E.L.F. • Studio Lock & Seal • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Tuffy7 on 9/19/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Tuffy7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After some tinkering I have given up on this stuff. It definitely doesn't 'lock' eyeshadow on your eye, and it stings. When I tried rubbing a moistened brush across an eyeshadow (to make a liner) it turned the shadow hard and basically ruined it.

It does hold brows in place, but no better than hairspray. I say pass.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sekhmet on 9/11/2014 11:48:00 AM more reviews by sekhmet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

If you have sensitive eyes like I do, beware of this product! I get tired of always using eye makeup primer, so I thought I would try this for a change. One day I used the brush to pat some of this over my eyeshadow. Almost immediately, the product began irritating my eyes. It didn't get worse, but it continued throughout the workday, like a bad case of eyestrain. By the time I got home I was SOO glad to wash it off. I don't remember if I used mu remover or just washed my face, but the product did not come off and continued to bother me. (I'm sure I should have used eye makeup remover, but sometimes that bothers me too, so I just didn't.) Finally after a couple of days the product wore off and stopped irritating me. I blame myself more than the product--with my super sensitive eyes, I should have known better than to try it. Maybe I'll try this on my lips or over a temporary tattoo sometime, but never again on my eyes! And it wasn't a total loss, as I'm sure I can find a use for the brush. Still, if you have sensitive eyes, stay away!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Simpliciti3 on 9/2/2014 9:14:00 PM more reviews by Simpliciti3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is really neat! I bought it because it had really good reviews and it's a very versitile product.

The product comes in a little bottle like an eye dropper. It also comes with a brush that's like a concealor brush and a very tiny little plastic bowl. What you do is put a few drops (3-4) into the bowl, soak your brush into the product and then use it.

I mainly use this to keep my eye makeup looking the same from application to the end of the day/night. What I do is use a primer (ELF mineral eye primer, love it!) then go on with my eye makeup application. After I'm done, I soak the brush in the product and dab it over my eye makeup. I find that this really locks in my eye makeup, it's really awesome! It works kind of like how you use a topcoat over your nail polish, I know this isn't the way the product is meant to be used but it still works amazingly!

I've also tried using this to lock in red lipstick, and it works really well. I pretty much do the same thing I do to lock in my eye makeup.

Overally, I would recomment this to anyone who wants a versitile product that will keep your makeup lasting all day!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akPhilly on 8/3/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

While I've never tried this to actually 'seal' in my shadow or liner to extend the wear, what I use it for is as a mixing medium, like I'll add some to my pigments or eyeshadows to make liquid eyeliner. And it really is fantastic for that purpose! Probably the best mixing medium I've tried for doing that. It really makes it so it goes in smooth, vibrant, & lasts all day without cracking, flaking, bleeding, or going anywhere. It's a great price as well!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 5/29/2014 3:52:00 AM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've only recently started using cake liners because I'm making a concerted effort to finally learn how to do real eye make up (shadow, upper lids lined, the works). A months ago, I bought a cake liner on eBay by Georgette Klinger. I used it a few times with water and barely showed up. I chalked it up to the possibility that the liner was old and chucked it in a drawer. I decided to try again and bought Laura Mercier's cake liner which I really like. Thanks to reviews here and on Sephora, I didn't buy the Tightline Activator because most people said it was comparable to water and water worked better. I did get good results from simply using water but I did want something that created a darker line. Enter elf's Lock and Seal.

I had no idea this product existed until I read about it here. One reviewer raved about it and since it's elf, I knew it likely would be over $5 so taking a chance couldn't hurt. For whatever reason, all of the Wal-Marts in my area don't carry this. By chance, I was out shopping in another town and was forced to stop at a Wal-Mart I never would have gone to. As soon as I walked in the door, there was a display of elf cosmetics with boxes of Lock and Seal staring back at me. I bought two then and there!

I've used this for the past couple of weeks with great results. Since I'm still a novice with cake liner, using it has taken some getting used to. I used far too much the first time and quickly learned that one drop in the little container it comes with or directly onto the cake liner is plenty. I was hesitant that this might muck up my liner but it dried and looks exactly the same. The color payoff I get from using this is far better than just using water. Even the Georgette Klinger liner I thought was old gave me very black lines. This also makes the liner nearly smudge proof. I've yet to use it with any other kind of liners but I plan to pair with a gel liner in hopes than I can use that on my upper lids from times to time.

