Paula's Choice • RESIST Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(43 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 ennasuz on 2/5/2015 3:57:00 AM more reviews by ennasuz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I had a bad allergic reaction to this product. When I put it on, my face started to feel hot. I ignored it for a while, thinking it was the active ingredients beginning to work, but I had to wash it off in the end. After a couple of days, with nothing else having changed in my routine, my eyes started to feel itchy and dry and the next day, I woke up with swollen eyes, red, dry patches and deep lines around my eyes that hadn't been there before. My skin is still trying to recover from this. The only thing it will tolerate at the moment is vaseline. Please be very careful with retinol. My skin isn't normally sensitive. Patch test it first for at least 3 days before you put it on your face.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 1/31/2015 2:57:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this but it just did not perform well.
I broke out with cystic blemishes deep under the skin. They took forever to heal and left marks on my face.
I am also not thrilled with the texture of this either. Very silicone feeling. Which is nice for gliding on but it never really sank into my skin more just sat on top.
My skin was even more shiny too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Loved10 on 1/4/2015 12:25:00 AM more reviews by Loved10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Look I just bought this product and received it a day ago. This is so depressing because although this is a nice formula the packaging broke in 24 hours. The twist up cap I mean come on!!! It twisted right off and I am left figuring out ways to pump the product out?! I have found a way but it won't retract how it is meant to!!! In a day!!! Because I just bought it I can only speak about how this feels... I was shocked at the oiliness of it. However it does sink in after about 2 minutes of letting it set. It burns the eyes of it gets in but over all doesn't burn on my skin. Idk if I'll return it or not but I'll probably try the 1% retinol next because the packaging of this product needs redone. Period.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamspice on 10/10/2014 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dreamspice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

ARGH!! So I actually LOVE the product. Since I've started using Paula's Choice products I've noticed an improvement in my overall skin tone but specifically I've noticed a lightening of my hyper pigmentation. I no longer have to use full coverage foundation - I can get away with tinted moisturizer! Definitely, this retinol serum is part of that. Yet I marked that I wouldn't buy it again. Why? The horrible, horrible packaging! I *wish* it came in a tube like her antioxidant retinol treatments! I've bought this serum three times now. The first time, no problem with the packaging. The second time the pump/twist up top didn't work properly so I had to return it. This is my third and last time. The pump/twist up top works enough to dispense product, but it's really hard to control how much product because the pump/twist up top isn't properly attached. The product itself is great but I know it's probably more expensive because it comes in this lemon packaging. I'm going to try her moisturizing Retinol treatment or perhaps go back to one of the antioxidant retinol serums. But I'm never buying this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 7/27/2014 10:28:00 AM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really want to like Paula's Choice products. I appreciate the research she conducts on cosmetics and her attention to toxic chemicals in products. I'm not particularly keen on mail order skin care products because I prefer shopping at brick and mortar stores, but her customer service is outstanding. Overall though I've been really disappointed in her products, which is surprising given the high ratings this brand receives on MUA. The consistency is really thick and oily, so doesn't absorb very quickly. I've been using this serum for over six months and have seen no improvement in my skin, either the tone or the appearance of the light wrinkles I have.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eire1 on 7/23/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD MULTIPLE SAMPLES.
If you have deep wrinkling this alone will minimize the appearance of them but not get rid of them. This does have a formula that can gaurantee skin health ( provided you have no allergys.)
Initially the serum feels oily and it can clump this problem resolves itself though when it dries. It may initially feel uncomftorable on oily skin until it dries. It may seem to give temporary relief to drier skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 7/16/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like where Paula is coming from and how she promotes using formulas that have clinical results, not just a lot of hype. My biggest problem with this product is the texture. I cannot get over how oily (but not oily, more like, silicon-y) this feels on my face. It feels heavy like it does not absorb. I have not been able to use this long enough to truly evaluate the product because I do not enjoy using the product due to the texture. I was much more satisfied with Peter Thomas Roth's retinol serum, although it is more expensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 7/12/2014 4:40:00 AM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have used many Retinol products and have to say this one is the worst. It is extremely oily and slippery, making it very unpleasant to use. Results are a resounding meh. I am not at all impressed with this line and trashed the products I bought..

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janeen83 on 7/10/2014 2:01:00 PM more reviews by janeen83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love a lot of Paula's Choice products and I use a few of them on a daily basis. I loved this product at first because it has such a velvety feel to it when you apply. It's so silky and smooth! I took a break from it though because it was leaving my face too oily. My face is on the normal/oily side so this product may be too moisturizing for my skin type. On that note, it did not cause me to break out or anything like that. When I have more mature skin, I may give it another try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 7/6/2014 3:49:00 PM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have mixed feelings about this
My knowledge of skincare is extensive so I can certainly what it contains, but I am not a big fan of the consistency and the packaging.

They say it has a silky texture and you only need a few drops. But how much retinol is that? The results you see depend on the amount primarily. A higher concentration helps bring more active ingredient on the skin but you can't just spread two drops over your entire face. You can but you'd be applying more retinol if you were using a less concentrated product with a light cream consistency. No irritation?! No thanks! Irritation can be minimized by adding soothing ingredients but it still is a direct indicator of the concentration of Vitamin A. If I get no irritation when I apply more, then it means I wasn't applying enough to begin with. It needs to be fine-tuned, but not too far below what your skin can tolerate.

I have also used the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Night for quite some time. It has a simple but solid formula and the metal tube is great. That's what is used for prescription strength retinoids anyways, and unlike similar looking plastic tubes there's no air getting back in after you squeeze. It is also easy to cut open with scissors to get out the remaining product when it's finished. This twist up bottle seems fancy but complicated. Maybe it's more necessary for silicone textures but I actually prefer retinol as a light cream. You do need something more moisturizing anyway since retinoids and retinol are drying.

I have tested this for more than one month daily in sample size. That is exactly 1m. That would be 1 month for the full size, and 7 days only for the sample size - supposed to last you three weeks? At first I thought it would be too much but I get no reaction from this. No warm tingling sensation as I apply it, and no irritation the next day. What I preferred about Neutrogena is that with trial and error I could soon determine my tolerance level and continue with it. It does not make me look greasy.

UPDATE 02/23/2014: I have since moved on to the RESIST Retinol Skin-Smoothing Body Treatment as my face retinol of choice to alternate with a prescription retinoid. It contains the same percentage of retinol and I can easily adjust the amount without looking greasy. Also to counteract any dryness from tretinoin I prefer something more hydrating.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products