NYX HD Photogenic Concealer Wand (All Shades)

3.9

214 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol,Phenyl Trimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polymethylmethacrylate, Silica, Sorbitan Olivem, Magnesium Sulfate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax,Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, and Xanthan-Gum. MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Iron Oxide Black (CI 77499), Iron Oxide Yellow (CI77491), Iron Oxide Red (CI 77492) Ultramarine Blue (CI 77007), or Manganese Violet (CI 77742).


on 7/25/2015 4:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this concealer after hearing that it was a dupe for NARS and while I've never tried NARS' concealer, I'm pretty sure this isn't that close of a dupe.

on one hand, it does have pretty good coverage for being a mid-range product (medium-full) and is fairly buildable. it doesn't feel heavy and blends pretty well too. unfortunately that's where the pros stop - the lightest shade is just about a perfect match for me in summer but oxidizes enough that it's conspicuously darker after a few hours of wear. it's also cakey - I have combo/oily skin so when I wear this I have to touch up my face regularly during the day and reblend my makeup every once in a while. lastly, I'm pretty sure this product is to blame for some breakouts I've been having, and sadly for that reason I will probably be looking for something else again soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/23/2015 7:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i wish i could give this product no lippies at all, this felt very weird when i applied...at first it was like a cold mint sensation, then i realized i had a very bad rash, like it burned me, don't waste your time


on 7/21/2015 2:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was wanting to try this for awhile and I actually love it. I have oily skin and I love how it actually dries down and feels/looks nice and smooth/soft.

I purchased the shades Beige and Yellow.
I saw swatches and beige seemed to be the only yellow toned one and my color.
I was wrong. Beige is a bit too light and pink on me. It seems to be like an NC20 and I'm an NC30. I was wanting one that's my shade to cover up blemishes and mix it with yellow for under my eyes since the yellow looked lighter.
I was wrong.
The yellow dries down to a light/medium yellow color and is actually darker than the beige one which is nice but the yellow one has a different formula.

I think the color-corrective shades are thinner to give the skin a slight tint rather than a full on thick unnatural color that may be hard to cover especially the green.
I can understand that but they really need to make more yellow toned stuff.
Another issue is I can't wear this over my foundation unless I mix it with a little bit of MUFE HD foundation.
This is claiming to be an HD concealer but it gives flashback on me. The beige color the most.

I'm thinking of getting a darker color even though it's kinda orange and mixing with the beige and yellow.
With that, I'd be using three $5 concealers when I could go to MAC and get one that actually matches for about the same price and it would most likely last longer since I use less of the Mac due to them having more pigmentation in general.

Other than that, the actual formula is nice. I'll still use these ones I have up. I may use them again just cause I like how they dry down and don't look cakey


on 7/17/2015 11:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in the shade green to help conceal my redness. The color was very pale on my already pale-ish skin and didn't blend very well. The packaging is very weird, it's almost like an old lipgloss container, which I did not like. It smelt very chemically as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2015 8:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this concealer. I used it for both blemishes and under eye circles. The good thing about it is that it was able to conceal my dark circles for a few hours, but it ends up fading a bit by the end of the day. The bad thing about it is that when I used it on my blemishes, I broke out like crazy. Don't even try... I suggest this concealer only for the under eye circles. It's not the best but it isn't the worst. It's definitely a light coverage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/10/2015 7:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is awful...its very dry, after about 20 minutes it was dry and cakey, if you have one line under your eyes it will make it look like you have 100;s of lines, not a good look

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2015 5:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I bought this concealer as I use the mac pro conceal and correct palette and the pale yellow colour in it always runs out first and they don't sell it separately (absolutely love this shade as a highlighting shade, it just doesn't last that long). So I bought this as a top up really. I'm not really impressed with the colour. It's not a brightening yellow at all. Quite flat and very unnatural looking. More of a jaundice yellow. I definitely won't be repurchasing this and wouldn't recommend it. I don't really care how long it lasts or anything else if the colour is all wrong and makes my make up look weird. I can't think what skin tone you would need to have for this to look natural on you. In fact think you'd need to be a simpson.


on 6/3/2015 4:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i was pleasantly surprised by these HD concealers.

I've been on a concealer kick lately (drugstore concealers) i really wanted to find the right one or combination to brighten under my eyes.

So i ran out and bought the maybelline FitMe, which are awesome, creamy,pigmented but not bright enough for the effect i was after, they matched my skin tone too good. I bought the ELF HD concealers, which honestly i haven't messed around with a lot yet, i was disappointed to see how dark they were! Especially when i was comparing them to the NYX shades (i always buy the 2 lightest shades of concealers) and then i bought the maybelline age rewind dark cicrcle remover in the neutralizer shade (its really yellow, and awesome, i'll review later) and the lightest shade they offered.

The NYX concealers are by far my favorite for brightening and highlighting, beautiful in pictures. They are awesomely priced and easily available. My only gripe is you have to blend super fast, as they dry quickly. Oh and i apply with the wand and blend with a damp beauty blender wanna-be-dupe.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2015 4:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an okay concealer. It got rave reviews when it first came out from a couple of beauty bloggers but I bought it previously to that. any-who it lasted me over a year I used it sparingly because as a concealer I feel its formula is a little too light for my dark circles and it really doesn't cover blemishes much too light for that- this liquid concealer is very light so maybe much better to be used as a highlighter then as your all over concealer. If layered properly over good creme concealer then it works well but if you're someone who is looking for quick and easy this isn't for you you really have to work with this guy and set it as soon as you apply it with a good powder also a con I hate the applicator it scratches me because its pointy and it hurts a lot when you apply makes it very difficult to get the last bits of product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I haven't used green concealer in ages! Literally about a decade so I have nothing to compare it to. When I'm about to menstruate I usually break out mostly little red pimples so I decided to give this a go and I have really red nostril areas along with the outer edges of my nose in the summer. Gave this a go and applied it on after applying moisturizer and primer. Dabbed it on my hand to avoid cross contamination and dotted very spot with the green and then blended with a small sponge wedge. Let dry for 5minutes then applied foundation and I thought for sure this would show through my foundation and it didn't. Worked great blended my skin great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Best & Worst Drugstore Concealers for Acne / Blemishes by Nathalie K



Back to Top