Shiseido • Feminite du Bois • Fragrances

rated 4.3(101 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Upset on 1/4/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by Upset

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

*PIC* I do realise this review is quite unconventional, but I would like to share. I recently bought a Schwarzkopf supermarket conditioner. It's not great or anything like that, but the scent! It is *exactly* like feminite du bois which has to be one of my most favourite perfumes of all time. I've actually thought about slathering it on as a body lotion? (Weird, I know, I know) :D It's the far right one, the dark brown, however it was sold out the other day when I went to re purchase :( :( :( so I bought the beige one which smells like coconut.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lostgummi on 9/6/2011 9:34:00 PM more reviews by lostgummi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

on my skin this is candied violets and dried plums, but not too sweet and a little smoky

also something pleasantly "old-book-scent" about it

new signature scent!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 largloworm on 8/9/2011 11:18:00 PM more reviews by largloworm

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just received this bottle. Was surprised to see it wasn't an atomizer but decided to decant into a roll on and a spray. I do not want to spill this precious stuff!
Bought it on it's reviews. I didn't think I'd like it as people that like a lot of the same frags. as I do didn't care for it
I wish I could talk about all the notes......All I can say is it is unlike anything else out there. Not in your face perfume, and individual. Not so strong that it announces itself before you enter the room but very memorial perfume. I hope to never be without it I think. Next week I may change my mind because this is my first experience with it but this is easy to wear for me. I LOVE it!!! Not sorry! Hope i can find more!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 riveroflethe on 3/24/2011 7:44:00 PM more reviews by riveroflethe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I hardly have the words to describe the ineffable beauty and 'truth' of this fragrance. In a strange way, it reminds me of a famous painting I once saw called "La Tentation de Saint Antoine." (The Temptation of Saint Anthony).
I see the image a woman of profound beauty emerge from the thick of the wood. The moonlight illuminates her rounded hips and ample heavy breasts but she still remains something of an apparition. Her hair is so dark and dense that it can barely be distinguished from the opaque darkness of the forest from which she emerges...She is a bold yet silent woman. She listens. She is a woman who loves and desires ardently but she is not coy. She is naked but not transparent. If she is a figure that tempts, it is because she is so elemental that she eludes...
There is something of a shadowy, symbollic quality to this fragrance that is nonetheless wearable, even comfortable--like skin. When I say that, however, I do not mean to suggest that there is anything vaguely animilic about this fragrance. On the contrary, the wood of this fragrance is devoid of the mustiness and dankness of the earth. Rather, it is a gently rustling, deep, voluptuous wood moving like music beneath the stars. On the skin it is like embers, warm and intimate, like a secret held close to the body. The secret unfolds invitingly, the way pages of a book turn themselves. The embers suggest the warm 'halo' of fire but there is no fire in this fragrance--figuratively speaking of course. It is not a fragrance that presumes to seduce; it is not a 'sex in the bottle' potion and for this reason it is quintessentially enticing. It evokes--in a silent and serene way-- the intricacies and inexhaustible depth of a woman's psyche without invoking the menace and terror that this eroticism poses to men--especially men in long dark robes.
It is a masterpiece--sonorous and deep like a cello.
Well worth the price and the fragrance does indeed live up to its name. It is a terrible pity that this fragrance is hard to find in the US.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elaborate on 3/6/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by elaborate

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Side by side comparison between Shiseido and SL's versions of FdB.

Shiseido version is the older one, and lots of folks prefer this over the SL's relaunch. Some says the SL is more costly. Other says the SL relaunch doesn't smell as great. So here we go: R wrist spritzed with sample that was given to me by a SA at a SL counter, L wrist spritzed with Shiseido bought online and a tin of grounded coffee in front.

SL went on first - as I am more familiar with Shiseido - it is unmistakably FdB. Then Shiseido went on too. I try to apply the same amount of FdB to both wrists, but the Shiseido pump is much more powerful, so I add a few more miniature squirts to my L wrist.

Shiseido starts with more oomph (could be due to volume used but still I think it is stronger), most apparent is the cedar. SL also has cedar but it's much more muted and it has this black pepper smell and a bit of heat which reminds me of chilli.

A swift 10 minutes later the cedar in Shiseido stays strong but the basenotes have came out to play, it reminds me of Christmas (ginger, cloves, dried fruits, pinch of coriander seeds). Calling it Christmas becoz I am reminded of mulled wine. SL stays on the cedar plus a bit of heat route, cloves is also obvious, fruits are very hard to find.

