NYX HD Photogenic Concealer Wand (All Shades)

3.9

220 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol,Phenyl Trimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polymethylmethacrylate, Silica, Sorbitan Olivem, Magnesium Sulfate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax,Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, and Xanthan-Gum. MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Iron Oxide Black (CI 77499), Iron Oxide Yellow (CI77491), Iron Oxide Red (CI 77492) Ultramarine Blue (CI 77007), or Manganese Violet (CI 77742).


on 9/2/2015 7:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I really like this concealer! It is creamy, light, covers well, and blends easily. It doesn't cake up, but it does crease slightly. I think it is around $5 which is a steal. I have very fair skin and I use 01 for my under eyes, and 02 to conceal imperfections on my face. I have some acne scarring, and this covers them pretty well (not completely, but can any concealer do that?) and lasts all day, and I have oily skin. Love this!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

About to buy my third one. I really like it although the packaging makes it hard to use it to the last drop. 3 grams are gone in like four months, which is not that bad I guess, although I do not use it everyday and when I have a really bad breakout, I do not use it. But for your everyday concealment of blemishes, tiny scars and redness - it's a decent product that is far more enjoyable than any drugstore product I've used before.


on 8/19/2015 7:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I purchased this in CW01 Porcelain. For reference, I have yellow leaning undertones.

It was described on Nyx's website as "light shade with blue undertones," and while it is quite fair, it just looks very, VERY peach on me. "Perfect!" you may be thinking - just the color to cancel out blue under eye circles. Unfortunately, this concealer isn't great on my under eyes. It's decently thin and creamy, but it dries super quickly to an almost powdery-chalky finish that settles noticeably in lines. No primer or powder I tried seemed to help. I tried blending it out with brushes, a damp beauty blender, and just my fingers, but none of them made a difference in it creasing.

On blemishes or hyperpigmentation on cheeks, it does better. Two thin layers gives medium coverage, but if there's any dryness to your face it will catch noticeably. As the day goes on it can end up breaking up a bit and looking a little cakey, but I noticed that happening more in warm weather than in cold. Unfortunately, once again no primer or powder setting really seemed to help this concealer stay put in the heat.

It blends well enough that it could work well as a liquid highlighter or contour if you choose the right shades. It plays nicely with other liquid makeup being put over it.

All in all, I'd say it's better than a lot of other drugstore concealers I've tried (at least when applied on smooth skin), but I will not repurchase.


on 8/17/2015 1:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

OH MY GOSH I LOVE THIS CONCEALER. before finding it i was using maybelline fit me concealer in the lightest color and it was okay but the lightest color was too close to my skin tone. i read a lot of really good reviews about this online saying that it's comparable to the nars concealer's formula so i picked it up in the lightest shade. not only is it light enough to brighten up the undereye of my already super pale skin, it covers my dark circles excellently. in a side by side comparison of this concealer and my fit me one i found that it blended out way better and much less patchy, too! it definitely has a thicker texture than the fit me but it covers a lot more. i haven't tried it without a powder but i've had no issues with creasing once i set it with one. overall, i'm very impressed! i highly recommend this!


on 8/10/2015 3:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Love this! Definitely a staple in my home and in my purse. It is so blendable and pigmented. Great price and quality. Does not cake or crease. Big variety of shades and colors. The color in Fair, serves as a non-shimmery highlighter on the face.


on 8/10/2015 2:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this concealer especially for under-eye brightening. I keep it in my purse and find the applicator very helpful for patting in that sensitive under eye area. The formula is creamy so i do not have to rub in too much. If i pat it in it works well and if i use a brush works well. It doesn't last all day, thus I keep it in my purse but for drug store, it lasts quite well. Ive heard its a dupe for Nars Concealer, I cannot attest to that since I did not try Nars one, but honestly im not tempted to. Color, application, brightening effects and price point already do it for me on this one. Would definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2015 10:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product did not wow me. At time of purchase at Ulta there were no dark shades. The darkest shade they had was CW07 Tan. I only use it under my brows. Since i have oily skin, it is lightweight, matte, and stays in place for hours. I like the convenience and the precision of the applicator. This product is okay, and NYX is known for hit or miss with their products. This is definitely a miss for me. I've tried better concealers.


on 7/25/2015 4:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this concealer after hearing that it was a dupe for NARS and while I've never tried NARS' concealer, I'm pretty sure this isn't that close of a dupe.

pros:
-lightest shade is decent match for me in summer (tho does lean a little orange; I'm extremely fair so it's always nice to find something at drugstore price that I can actually use)
-solid medium coverage, somewhat buildable if built up over powder
-feels light on skin
-blends easily

cons:
-oxidizes (conspicuously)
-becomes cakey as the day goes on
-may cause breakouts

I still have about a tube and a half of this left and I'm not upset about it; I think this is a decent enough concealer given that it's less than $10. however, once I run out/lose some of the color I've built up in my skin over summer, I will probably looking elsewhere for a replacement. I do love a lot of nyx's other products though! this one just didn't work out for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2015 7:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i wish i could give this product no lippies at all, this felt very weird when i applied...at first it was like a cold mint sensation, then i realized i had a very bad rash, like it burned me, don't waste your time


on 7/21/2015 2:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was wanting to try this for awhile and I actually love it. I have oily skin and I love how it actually dries down and feels/looks nice and smooth/soft.

I purchased the shades Beige and Yellow.
I saw swatches and beige seemed to be the only yellow toned one and my color.
I was wrong. Beige is a bit too light and pink on me. It seems to be like an NC20 and I'm an NC30. I was wanting one that's my shade to cover up blemishes and mix it with yellow for under my eyes since the yellow looked lighter.
I was wrong.
The yellow dries down to a light/medium yellow color and is actually darker than the beige one which is nice but the yellow one has a different formula.

I think the color-corrective shades are thinner to give the skin a slight tint rather than a full on thick unnatural color that may be hard to cover especially the green.
I can understand that but they really need to make more yellow toned stuff.
Another issue is I can't wear this over my foundation unless I mix it with a little bit of MUFE HD foundation.
This is claiming to be an HD concealer but it gives flashback on me. The beige color the most.

I'm thinking of getting a darker color even though it's kinda orange and mixing with the beige and yellow.
With that, I'd be using three $5 concealers when I could go to MAC and get one that actually matches for about the same price and it would most likely last longer since I use less of the Mac due to them having more pigmentation in general.

Other than that, the actual formula is nice. I'll still use these ones I have up. I may use them again just cause I like how they dry down and don't look cakey


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Best & Worst Drugstore Concealers for Acne / Blemishes by Nathalie K



Back to Top