Paula's Choice • RESIST Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 7/16/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like where Paula is coming from and how she promotes using formulas that have clinical results, not just a lot of hype. My biggest problem with this product is the texture. I cannot get over how oily (but not oily, more like, silicon-y) this feels on my face. It feels heavy like it does not absorb. I have not been able to use this long enough to truly evaluate the product because I do not enjoy using the product due to the texture. I was much more satisfied with Peter Thomas Roth's retinol serum, although it is more expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 7/12/2014 4:40:00 AM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have used many Retinol products and have to say this one is the worst. It is extremely oily and slippery, making it very unpleasant to use. Results are a resounding meh. I am not at all impressed with this line and trashed the products I bought..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janeen83 on 7/10/2014 2:01:00 PM more reviews by janeen83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love a lot of Paula's Choice products and I use a few of them on a daily basis. I loved this product at first because it has such a velvety feel to it when you apply. It's so silky and smooth! I took a break from it though because it was leaving my face too oily. My face is on the normal/oily side so this product may be too moisturizing for my skin type. On that note, it did not cause me to break out or anything like that. When I have more mature skin, I may give it another try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 7/6/2014 3:49:00 PM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have mixed feelings about this
My knowledge of skincare is extensive so I can certainly what it contains, but I am not a big fan of the consistency and the packaging.

They say it has a silky texture and you only need a few drops. But how much retinol is that? The results you see depend on the amount primarily. A higher concentration helps bring more active ingredient on the skin but you can't just spread two drops over your entire face. You can but you'd be applying more retinol if you were using a less concentrated product with a light cream consistency. No irritation?! No thanks! Irritation can be minimized by adding soothing ingredients but it still is a direct indicator of the concentration of Vitamin A. If I get no irritation when I apply more, then it means I wasn't applying enough to begin with. It needs to be fine-tuned, but not too far below what your skin can tolerate.

I have also used the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Night for quite some time. It has a simple but solid formula and the metal tube is great. That's what is used for prescription strength retinoids anyways, and unlike similar looking plastic tubes there's no air getting back in after you squeeze. It is also easy to cut open with scissors to get out the remaining product when it's finished. This twist up bottle seems fancy but complicated. Maybe it's more necessary for silicone textures but I actually prefer retinol as a light cream. You do need something more moisturizing anyway since retinoids and retinol are drying.

I have tested this for more than one month daily in sample size. That is exactly 1m. That would be 1 month for the full size, and 7 days only for the sample size - supposed to last you three weeks? At first I thought it would be too much but I get no reaction from this. No warm tingling sensation as I apply it, and no irritation the next day. What I preferred about Neutrogena is that with trial and error I could soon determine my tolerance level and continue with it. It does not make me look greasy.

UPDATE 02/23/2014: I have since moved on to the RESIST Retinol Skin-Smoothing Body Treatment as my face retinol of choice to alternate with a prescription retinoid. It contains the same percentage of retinol and I can easily adjust the amount without looking greasy. Also to counteract any dryness from tretinoin I prefer something more hydrating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 4/21/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just finished my first bottle of this serum. It has taken me almost a year with using one pump almost every night. I like to mix this with PC Vitamin C serum, but often wore it solo. I only wear this at night because it makes my face super shiny/oily - at first. I have dry/normal skin and after about 10 minutes -- it soaks into my skin. I would rub the leftovers onto the back of my hands, too. I didn't notice a significant wrinkle reduction in my face, but I definitely LOVE this product and the way it makes my skin look. I feel like it contributed to the new, youthful glow I've had over the past year.

Sometimes retinol products are a little harsh on my face, but I feel like this is very silicone-y. It feels so nice when applying it. The only reason I didn't give it 5 lippies is because I think the packaging is ridiculous. I never knew how much I had left. I can't get into it to scrape the last bits and I had a hard time pumping it out sometimes. Also, the price is a little steep, but PC is wonderful with their sales.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupMomma on 2/9/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by MakeupMomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this serum! At first I was turned off by the oiliness of this product, but after using it for over two months I absolutely love it! I really feel it has made a difference in my skin. I am in my early 40s and just starting to show signs of aging on my face. At the same time, my skin is very oily and acne prone. This serum does make my face look and feel even oilier so I just use it at night. Since I started using this product my skin looks and feels much smoother. The fine lines I had on my forehead and around my eye area seem to have noticeably diminished and my skin tone has evened out. The only downside to this product is the price, but I bought it for 20% off on dermstore.com. PC often has sales, so I would definitely wait and get it then if you're wanting to try this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 2/5/2014 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Years ago when Paula introduced this serum, I was already a fan of several of her products, and still am to this day. What I am NOT a fan of are silicones, at least not in facial skin care. I was well aware that the first two ingredients here are silicones, but I was so eager to try the latest-and-greatest retinol product, and from a source I trusted, that I put my aversion aside and kept an open mind. After all, the remainder of the ingredient list is impressive, as is the packaging.

