John Masters • Evening Primrose Shampoo for Dry Hair • Shampoo

rated 3.6(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 LadyFlanders on 12/3/2012 5:13:00 PM more reviews by LadyFlanders

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Strange smelling schampoo, leaves my thick curly hair in an odd state. Not feeling clean, and turning oily after a couple of days. I have sensitive skin and my face turns red after contact with this schampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shazzar on 6/24/2012 10:46:00 AM more reviews by shazzar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked the smell but it left my hair feeling a little stripped, like a clarifying shampoo. How is that supposed to help dry hair?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 QuirkyFashionista on 8/31/2011 1:24:00 PM more reviews by QuirkyFashionista

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo is ok- nothing special, but not utterly bad either. I hate the smell, it's "all organic" and really smells "organic".

It left my hair a bit coarse and tangled, and did not seem to have any obvious nourishing effect. It did leave my hair clean, although not squiky-clean.

I wouldn't repurchace, it did nothing for my hair- my scalp loved it, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sulllllly on 3/20/2011 11:34:00 AM more reviews by sulllllly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good shampoo if you keep up with it. I made the switch from Aussie Moist Shampoo to John Masters and noticed that my hair was significantly less dry. Also, just use a little bit at a time, it is not meant to be super foamy. Info about my hair : I don't use any heat to style my hair, I also don't use any conditioner or hairspray. I have used gel once (Garnier Fructis) and John Masters got it out just like any other shampoo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alesija on 1/10/2011 10:34:00 AM more reviews by alesija

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't feel any change in the state of my hair whatsoever after using this and the smell is unpleasant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pamezak on 8/9/2010 5:36:00 PM more reviews by pamezak

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to comment on this shampoo as it really gives my hair a more youthful feel and I love the scent! I have only used it in combo with the citrus neroli detangler by the same Co. My hair is not currently colored and is starting to grey a bit. But this really brings out a shine. I am using organic shampoos without toxic chemicals for hormonal reasons and this product fits the bill. I do blow it dry or air dry wavy, either way it comes out nicely with this shampoo. But I don't think you can get away without
A detangler or conditioner with it. I always use one anyway! I love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 3/25/2010 12:00:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Such a disappointment! I'm an eco gal with Aveda highlighted-hair and have been hunting for a moisturizing, organic shampoo that will make my dry ends more silky. But like other reviewers have said, this did nothing. Worse, it seemed to dull my color -- maybe the disodium cocoamphodiacetate and sodium cocoyl sulfoacetateare are the culprits(??) -- and it made my scalp itch. The itching stopped when I stopped using it. I was talking with a woman at Whole Foods who said his shampoos make her scalp itch, too.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Milana on 2/21/2010 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Milana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Well, they certainly got the name right. If you want a shampoo that dries out your hair this is certainly it. This shampoo made my hair hard when I put it on. I was very surprised because it has all natural ingredients that I expected to be extra gentle on my hair. I chose this shampoo because the chemicals in many other shampoos make my scalp itch. The Evening Primrose shampoo did not make my scalp itch but it did make my hair feel like Brillo. It provided no slip or detangling properties. It did not make my hair soft, shiny, and manageable. It certainly did not provide any moisture , and it doesn't even smell good. This shampoo was VERY expensive and now it just sits in my bathroom cabinet under the sink. I am very disappointed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kokomacola on 2/9/2010 6:57:00 AM more reviews by kokomacola

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Funny that this shampoo dry my hair out.... Very funny actually, cos isn't this shampoo made for people with dry hair? I don't know what to say...

The price is quited high for a shampoo cos the 180 ml isn't much for that price.

Packaging is the best with this product I think, easy to pull out and you can see throu the bottle and you can see how much product you have left.

The product itself, didn't work for me...It made my hair to squicy clean, I guess? I don't know. My hair didn't feel any softness, but it give me shinny hair, I think. I'm not sure if it was the John Masters Organic mint conditoner or this shampoo that did that. Anyway I don't like this shampoo at all, really disspointed, but I'll give other JMO's products a try. And the smell are not good, but not bad either, it's OK.

Not people with really dry/frizzy hair I guess, but you could give a try, but I'm not recommended this shampoo, if you don't have any oily hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claudia19 on 12/9/2009 8:04:00 PM more reviews by claudia19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my absolute favorite shampoo! it does take some time getting use to if you're not use to sls free /organic shampoos.
you dont use alot and lasts a very long time.
It does leave it somewhat tangly (not horrible though) but i let my hair air dry and afterwards its left nice, soft, shiny, maneagable and wavy. I cant say enough good things about this shampoo. If you want a TRUE sls organic shampoo this is the best and ive tried ALOT, it's perfect. I use this on my color treated hair . I've tried brands from Kenra-head organics -natures gate ..etc,etc. this is by far the best one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Shampoo products