Black Radiance • downtown browns • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 shortii53 on 11/21/2013 8:48:00 AM more reviews by shortii53

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The eye shadow is just ok, but most of the shades did not appear on as I expected. I will go by each shade left to right.
1. The highlight shades, on the left a pretty, satin peach, nice. On the right, similar shade but with more sparkle, meh.
2. Eyelid color on left. A pretty taupey lilac. Nice everyday, simple look. A bit more purple than I usually go for but still enough neutral to wear. On the right a dark burgundy appearing eyelid color. I was excited about this shade but it turned out to be almost black. Not the plum, burgundy shade I was hoping for. More of a black with slight purple tint.
3. Crease shade on left, matte purple. I do not like at all. hard, a bit chalky, not my favorite shade. But again, I am not a big fan of purple shadow. On right, crease color, a dark sparkly plum. This , as with similar lid shade above it, appeared black when on. Black with purple sparkle.
4. Accent shades on left, pretty, medium brown. Nice neutral for anyone. On right accent shade, a shimmery dark taupe. Nice shade but needs to be applied with light hand. On my arm it was pretty, shimmery taupe but on eyes it looked very deep. Darker than I wanted.

Now this line is geared towards african americans and I have fair skin, so the shades are supposed to be pigmented. But I am disappointed the plums looked like black shadow on, rather than plum. I will not repurchase. Some shades are nice but nothing special.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 poetsdream7 on 7/9/2013 8:03:00 AM more reviews by poetsdream7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I would recommend this palette for two of the colors, one is quite unique, the other is just very pretty. Both shades happen to be on the left side of the palette. The first is a GORGEOUS shimmery taupe, with hints of lilac. This shadow would be at home in the Naked 2 palette, IMO. This shade is worth what you pay for the whole palette. The second shade is the deep bronze "accent" shade on the bottom left. Great shadow for a one shadow look. It looks beautiful on the lid, and has depth when blended through the crease. The "browbone" color on the left is a nice, subtle highlight, but it's not a particularly unique or outstanding shade. There are two blackened colors on the right
side--one purple, one olive--which seems de riguer in the palettes made by Markwins (the company that owns BR and WnW). The matte purple on the left was very disappointing in its poor pigmentation.
In summation, I would recommend this palette, especially to fans of the WnW 8 pans. But...I wouldn't buy this palette again,myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jordansmommy310 on 3/21/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by jordansmommy310

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This palette has some beautiful colors. I love the different looks I can come up with. This palette is exactly like WNW even in terms of quality and packaging. Some colors are very pigmented while a couple looks pigmented but actually applies on sheer. I make sure to use a primer underneath and apply wet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 2/22/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I heard about this palette from Nouveau Cheap but never saw the brand at my local Walgreens until I visited a different one. The colors are beautiful in the pan. They all suit each other well and do not include any odd colors. Of course the packaging and texture and EVERYTHING is Wet n Wild. Unfortunately, the pigmentation is lacking on some colors. I still work with it but it would be amazing if all of the colors adhered to the lids better and actually showed up. The darker colors in the palette are very pigmented and pack a lot of punch but be careful with the fallout on these. The price is amazing and to be honest most people would love the palette and find nothing wrong. Makeup collectors that have plenty to compare it to would probably agree that not all colors are great in this palette. Would recommend but would not purchase again.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 2/1/2013 11:33:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up thinking I had Wet n' Wild since they look so similar. You definitely need a eye primer as these are not very concentrated and do fade on my oily lids when I don't use a primer first. However the colors are very pretty, work together, and can be used to create a nice smokey look or basic lid. I do prefer the silky texture of WnW palettes to this though. I will keep this around until I use it up but will not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missykeyana on 8/9/2012 4:35:00 AM more reviews by missykeyana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This 8-pan palette is very interesting. I'm going to break this palette down by shade. Let's pretend that the picture provided is numbered down 1-4 on the left and 5-8 on the right.

1. Left browbone shade - This shows up on me as a light silvery white-beige. Smooth and blendable, it's a great if very cool-leaning highlight for the tearduct and browbone.

2. Left eyelid shade - This color is beautiful! This purpley-taupe is worth the cost of admission! It would look good on a variety of skintones. On me, it looks good as a one-and-done look or with one of the deeper shades in my outer V.

