Alterna Bamboo Silk-Sleek Brillance Cream

3.2

12 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the few hair products that I absolutely adore. My hair is an annoying mess — I have lots of strands, but they're very fine, porous, frizzy and break very easily. I also tend to make matters worse by tormenting it — washing it everyday (have to because I run fast and furious almost every day and my hair ends up a dripping mess of sweat), blow-drying it (also everyday) and curling it, either with a curling iron or hot rollers. Just cuz. To top it all off, I also swim in a chlorinated pool once or twice a week. And oh! I forgot to mention that I sometimes dye it.

So yeah. I abuse my hair.

As such, I also end up trying lots of hair products in search of something —anything! — that will help. The Bamboo Shine Brilliance Cream is one of the only products that actually makes my hair look and feel decent. I'll probably never have super awesome lustrous locks but this stuff makes my hair feel pretty soft and shiny and like real hair. It's very effective and doesn't weigh it down like a lot of other products. It can be used on both damp and dry hair, though in practice, I find that I most often use it as a finishing cream after my hair is dry, to make it less frizzy.

I also like the smell, clean and light (though my all time favorite hair product for scent alone is Bumble and Bumble's Brilliantine Cream — just doesn't make my hair feel as good as this one). A little goes a long way and it took two years to use up the first tube before I needed to repurchase!

One final note: while my skin is generally bulletproof as far as most products go (I pretty much don't break out like, ever), I do have trouble with a fair number of hair products in terms of causing severe scalp itchiness and have had to discontinue using a lot of otherwise effective anti-frizz products for that reason. I haven't experienced any issues with this one...a little surprising, actually, because when I look at the list of ingredients, I see some that I think would normally cause issues. So, yay?!



on 12/26/2014 9:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I don't know why I bought this, since I have so many products that claim to do the same thing. First, I can't stand the smell of this line. It smells like freshly cut grass. And the shimmer! I have to admit another MUA reviewer pointed that out to me. I didn't notice it because I wasn't looking for it--it certainly doesn't belong in a hair product. Shimmer is not hair care (nor would it even show up in my ash blonde hair). Overall, it just doesn't do anything special.


on 10/2/2013 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cream is pretty good, but frankly I don't get BETTER results from it than I get from my extremely chip Organix Argan Oil hair stuff, which I can get on sale for about $3/bottle. It works as well, certainly does a nice job smoothing down the frizzies, smells good, makes hair smooth and soft, but it's not different from any other silicone based cream on the market.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2013 9:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this to replace another silicone based hair serum I have been using to seal moisture and shine. Positives: I love the gentle scent! It smells fresh like lemongrass mixed with watermelon. Negatives: Not moisturizing at all. In fact, doesn't seem to smooth my hair one bit. And I really hate the shiny glitter in this! I would never have tried this if I knew about the glitter.

All in all, I'm disappointed. This is the first Alterna product I've used that I really dislike.


on 7/21/2013 1:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am on my second tube of this, and I LOVE it!!! I had long been on the search for the perfect hair texturizer that gives my (fine) hair shine, body & volume... without weighing it down or making it look greasy, dirty, or sticky. And, this is IT-- I finally found it-- and I couldn't be happier! Ever since I stumbled upon Alterna Bamboo Silk-Sleek Brilliance Cream, I haven't touched any of my old hair texturizers, frizz serums, Argan oils, or other oils by CHI and Farouk because they just don't measure up anymore.

The directions on the tube say to use it on damp hair after towel-drying, but I use it as a finishing cream after my hair is already blow-dried. It tames all my frizzies and cowlicks and smooths them into place without flattening my hair or making it look greasy. It's truly amazing! It does have a fragrance in it that reminds me of a male scent... but it doesn't bother me or my allergies, and my daughter told me that my hair smells "so nice" after I use this product. Another positive feature of this styling cream for me is that it does NOT irritate my sensitive skin... as I have had to discard many hair products of this type because they caused a nasty case of eczema to erupt on my hands. Thankfully, this one is lacking whatever fragrance or ingredient that causes the irritation. As another reviewer mentioned, I don't have any problems with the benefits of this styling cream "wearing off" after a few hours. On MY hair, the smoothness and the clean scent last until the next time I wash my hair. I think that Alterna products are fairly expensive and they are not all worth it, but to me, this one is worth every penny! I will continue to repurchase this as long as it's available (and I hope that is FOREVER)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2012 11:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was looking for something to replace my glossing cream and this is not it. Oh well....will keep looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 1:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First, let's give up the pretense of nature. After water, the first ingredient is a cone. Please ignore all the bamboo natural malarkey. Whew, I feel better getting that out.

What I was looking for it to do: I have a good amount of very fine hair - the kind that explodes in humidity. I wanted to see what this product would do, as most drugstore and salon products flatten me out. (My usual routine is Original Neutrogena every 3 days, with Bumble Styling Creme - never any dryness or limpness, but sometimes overfluff.)

What it will do: make your hair smooth like any silicone family product will. I like the smell - there definitely is one, even after two days. The perfume ingredients could be a turn-off for others. Silky waves with airdrying - flat as a pancake with blowdrying.

Next time, I'll use some other weighty product - at least if there are no silicones, I won't get dried out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This styling product smells divine, and enhances my hair texture by erasing the frizzies, making it shiny and sleek! In tandem with other Alterna products, such as the Strand Expand, it works doubly hard and seems to pump up the volume in my hair, like 3 times its normal thickness!


I would highly recommend this product because the hair's ends are no longer doing a kink job or "collick" (sp?) on me and not cooperating in going smoothly in my inverted bob style. There are layers in my hair which are being grown out because they are not conducive to the style bob I desire and this product makes them lay where they should!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2012 12:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why there are so many negative reviews for this cream, because I absoloutley love it. I work in a salon, & I know for a fact that the whole Bamboo line is a bestseller. I've been eyeing this on the shelf for a while now, & I finally gave in & bought it. Yes, this is expensive ($22 to be exact). But for me, this was very worth it. I put this on my hair while it was still wet right after I got out of the shower. You only need to use a little bit with this. On the bottle, it says to use a dime sized amount, but I have really long & thick hair so I used a little more. Then, I combed it through my hair, put the other hair products I use in my hair, & let my hair air dry. Even from before I straightened my hair, this product left my hair so soft, shiny/glossy, sleek, frizz free, & manageable. That's pretty much everything I ask for in a hair product. This doesn't weigh my hair down or make it oily/greasy either. The packaging has a good concept to it, & it's definitely different than other hair product bottles I have, but it can make it a little harder to get the cream out. The only thing that annoys me about this cream is that it contains little glitters, (once they're in your hair, it's not noticeable), but it can be a little too much glitter at times when it gets all over my hands. Other than that, this cream truly is "brilliant." I will definitely buy this again. By the way, this also doubles as a heat protectant.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2012 4:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Blech. I bought this for $25 because an employee in a beauty outlet store convinced me it was brilliant and a bestseller. It was supposed to make my hair shiny, soft, and frizz-free. Well, it made my hair rough, dry, and did almost nothing to combat the frizz. My hair felt like sandpaper after applying the product. Also, the product claims it's pure and good for your hair, free of parabens, etc. Well, it's full of cones just like every drugstore de-frizzer.




Top Rated Alterna Products

Back to Top