Half an hour later on the Shiseido the Christmas stage is still going strong, although a bit weaker. SL turns into a puff of cedre with a bit of spice, it's much weaker. I can smell Shiseido with my nose a inch away, I can only smell SL with my nose brushing my wrist. SL is smoother, quieter. Shiseido more sparkling, with a bigger presence.

I often hesitate to choose one thing over another and this time is no different. Which one is better, I guess, depends on where you want to wear it. If I am planning to wear it to a uber sober workplace then SL would do well, anything else Shiseido is what I would choose.

(Comparison done on 29th August 2009)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrystelica on 6/5/2010 11:01:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is for the vintage parfum. Amazing. I would love to smell the newer version for comparison, which I'll try tomorrow, but this is pure heaven. The cedarwood, velvety plum and soft spices make this a very memorable scent for me. It takes me back several years in time. Somewhere from my past I remember this like it has been my own since its inception, which is bizarre. It smells as familiar to me as my own skin. I have to agree with the reviewer who mentioned wanting to bathe in a vat of this. It isn't too strong, no matter how much you put on.

This has a depth to the variety of notes in the fragrance, the clove, cardamom, cinnamon I can't isolate, because the spices are so rounded. Instead of projecting, it's embracing, the scent wears close to the skin, like most asian fragrances. Classic and glorious. Mysterious and enveloping. It is well-rounded, yet strong, the sweeter notes (orange blossom, rose, which I also can't isolate) bends like bamboo around you, but doesn't break. Shiseido has this particular quality in their fragrances that makes the notes very hard for me to discern individually.

This is not very femme, even might smell slightly masculine for some, but any lover of japanese koh (incense) would probably love this. It has a radiant, warm depth that is like bathing in a moonlit lake at night.... without the water moccasins and mosquitos.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cors on 3/28/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by cors

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

The closest I can get to a signature fragrance and in my opinion, the most versatile out of the Bois series. It is the perfect blend of plum, candied fruit and cedar. Very unusual, feminine and sophisticated. I have tried both versions and prefer the Shiseido version, which is less sweet than the new release under the SL name but it doesn't last as long. This may have been discontinued but is still reasonably easy to find online and most of the time, cheaper than the SL version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 3/12/2010 6:41:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Prune juice, plain and simple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lirial on 2/22/2010 11:05:00 AM more reviews by lirial

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I received a decant of this, and I've been dying to try it. Well, I finally did. In short, I don't love it and I don't hate it. The sharp cedar smell is immediate once it's applied. On me, within a few minutes it settles and I smell cinnamon, clove, and a hint of cedar. After about an hour, I'm left with geranium, fig, and clove. I don't get the cumin notes that the previous reviewer mentioned, but that sound like a positive! I'm glad that the cedar is much more subtle after it dries down, because I can't handle strong woody fragrances. Overall, this is a lovely scent, very spicy with a bit of fruit and floral. It's not something I would turn to regularly, but it's pleasant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 andrearn9 on 1/31/2010 12:08:00 PM more reviews by andrearn9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

FdB is truly a stunning fragrance, but there's a caveat. There is a luscious scent of woody plum with a hint of cinnamon, clove and cardamon that is just breathtaking. So clean! So lovely! You literally want to immerse yourself in that scent. If I coud jump into a vat of it I would, that's how gorgeous it is. HOWEVER, underneath that loveliness there lies a hint of cumin which gives FdB the skank factor. Now, you may or may not be comfortable with skank. The B.O. smell. The woman's knickers scent after she's been doing some strenuous activity. That smell. Are you comfortable with it in a perfume? Because if you're not, FdB may not be for you. I am NOT comfortable with that aspect and really wish it weren't present in the fragrance. If it weren't there, FdB in my mind would be the most outstanding fragrance ever created and I'd never wear anything else.

The good thing is I've found that spraying it on my clothing and hair only eliminates the skank factor. I get all of the good and none of the (to my nose anyway) unpleasant. I will say I've sampled the SL's version of FdB and he has (again, to my nose) eliminated a lot of the skank.

Edited: Moving this down to 2 lippies. My chemistry is really bringing forward the cumin notes in this fragrance and, quite frankly, it's downright embarrassing so I've stopped using. Whoever had the bright idea of putting cumin in a fragrance should be slapped - repeatedly. It ruined what could have been the perfect scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Fragrances products