3. Left crease shade - This shade sucks. I can't get it to show up on my lid. It's a semi-matte purple. Ugh.

4. Left accent shade - Really nice neutral bronzy brown. I can use this as a one-and-done quick eye or create a smokey eye with the deeper shades. However, it does not look good as a traditional accent color on me. I tried a eye look with shade 2 with this in the outer V and it was a muddy mess.

5. Left browbone shade - This shade is not one of my favorites. It is a light champagne-ish satin with sparkle (GLITTAH!). Not a lot of pigmentation with this one.

6. Right eyelid shade - A dark purple satin shade, it looks absolutely terrible on my eyelids. However, it looks great in the outer V with shades 1, 2, & 4.

7. Right crease shade - This is an blackened purple with a bit of purple sparkle. To me, it looks almost exactly the same as shade 6 with the addition of shimmer. Generally serves the same purpose as shade 6 in my eyeshadow looks. Also looks good as a liner.

8. Right accent shade - This is a blackened olive green with green glitter. Good in the outer V and as a liner.

Overall pros:
*Most of the shades are pigmented and buttery with the exception of 3 & 5
*Shade #2. What a nice color!
*Can create a variety of looks

Overall cons:
*These are mostly purple shadows. Purple shadows seem to have a little less pigmentation and be a little harder to work with in general.
*Shades 3 & 5 SUCK.
*Shades 7 & 8 can look very similar on the eye
*You will absolutely need a primer, or you'll not get the pigmentation you want.
*Darker shades have a lot of fallout.
*Why is this called Downtown Browns when there's only one legit brown in the bunch?

Overall, I think that the colors in this palette can be workable for a variety of skintones because of the generally neutral-leaning shades. It's generally a good but not great palette. If I would (and I may) depot this, I'd throw shades 3, 5, and possibly 6 or 7 in the garbage. Also, I'm not thrilled with these generally identical palettes being priced $2 higher than Wet 'n' Wild.

I don't regret buying this palette, especially since I stumbled upon it CVS marked down to $3.49. However, I would not buy it at full price. I'd buy it again (on sale) because I really like shades 1, 2, & 4.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* waymire01 on 4/7/2012 11:25:00 PM more reviews by waymire01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These 8pans have gotten so many mixed reviews. I bought this one to try and so far have been quite pleased with it. I have fair skin, all the colors are quite warm which is great with my green eyes, really made them pop. I have used the entire left side so far and the highlight on the right, and have not found any of the shadows to be a problem, I do use primer. Sure, they are a bit soft, but they are pigmented and blend well. None of the colors faded or creased and lasted all day in the heat. I do feel the three dark shades on the right side are a bit too similar to each other, would have been nice to have some more variety... but for the price I feel this is a great palette if you like natural colors... and not just brown either. there are no true mattes, but there are varying textures so you are not just stuck with super shimmery shades.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fayeonaise on 3/13/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by fayeonaise

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE!!! I was never sold on the WnW palettes...still trying to find one that I like. However, I absolutely LOVE Downtown Browns by Black Radiance. Paired with UDPP, these eye shadows are vibrant, easy to use and offers me great flexibility. They also compliment various skin tones. The textures range from soft/buttery to a bit dry. The harder colors require a bit more work, but with the right brush, the payoff is great. I feel the packaging is great; fits easily into my kit. For those who travel as much as I do, I can see this palette being your only set of eye shadow when you don't have much room. I can do a neutral, everyday eye to a dramatic smokey using thing palette alone. I recently used the left side of the palette for an engagement photo shoot on pale olive skin. The results were amazing and my customer was extremely pleased with the results in the pictures and in the mirror. I do have an issue with Black Radiance products being priced higher than WnW, when they are basically the same thing and the same company. Now I am on the hunt to get my hands on the other palettes!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habakuktwo on 2/29/2012 4:50:00 PM more reviews by habakuktwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Black Radiance has 8 pan palettes just like the Wet n' Wild palettes. They are all shimmery shades. The palette contains three purplely browns. One taupe, one very dark shimmery antique green, one bronze brown and two brow highlights.

For me the shades were pigmented I found that they were just as soft as their Wet n' Wild counterparts; meaning a good primer is needed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Black Radiance products

More Eye Shadow products