Shiseido Feminite du Bois

4.3

102 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/31/2015 1:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the original shiseido FdB bottle. I also have a large decant of SL FdB. The original, IMO is preferable, more complex, denser, less thin, more evolution, more rounded a fragrance than SL FdB. This is a collaboration between Sheldrake and Pierre Bourdon. Honeyed plum, spice. There is a cedar note to brighten the fragrance. I don't get any cumin, but my skin chemistry doesn't have any issue with cumin notes. This is not powdery on my skin chemistry. No sharp edges.

Three star because it's a bit too sweet for me to wear regularly, but I do like it very much. Agree it's a muted oriental. Although 'vintage,' it's not retro. I am not a person who likes modern gourmands in general, but this is a nice bridge to sweeter fragrances.

This, IMO, has the same level of fruit sweetness as the (polar opposite/ very different), very sunny and bright Aimez Moi, a dominique. Ropion fragrance for Caron. (My AM is the 30 ml squat crystal bottle that seems distinctly more powerful than an AM decant I have of the edt) AM is a pear violet fragrance, without any of the duskiness or oriental dark of FdB.



on 1/4/2014 5:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

*PIC* I do realise this review is quite unconventional, but I would like to share. I recently bought a Schwarzkopf supermarket conditioner. It's not great or anything like that, but the scent! It is *exactly* like feminite du bois which has to be one of my most favourite perfumes of all time. I've actually thought about slathering it on as a body lotion? (Weird, I know, I know) :D It's the far right one, the dark brown, however it was sold out the other day when I went to re purchase :( :( :( so I bought the beige one which smells like coconut.


on 9/6/2011 9:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

on my skin this is candied violets and dried plums, but not too sweet and a little smoky

also something pleasantly "old-book-scent" about it

new signature scent!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2011 11:18:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just received this bottle. Was surprised to see it wasn't an atomizer but decided to decant into a roll on and a spray. I do not want to spill this precious stuff!
Bought it on it's reviews. I didn't think I'd like it as people that like a lot of the same frags. as I do didn't care for it
I wish I could talk about all the notes......All I can say is it is unlike anything else out there. Not in your face perfume, and individual. Not so strong that it announces itself before you enter the room but very memorial perfume. I hope to never be without it I think. Next week I may change my mind because this is my first experience with it but this is easy to wear for me. I LOVE it!!! Not sorry! Hope i can find more!!


on 3/24/2011 7:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I hardly have the words to describe the ineffable beauty and 'truth' of this fragrance. In a strange way, it reminds me of a famous painting I once saw called "La Tentation de Saint Antoine." (The Temptation of Saint Anthony).
I see the image a woman of profound beauty emerge from the thick of the wood. The moonlight illuminates her rounded hips and ample heavy breasts but she still remains something of an apparition. Her hair is so dark and dense that it can barely be distinguished from the opaque darkness of the forest from which she emerges...She is a bold yet silent woman. She listens. She is a woman who loves and desires ardently but she is not coy. She is naked but not transparent. If she is a figure that tempts, it is because she is so elemental that she eludes...
There is something of a shadowy, symbollic quality to this fragrance that is nonetheless wearable, even comfortable--like skin. When I say that, however, I do not mean to suggest that there is anything vaguely animilic about this fragrance. On the contrary, the wood of this fragrance is devoid of the mustiness and dankness of the earth. Rather, it is a gently rustling, deep, voluptuous wood moving like music beneath the stars. On the skin it is like embers, warm and intimate, like a secret held close to the body. The secret unfolds invitingly, the way pages of a book turn themselves. The embers suggest the warm 'halo' of fire but there is no fire in this fragrance--figuratively speaking of course. It is not a fragrance that presumes to seduce; it is not a 'sex in the bottle' potion and for this reason it is quintessentially enticing. It evokes--in a silent and serene way-- the intricacies and inexhaustible depth of a woman's psyche without invoking the menace and terror that this eroticism poses to men--especially men in long dark robes.
It is a masterpiece--sonorous and deep like a cello.
Well worth the price and the fragrance does indeed live up to its name. It is a terrible pity that this fragrance is hard to find in the US.


on 3/6/2011 4:36:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Side by side comparison between Shiseido and SL's versions of FdB.

