Dove • Refresh+Care - Invigorating Dry Shampoo • Dry Shampoo

rated 2.8(135 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ohitharshay on 11/9/2014 10:52:00 PM more reviews by ohitharshay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I to be honest, really like this product. I was in desperate need of trying to find a really good quality dry shampoo that actually worked. I went to Walmart, scanning every single dry shampoo I could find with the MakeupAlley product scanner. This one had the most reviews out of all of the ones I found. I previously used the Herbal Essences "Color Me Happy" and the scent smelled really nice, but the whole thing overall was just a complete N-O. The nossle completely broke after my second use of it. Nothing would come out of it either way. And that product left white residue all over me, my hands, hair, everything. It looked like I had really dry skin all over, so I didn't like that. This Dove "Refresh + Care" dry shampoo was the complete opposite, excluding the scent because it smelled really lovely. This left absolutely no white residue on my hair or my hands, and I have dark brown/close to black natural hair. I absolutely loved this and I would definitely recommend and buy this over and over again unless I want to try the Bastiste one that I heard was like the best dry shampoo out there. But overall, this product is great and makes me and my hair happy. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rowanj13 on 11/9/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by rowanj13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just finished a can of this dry shampoo and felt a review was in order as my opinion of the product changed quite a lot between my first and last use. At first, I didn't like it at all. I only kept using it because I hate to waste products and money. I felt like it often made my hair seem greasy shortly after using it which was clearly the opposite of the desired effect. It turns out I wasn't shaking it up vigorously enough or letting it sit long enough. Once I started doing it properly it worked really great and didn't leave any white residue in my hair (though I find I have to flip my head upside down and really rub it in there, like lathering up with a regular shampoo, to get it worked in well).
The packaging of this product was very good. Nozzles on other dry shampoo cans have clogged up on me in the past, but this one worked well right up to the very last spray.
The biggest con with this stuff is the SMELL. It's way too strong and perfumey for me and I always worried that everyone around me could smell it too. Over time I got used to it, but for that reason alone I'm not going to repurchase this, at least not right away. If Dove changes the scent perhaps I'll give it another go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DyingMessenger on 10/15/2014 5:37:00 PM more reviews by DyingMessenger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this product because I was in a pinch and really needed it dry shampoo, and I wasn't really expecting very much out of it. However, I was pleasantly surprised! It has a very nice scent, it is easy to apply and I notice no white or powdery residue in my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alleyaddict on 10/11/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by alleyaddict

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I actually like this more than Betiste! I need to spray this more but it leaves less white residue which is good. With Betiste I have to use it the night before to make sure there is no white powder showing through my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Oddbawl on 10/6/2014 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Oddbawl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This dry shampoo is affordable, it smells great, and .. it works! I am blonde so I don't notice any weird film. I personally love the smell. It adds great volume, and really soaks up any grease. I don't think its quite as good as "Pssst", but definitely a close second.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nancyplayfoot on 9/30/2014 10:47:00 PM more reviews by Nancyplayfoot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on sale (thank goodness). My hair was still oily after using this, I really had to rub to get rid of the White reside. The smell was very nice and I like the bulky bottle but I won't re-buy. I don't think it did its job

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 reggiemoon on 9/29/2014 7:06:00 AM more reviews by reggiemoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product smells really good but I feel like it is a dry shampoo designed for individuals with dry hair which doesn't really make much sense. I have dark hair and it doesn't show white after I rub it in and brush it out but it is not very effective in drying up the oiliness I'm trying to combat. I will finish my bottle but I won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kwinther8 on 8/27/2014 12:47:00 AM more reviews by kwinther8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

3 lippies because this product is pretty average. The smell is OVER POWERING at first, but I think after 30 minutes or something the scent goes away pretty much entirely. It does it's job, its easy to use. However, I found that I had to use a TON to do the same amount of work as my regular batiste dry shampoo. I felt like I was spraying the product on for 5x the regular amount of time!!! Maybe that's just me, because I have very thick hair, but I already have a hard time using dry shampoo because I have to use a lot and the fumes are very unhealthy to breathe. Won't buy this product again, but maybe someone with thin hair would like it more. I'll stick with my HG dry shampoo, which is the original batiste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grapes123xo on 8/26/2014 7:10:00 PM more reviews by grapes123xo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This dry shampoo is the best I've tried and on the cheaper side. It does leave a white film... But you just blend. It gives my hair tons of volume and it helps me not was it every day I have very oily hair. Some of the dry shampoos I have tried make my hair more dirty and the smell is unbearable so this one is a keeper for me personally, and makes life a lot easier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 allejo92 on 8/3/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by allejo92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My hair (long and on the fine side) gets oily after not washing it for about a day and a half. I bought this product to see how it did with my hair, and honestly, I was pretty disappointed. Maybe I didn't understand what it was supposed to do, but my hair still felt and looked oily after use. I hated the smell, and my hair (especially at the top) always looked slightly powdery. I've used the product several different times and the results were always the same. So, no, I don't like this product very much at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Dry Shampoo products