John Masters Evening Primrose Shampoo for Dry Hair

3.6

37 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera leaf juice) gel,* aqua (water), decyl glucoside, disodium cocoamphodiacetate, sodium cocoyl sulfoacetate, babassuamidopropyl betaine, panthenol (vitamin B5), sorbitol, symphytum officinale (comfrey) leaf extract,* lavandula angustifolia (lavender) flower/leaf/ stem extract,* urtica dioica (nettle) root extract,* equisetum hiemale (horsetail) leaf/stem extract,* chamomilla recutica (chamomile) flower extract,* achillea millefolium (yarrow) extract,* camellia sinensis (white tea) leaf extract,* salix alba (willow) bark extract,* lonicera caprifolium (honeysuckle) flower extract, hydrolyzed soy protein, cananga odorata (ylang ylang) flower oil,* pogostemon cablin (patchouli) oil,* citrus grandis (grapefruit) peel oil,* juniperus mexicana (cedarwood) oil,* citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil,* pelargonium graveolens (geranium) flower oil, *santalum album (sandalwood) oil*, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, wheat amino acids, sodium pca, arginine, serine & threonine (amino acids), potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, sodium hyaluronate (hyaluronic acid), glycerin, oenothera biennis (evening primrose) oil,* helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil,* linum usitatissimum (flaxseed) seed oil,* borago officinalis (borage) seed oil,* simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil,* tocopherol, sulfur. * NOP Certified Organic.


on 8/27/2015 4:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Bought this shampoo at Sephora Singapore last week and started using it for 3 days. I must say I am loving it to bits! My hair is color treated and I have been using Kerastase, Aveda, RedKen and other organic shampoos but this is the BEST. For once, my hair is not so dry.
Hopefully my hair texture will improve eventually. Will definitely repurchase!



on 12/3/2012 5:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Strange smelling schampoo, leaves my thick curly hair in an odd state. Not feeling clean, and turning oily after a couple of days. I have sensitive skin and my face turns red after contact with this schampoo.


on 6/24/2012 10:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I liked the smell but it left my hair feeling a little stripped, like a clarifying shampoo. How is that supposed to help dry hair?


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This shampoo is ok- nothing special, but not utterly bad either. I hate the smell, it's "all organic" and really smells "organic".

It left my hair a bit coarse and tangled, and did not seem to have any obvious nourishing effect. It did leave my hair clean, although not squiky-clean.

I wouldn't repurchace, it did nothing for my hair- my scalp loved it, though.


on 3/20/2011 11:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a good shampoo if you keep up with it. I made the switch from Aussie Moist Shampoo to John Masters and noticed that my hair was significantly less dry. Also, just use a little bit at a time, it is not meant to be super foamy. Info about my hair : I don't use any heat to style my hair, I also don't use any conditioner or hairspray. I have used gel once (Garnier Fructis) and John Masters got it out just like any other shampoo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2011 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I didn't feel any change in the state of my hair whatsoever after using this and the smell is unpleasant.


on 8/9/2010 5:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had to comment on this shampoo as it really gives my hair a more youthful feel and I love the scent! I have only used it in combo with the citrus neroli detangler by the same Co. My hair is not currently colored and is starting to grey a bit. But this really brings out a shine. I am using organic shampoos without toxic chemicals for hormonal reasons and this product fits the bill. I do blow it dry or air dry wavy, either way it comes out nicely with this shampoo. But I don't think you can get away without
A detangler or conditioner with it. I always use one anyway! I love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2010 12:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Such a disappointment! I'm an eco gal with Aveda highlighted-hair and have been hunting for a moisturizing, organic shampoo that will make my dry ends more silky. But like other reviewers have said, this did nothing. Worse, it seemed to dull my color -- maybe the disodium cocoamphodiacetate and sodium cocoyl sulfoacetateare are the culprits(??) -- and it made my scalp itch. The itching stopped when I stopped using it. I was talking with a woman at Whole Foods who said his shampoos make her scalp itch, too.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2010 4:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Well, they certainly got the name right. If you want a shampoo that dries out your hair this is certainly it. This shampoo made my hair hard when I put it on. I was very surprised because it has all natural ingredients that I expected to be extra gentle on my hair. I chose this shampoo because the chemicals in many other shampoos make my scalp itch. The Evening Primrose shampoo did not make my scalp itch but it did make my hair feel like Brillo. It provided no slip or detangling properties. It did not make my hair soft, shiny, and manageable. It certainly did not provide any moisture , and it doesn't even smell good. This shampoo was VERY expensive and now it just sits in my bathroom cabinet under the sink. I am very disappointed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2010 6:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Funny that this shampoo dry my hair out.... Very funny actually, cos isn't this shampoo made for people with dry hair? I don't know what to say...

The price is quited high for a shampoo cos the 180 ml isn't much for that price.

Packaging is the best with this product I think, easy to pull out and you can see throu the bottle and you can see how much product you have left.

The product itself, didn't work for me...It made my hair to squicy clean, I guess? I don't know. My hair didn't feel any softness, but it give me shinny hair, I think. I'm not sure if it was the John Masters Organic mint conditoner or this shampoo that did that. Anyway I don't like this shampoo at all, really disspointed, but I'll give other JMO's products a try. And the smell are not good, but not bad either, it's OK.

Not people with really dry/frizzy hair I guess, but you could give a try, but I'm not recommended this shampoo, if you don't have any oily hair.




Back to Top