La Roche Posay Redermic R

3.9

24 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua / Water, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Glycerin, Octyldodecanol, Propylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycine Soja Oil / Soybean Oil, Triethanolamine, Isohexadecane, Sodium Hyaluronate, Retinol, Retinyl Linoleate, Adenosine, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Polysorbate 80, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum / Fragrance.


on 4/1/2015 3:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for about a month and I have really noticed a difference in my complexion. I use this mostly as a preventative age treatment as I am in my very late 20s and wish to condition my skin.

I started lightly, about 2-3/week then at week two, I applied every night. I braced myself, knowing that there would be an adjustment period. And indeed there was. Almost immediately, the skin around my mouth and nose became very dry and fragile. I applied nivea creme abundantly at night to hydrate intensely and it really worked.

Next came a phase of acne along my hairline and forehead that was a tad unsightly. But it has gone away and I am now left with tighter skin and diminished pores.



on 12/20/2014 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this serum because it really does help to reduce the look of fine lines around my eyes. It is not moisturizing enough to use on its own, so I layer this under other products. This works great under eye makeup and does not contribute to creasing. I will repurchase.


on 12/13/2014 2:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff. Helps smooth out my wrinkles and keeps my breakouts at bay. I bought 6 tubes on my last trip to Paris, because they are so much cheaper than in Canada. $56 Cdn at Shopper's Drug Mart. France was 24 euros. Otherwise I get small samples free from my MD, whenever their LaRoche Posay rep comes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2014 5:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first time I have used a retinol product apart from a few years ago I tried using prescription retinoid and my skin couldn't tolerate it. I have been using this cream for about 6 weeks and my skin has definitely improved. I have fairly sensitive skin so built up very gradually using it every 3 nights, then every other night and after a few weeks I started using it every night. I have had no problems so far and my skin looks fresher and feels really soft. It has also improved the oily skin on and around my nose and I am having less breakouts. Would definitely recommend it! I still have loads left in the tube as I only use a small amount... I also use Philosophy vit C booster powder in the mornings.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2014 6:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My skin is dry and sensitive. This pale yellow retinol lotion comes in a metal tube, which is pressed to release the lotion. Instructions say to apply once a day to wrinkled areas. I've been using it every night for six weeks, over a serum. I haven't experienced any irritation or dryness, but the depth of my wrinkles remains the same.


on 7/22/2014 11:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm a fan of many french drugstore brands, including La Roche-Posay. Unfortunately, this eye cream didn't produce any noticeable results. My skin is in very good condition, and I have very few fine lines around the eye area. I had read great things about this eye cream, and gave it a try. I've been using it for a month and haven't noticed any improvement in the little fine lines or slight darkness under my eyes.

Fortunately, it does provide enough hydration for daytime use, and isn't too rich to apply under-eye concealer over it. That said, I definitely wouldn't use it as a night eye cream. There are far better eye creams out there. Shiseido Benefiance isn't much more (maybe $50) and 10x better.

I think this eye cream is well suited for those in their 20s. I'm in my mid-30s, and need more anti-aging and preventative benefits from skincare products.


on 7/6/2014 5:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought LPR's Redermic R when I started taking my anti-ageing skincare more seriously. I chose it because I trust LRP products (Cicaplast was my first love) and because it had a good price for the retinol concentration. I already used Differin as a teen, so I knew my skin could take a strong retinol, but if you want more than 0,1% you have to start paying much more.

I never had any sort of reaction with Redermic, but I still took it slow to be safe. First once every two nights and worked my way up to every night.
Contrary to some comments, you can apply retinol to a moist face. What happens is that it penetrates much more. So, if you have sensitive skin, you can wait up to 30min after washing your face to prevent irritation. If you are like me and looking to get the most out of it, apply it straight away.

After 2 or 3 months after starting my routine I could certainly tell a reduction in the lines around my eyes when smiling. (Don't mind the package, you CAN use it in the eye area). Now, 8 months later, it is still improving! Though I can't expect it to keep rewinding time, I'm more than happy if retinol keeps slowing it down.
My routine is:
Antioxidants (LPR Derm Aox) and SPF 30/50 in the morning (Louis Widmer, Anthelios, Vichy or Uriage).
Redermic R 5 or 6 nights a week and AHA peel once or twice a week (currently Olay Regenerist Night resurfacing elixir).

A tube will last 2 to 3 months. The packaging is opaque and minimizes contact with air to prevent retinol oxidation. Just don't squeeze it to much until it is almost empty, otherwise it will crack.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2014 8:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've only been using this for a couple of days, and wow!
I'm hyper-critical and sceptical of any improvements to my complexion ... believe me, this stuff works. Already the sagging from dehydration/sun damage/aging is evening out. Fantastic.
This link: http://www.dermadoctor.com/blog/retin-a-retinoids-retinol-vitamin-a-creams/
Aparently water is a no no for retinol creams. The advice is to let the skin dry completely after cleansing (20-30mins) before applying the retinol product and then to abstain from using any moisturiser on top. Presumably for maximum effect.

I tried this. Yep ... face felt like a dried out pringle crisp ... and then the Redemic R made it a hundred times worse. I felt like I was wearing a jokers mask. I couldn't stand it any longer and went to town with my moisturiser. Relief.
And I'm still seeing noticable results.

As with all retinol products, watch out for dryness, burning etc. The second night of use made my skin burn a bit - so I promptly washed it off - clearly wasn't making my skin happy. The third night I tried again, with the thinest application possible, plus moisturiser ... no problems. My regime now is using Redermic R every other night. It seems my sensitive skin needs a "rest" in a 48hr period.
Do listen to your skin!
And of course, a good sunscreen during the day. I'm using a homemade Vit C serum with LRP (spf 30) fluid - not greasy at all - then my moisturiser on top. Honestly, if anyone suggested such a combo to me before, I'd scream and run away thinking my skin would revolt and break out everywhere. But it doesn't. It is SO important to use a sunscreen with retinol products. So much so, I don't think I'd ever be brave enough to wear retinol during the day, regardless of how high the SPF factor was.


on 2/15/2014 2:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been using this product twice a day for 4 weeks. I can't see any difference in my skin my dark spots are no lighter and there is no difference in fine lines and wrinkles so far. If you are over 60, I don't think it will make any noticeable difference.


on 1/29/2014 1:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this having read that it is a retinol specifically for sensitive skin. There were also great reviews on MA and on the internet. Unfortunately I had a very bad reaction to this. I have fairly sensitive skin and only applied this once. Over the next few days I developed an awful rash around my mouth and breakouts across my sheeks and forehead. I went to the doctors about the rash and it turned that the cream had triggered perioral dermatitis. I have been taking antibiotics since and have been told it could take upto 3 months to improve. Awful stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top