Shiseido version is the older one, and lots of folks prefer this over the SL's relaunch. Some says the SL is more costly. Other says the SL relaunch doesn't smell as great. So here we go: R wrist spritzed with sample that was given to me by a SA at a SL counter, L wrist spritzed with Shiseido bought online and a tin of grounded coffee in front.

SL went on first - as I am more familiar with Shiseido - it is unmistakably FdB. Then Shiseido went on too. I try to apply the same amount of FdB to both wrists, but the Shiseido pump is much more powerful, so I add a few more miniature squirts to my L wrist.

Shiseido starts with more oomph (could be due to volume used but still I think it is stronger), most apparent is the cedar. SL also has cedar but it's much more muted and it has this black pepper smell and a bit of heat which reminds me of chilli.

A swift 10 minutes later the cedar in Shiseido stays strong but the basenotes have came out to play, it reminds me of Christmas (ginger, cloves, dried fruits, pinch of coriander seeds). Calling it Christmas becoz I am reminded of mulled wine. SL stays on the cedar plus a bit of heat route, cloves is also obvious, fruits are very hard to find.

Half an hour later on the Shiseido the Christmas stage is still going strong, although a bit weaker. SL turns into a puff of cedre with a bit of spice, it's much weaker. I can smell Shiseido with my nose a inch away, I can only smell SL with my nose brushing my wrist. SL is smoother, quieter. Shiseido more sparkling, with a bigger presence.

I often hesitate to choose one thing over another and this time is no different. Which one is better, I guess, depends on where you want to wear it. If I am planning to wear it to a uber sober workplace then SL would do well, anything else Shiseido is what I would choose.

(Comparison done on 29th August 2009)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2010 11:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is for the vintage parfum. Amazing. I would love to smell the newer version for comparison, which I'll try tomorrow, but this is pure heaven. The cedarwood, velvety plum and soft spices make this a very memorable scent for me. It takes me back several years in time. Somewhere from my past I remember this like it has been my own since its inception, which is bizarre. It smells as familiar to me as my own skin. I have to agree with the reviewer who mentioned wanting to bathe in a vat of this. It isn't too strong, no matter how much you put on.

This has a depth to the variety of notes in the fragrance, the clove, cardamom, cinnamon I can't isolate, because the spices are so rounded. Instead of projecting, it's embracing, the scent wears close to the skin, like most asian fragrances. Classic and glorious. Mysterious and enveloping. It is well-rounded, yet strong, the sweeter notes (orange blossom, rose, which I also can't isolate) bends like bamboo around you, but doesn't break. Shiseido has this particular quality in their fragrances that makes the notes very hard for me to discern individually.

This is not very femme, even might smell slightly masculine for some, but any lover of japanese koh (incense) would probably love this. It has a radiant, warm depth that is like bathing in a moonlit lake at night.... without the water moccasins and mosquitos.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2010 2:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

The closest I can get to a signature fragrance and in my opinion, the most versatile out of the Bois series. It is the perfect blend of plum, candied fruit and cedar. Very unusual, feminine and sophisticated. I have tried both versions and prefer the Shiseido version, which is less sweet than the new release under the SL name but it doesn't last as long. This may have been discontinued but is still reasonably easy to find online and most of the time, cheaper than the SL version.


on 3/12/2010 6:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Prune juice, plain and simple.


on 2/22/2010 11:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I received a decant of this, and I've been dying to try it. Well, I finally did. In short, I don't love it and I don't hate it. The sharp cedar smell is immediate once it's applied. On me, within a few minutes it settles and I smell cinnamon, clove, and a hint of cedar. After about an hour, I'm left with geranium, fig, and clove. I don't get the cumin notes that the previous reviewer mentioned, but that sound like a positive! I'm glad that the cedar is much more subtle after it dries down, because I can't handle strong woody fragrances. Overall, this is a lovely scent, very spicy with a bit of fruit and floral. It's not something I would turn to regularly, but it's pleasant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1828 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews


Top Rated Shiseido Products

image

Facial Cotton

208 reviews
image

Eyelash Curler

1106 reviews
image

FT Water In Lip

30 reviews
Back to Top