Unfortunately, this is not a match for me. My skin is oily, with all the lovliness that entails: large pores, the tendency to clog, a breakout here and there. I gave this product several tries, even tossing it out and repurchasing it years later, thinking that maybe THIS time would be different. After all, our skin's needs change over time, and with so many positive reviews, surely it would work for me eventually. But no - each time was a fail. I'd apply the serum at night, suppressing my gag reflex at the slimy texture that is the hallmark of silicone-based products (and the very thing I DESPISE). I'd go to sleep believing that one morning I'd wake up and see the amazing results that so many others were experiencing.

{sigh} All I saw were bumps. Little ones, under the surface, and breakouts in places where I don't typically get them. This was the same result with each attempt. I tried waiting it out, thinking I merely needed to endure a 'purge' period. In the end, I realized I was the odd man out and this simply was not the product for me. Cheers to those who have success - I envy you!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Itsheatherlol on 11/26/2013 5:43:00 AM more reviews by Itsheatherlol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Been using for over 3 months and have notice my skin looks more refreshed and brighter but mostly notably a fine line on my forehead has been significantly reduced to the point where it's no longer noticeable unless you hunt for it with your face pressed to the mirror (even then I sometimes can't see it). It has also helped reduced the lines under my eyes, but sadly they are still noticeable though much improved.

Great product, goes on lovely, doesn't break me out, reduces wrinkles and refreshes skin.

10 out of 10.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 moo209 on 11/5/2013 7:31:00 AM more reviews by moo209

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Quick tips:
(1) You can find out how much product you have left by pulling the top off. Only do this at night. (See picture)
(2) Buy it when they have a 15% off sale.

The serum is appropriately in an airtight bottle to prevent oxidation. The pH is in the right range. The serum is thick, but it feels lightweight. It has a silicone-feel. I know some people don't like silicone, but it prevents moisture loss. Paula's Choice doesn't disclose the amount of retinol in the product. I think this serum has a low amount of serum because it gives low irritation. The higher the amount of retinol, the higher the irritation.

I have been using this for 6 months and I'm still on my first bottle. I use this at night with one pump. I provided a picture of how much product is left which is about 40%. This will probably last me another 5 months. The value is incredible for the price and how long this will last. Current price: $37 for 1 oz ($31.45 with 15% off) I noticed the increase in price. I paid $27.16 (sale price). The regular price was $31.95. I believe Paula's Choice raised their prices in everything. :(

As for results, it is fading my acne hyperpigmentation at a very slow rate. I saw a good (not dramatic) improvement in 3 months. I know it's supposed to take 8-12 weeks to see results. I see a slight difference with my sun spots. I'm in my early 20's so my wrinkles are developing. This product hasn't improved my wrinkles. I'm unsatisfied with my results. I think by using this product, it's going to take over a year to see desired results. Overall, think this serum is a good product to introduce retinol to your skin. I won't repurchase because I want to move up to a higher strength retinol like 0.5%.

Who won't like it?
People who don't like the feel of silicone or feeling greasy.
People with sensitive skin will probably not tolerate retinol.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 10/28/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

ABOUT ME: I'm a 43-year old Latina woman with very fair olive skin (mature/combination/sensitive type). I have some minor facial lines and redness.

USAGE: I've used this product regularly over the past 6 months or so, usually once daily, alternating with another antioxidant serum.

REVIEW: I'm nearing the end of the bottle and I'm sort of shrugging my shoulders about this serum. The texture is very comfortable and pleasant on my skin -- it's a nice, light moisturizer.and absorbed nicely into my combination (slightly oily) skin. No unpleasant odor or afterfeel.

Unfortunately ... I can't say I've noted any improvement of my skin's overall condition and appearance. I've been alternating use of this serum with PC Skin Balancing Antioxidant Serum with Retinol each evening. My skin looks better (lines minimized) on days I use the Skin Balancing serum. I doubt the Resist serum is HARMING my skin in any way, but apart from the lightweight moisturizing properties, I doubt it's BENEFITTING me. It could be my skin doesn't respond to retinol and other ingredients in the Skin Balancing serum are more compatible with me.

This is the most expensive serum of the PC skin care line. The packaging is attractive but I found it slightly awkward and wasteful. A $40 skin care item should offer efficient packaging without product leaking from the pump.

I have a second bottle of this product and will use it, but will probably switch back to regular use of Skin Balancing serum once it's finished.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products