Lock and Seal is really one of those gems that I'm glad I found. elf is really hit or miss for me so I rarely try their products on a whim. This is also far, far cheaper than any other transformer and is likely as good if not better. If you're looking for a product to make the whole eye lining process easier, I would highly recommend this. You also can't do better than $3 so even if you don't like it, you're not breaking the bank.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sabbia on 5/2/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by sabbia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product has been an absolute godsend for my eyebrows!

My brows have been slowly thinning from age and are now so sparse in areas that I have had to apply eyebrow product directly on bare skin, therefore Ihave been in need of a product that will stay in place throughout the day and to withstand any accidental eyebrow touching. Even the products I've tried that are touted as being "long wearing" or waterproof would only last in the areas that had sufficient brow hairs engulfing it, but would fade quickly throughout the day in the more bare areas or, as with some products, get wiped away immediately if I accidentally touched the area.

So....I have been on the hunt for a waterproof, smudgeproof, unbudging eyebrow product (pencil, gel, powder-- I didn't care) and was willing to pay any amount for it. My next products in line to test was to be Anastasia Dipbrow.

Enter E.L.F. Lock & Seal--I stumbled across this product here on MUA and thought, what-the-heck, it was worth a measly $3 to try it out.

Bingo! I finally have indestructible eyebrows!

After some experimenting, here's what I found works best:

1) Create brow (I have been using powder with this product but imagine pencil would work just as well.)
2) Put one drop of Lock & Seal liquid in the small containor supplied and dip the end of the brush that is included with the kit into the liquid.
3) Dab/stipple lightly the end of the bristles into all areas where there is eyebrow product that you want to stay put.
4) Repeat steps 2 & 3 until all eyebrow product has been covered in Lock & Seal. (I find one drop per eyebrow is all I need to cover everything)
5) It sets, it dries---IT DOES NOT MOVE.

My eyebrows survives scratches, accidental rubbings, and they even stayed in tact after taking a shower and washing my hair (I purposely but my face directly under the highest pressure setting on the shower nozzle and they merely faded just a slight bit). Only eyemakeup remover directly applied removes them.

I haven't tried mixing shadows or creams with the Lock & Seal as per instructions but I do know that I wouldn't advise dipping a brush in the Lock & Seal first and then dipping that same brush immediately afterwards into an eyeshadow or brow powder that is still in its original pan because the Lock & Seal liquid will transfer to the pan and cause an unusable area in the powder.

I am so glad I don't have to spend $20 on the Anastasia DipBrow or any other product.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wixter on 4/26/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by wixter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product worked okay.

It foiled my pigments, but they didn't last that long on my eye. This foiled my pigments just the same as water and lasted just as long as water would. This product also stung my eyes.

It did the job that it was designed to do, but it didn't do it to my liking. I'm not going to purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 piccolamandorla on 4/6/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by piccolamandorla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Awesome mixing medium! I always have two bottles on hand in case I lose one. If you love your cake eyeliner but not the pricey the so-called liquid activators or enhancers sold with them, you'll want to have a bottle or two of this on-hand. This is the same thing and at not even a quarter of the price. It makes quick work of tightlining and does not damage or dry out the cake. One drop in the middle of your liner is all you need. I use this with all my liners from Laura Mercier to Fran Wilson. It's yet to ruin one. Plus if you mess up, it doesn't sting your eyes. You can also use it to turn a shadow into liner or a long lasting paste. Just scrape some shadow off into the provided container or onto a palette and mix it up! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HRivera1923 on 2/21/2014 11:39:00 AM more reviews by HRivera1923

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use this product a bit differently than it's meant for. I buy several bottles at a time and pour them into an empty (E.L.F. mist and set) bottle. I have used many setting sprays, until I started doing this, I was using Urban Decay which I loved, but this just works better. I love not having to worry about touch ups when I'm out. HG product when used in a spray bottle.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Craftingal84 on 9/24/2013 8:33:00 PM more reviews by Craftingal84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Beware! Don't get this in your eyes! It burns. Overall it's good but be careful when using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Misc Beauty Tools products