voyage compact in my handbag, because it is much slimmer and more elegant than this BB compact....I also worry that the BB powder may be more fragile to carry around since it features a warning about that on the packaging. Thus far, it simply lives on my bathroom shelf inside the box where I keep my "daily-use" items (that I rotate out periodically, because I'm a MU junkie). The compact itself is pretty, until you handle it and get fingerprints all over the mirrored outer surface, which I find unappealing. I'm not entirely certain I would repurchase, and in fact, I think the fragile nature of the powder is prohibitive. In the future, I'd probably stick with the Guerlain Meteorites Voyage compact powder because it travels well and has the lovely violet scent I'm so fond of.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2015 11:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is HG stuff for me. I'm a NW10 and bought the Porcelain Pearl version. It leaves me with a beautiful airbrushed finish to my skin, correcting (mild) color imperfections and blemishes. I know the look doesn't last throughout the day/night as it's a powder, but I do love how it looks! It gives my skin a "lit from within glow" with looking oily or shimmery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really do like this finishing powder, it leaves a beautiful radiant finish to the skin and feels completely weightless!

It is a little pricey and i wouldn't say this is an essential product you need in your make up bag/collection but if you're into make up and don't mind spending money on new products then it's 100% worth a try!

I would say this finishing powder looks a lot better and is more noticeable when applied over a natural make up look - you can by all means apply over a heavy make up look but you won't notice the finish as much!

Also if you have dry/normal skin and are using this finishing powder in the day its a great alternative to using a setting/foundation powder to give you a less cakey, more natural and radiant finish!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2014 9:31:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Porcelain Pearl was indeed lovely when the SA applied it. She was one of those super aggressive SAs, and somehow I found myself buying it without even asking about the price ($52.00 - gulp!). Then I had to go to Target. And there was an NYX dupe staring me in the face for $8.99. Okay, the Bobbi Brown packaging is far more elegant, but they make such a big deal about how fragile the product is that I would be afraid to carry it around to show it off anyway. I headed straight back to Bobbi Brown to return the Porcelain Pearl. (And don't you hate it when you feel bullied into a purchase?). It's totally worth it to check out NYX if you're tempted to buy this. They have both shades.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2014 9:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product is fantastic for my 45+ skin. I use this as a finishing powder to set my makeup, which is usually some sort of tinted moisturizer, or, if I'm having a particularly good skin day, just concealer. Yes, it's shimmery, but there are no sparkles, or glitter such as previous reviewers mentioned. This product not only sets my makeup, but it gives my skin a natural glow. It's NOT a bronzer, but the one light bronze square in the compact seems to give life to my skin by adding the tiniest hint of color. It's really very subtle. This powder seems to diffuse imperfections and it doesn't settle into fine lines. I love how it brightens my face. It leaves me looking radiant! This is one item that can remain in my bag for all 4 seasons. It seems to adjust to whatever my skin needs at the moment. It's magic. I'm NC 25-30 and I get Nude. The makeup itself is simply gorgeous to look at. My heart skips a beat when I look at it. LOL. The packaging is sleek and the price, well, it's Bobbi, so it's going to be pricey, but it's worth every single penny. I've purchased it 2x already.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2014 12:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have repurchased the Bobbi Brown Brightening Nudes, Brightening Finishing Powder, three times already. It is an amazing, weightless brightening powder that gives my skin a subtle glow. I use it all over my face and apply it with a Two Faced large powder brush (I highly recommend this brush too). I even sweep the powder over my eye lids for a eye shadow base. It is by far the best powder I have used and helps to make my face look flawless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2014 5:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this powder. I bought it in color "nude" and I think its great! I apply it on my cheek bones and the bridge of my nose as the last finishing touch and it gives that subtle gentile glow which is just sooo nice. It stays on all day, its gorgeous!


on 2/4/2013 1:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the Porcelain Pearl colourway. This is the best brightening/illuminating powder I have tried. It makes me look more awake and more rested than I actually am and gives my skin an airbrushed finish. Thoroughly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top