OPI • Vampsterdam • Polishes

rated 3.6(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lynn7551 on 12/16/2013 10:46:00 PM more reviews by lynn7551

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I returned this as I felt that it was not nearly as stunning as "Every Month Is Oktoberfest" and didn't think I needed both in my collection. Although they are not dupes, I couldn't think of any situation in which I would prefer to wear Vampsterdam over Oktoberfest. That is the only reason for my bad review. It is a very nice polish, but if you are drawn to this shade, I would encourage your to consider Ever Month Is Oktoberfest instead!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Johnna1123 on 10/25/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Johnna1123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I agree with the other review about OPI in general. I just do not understand the hype over it. Not a sinlge color Ive owned impressed be as far as color or wear time. This being the same. Sinful at 1.99 a bottle is far better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 scrapstitcher on 10/25/2013 1:44:00 PM more reviews by scrapstitcher

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a beautiful dark plum shimmery polish. I love dark colors such as this one. Perfect for fall and winter. I took one lippie off because it requires 3 coats to get full opacity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 girlraven on 5/26/2013 8:36:00 AM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It is sheer and upopaque after 2 coats I really don't see the faze about opi nail polish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 1/3/2013 7:29:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful color for fall/winter! Vampsterdam is a dark, smoky chocolatey-raisin color with a slightly frosty finish- an interesting, eye-catching, and sophisticated shade. This is the vampy, shiny prettiness I had hoped Every Month is Oktoberfest would be. Love this one!
As always with OPI, great application and wear, 2 coats for opacity. Would buy again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginabina on 5/21/2012 1:58:00 PM more reviews by ginabina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love the entire opi holland collection and vampsterdam is in my top 3 faves in the set. Ive always had a thing for dark polish so i knew i had to have it. I love the frosty finish and brown undertone! Kind of 90's but in a unique way. I have lots of other dark purples from opi but vampsterdam sets itself apart. I feel its not too dark for the summer and would flatter any skin tone. I think ill be wearing this one alot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 5/4/2012 12:17:00 AM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have very mixed feelings about this polish. I passed it many times because in the bottle it looks like your standard vampy purple/plum shade. Being a fanatic of vampy polishes for years, I always was tempted but put the bottle down because I figured there must be something in my collection of 200+ bottles of nail polish similar.


However I give props to the quirky name of this polish because in the end, it's what caused me to make my purchase. The name Vampsterdam is just too cute. The color to my surprise is a dirty eggplant once applied with subtle purple tones but in some lighting there will be traces of brown. It's a definitely a dark polish but the wine/brown undertones mixed with purple is kind of unique. The only down side is, this polish takes 3 coats to be opaque and it's not the shimmery polish it looks like in the bottle. This applies more like a frost, so be patient with a good application and be warned of possible streaks. A good top coat is required to even things out.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nilorac123321 on 4/20/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by nilorac123321

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this polish. I adore any dark polish, and for some reason I like this one even more than "Linkin Park after dark"
It's so beautiful, it applies wonderfully...definilty worth the $7.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aegriedl on 3/28/2012 5:04:00 PM more reviews by aegriedl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love dark colored nail polishes so I bought this as soon as I spied it. The color is a dark raisin hue. Personally, I have received dozens of complements on this rich purple color whenever I wear it. I was expecting the color to be a more of a deep, rich plum; nonetheless, I am still very satisfied with my purchase. The polish itself isn't too watery and it applies smoothly. Surprisingly, this polish went weeks without any chipping. I'm not sure if that is because of the new top coat I used with it, or the actual polish since my polish usually chips after a few days. Regardless, I absolutely love this nail polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Audralee27 on 3/18/2012 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Audralee27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been purchasing & wearing OPI nail lacquers & products since the early 1990's, before OPI went 3 free & although I read alot of nail reviews online & then I always refer to this website lastly before I decide upon purchasing a particular lacquer, it always comes down to what my heart tells me at the end. I like to know what people think & how a product's success is based on reviews b/c I'm the type of person that likes to know all about a product before purchasing it. That being said, I was shocked to see the low lippies & reviews OPI's Vampsterdam received. I was so shocked at this lacquer's low rating that I felt compelled to write a review.
OPI'S Vampsterdam's one of the twelve latest shades to come out of their newest HOLLAND collection.I think this collection is really something as I base collections on many things, the biggest one being if I either want to or do own a majority of the lacquers in that particular collection. OPI'S HOLLAND collection ended up being a collection that I own more than half of the collection, eight to be exact so that's just one major & obvious reason why I give this collection high praises. On to VAMPSTERDAM: First off, OPI never disappoints w/ the creative names they give their lacquers & I love the name of this lacquer. I would best describe this shade as a vampy dark raisin, deep iced plum w/ silver frost throughout the entire formula. The lacquer's a rich, fine frosty shimmer w/ a super sophisticated, smooth & velvety finish. There's a touch of brown to the formula to give this lacquer more of a warm, dark raisin, deep iced plum shade. There are subtle silvery fine frosty undertones throughout the lacquer to give this shade an elegant & sophisticated appearance.
Vampsterdam reminds me of the nail lacquer's that OPI produced & came out w/ in the 90's or old school. I don't mean that this lacquer's outdated or unstylish by any fashion, but rather quite contrary. This lacquer's ultra stylish, mod, chic yet elegant & sophisticated all at the same time. This lacquer has a lot of depth to it. OPI used to produce a lot of these style shades in the 90's & OPI Vampsterdam is reminiscent of that time. It reminds me of past lacquers Opi used to produce like, "Have you seen my limo?" Vampsterdam's not a perfect dupe, but close w/out being a duochrome like Opi's "HYSML?" What's interesting about this lacquer is that it appears different under natural & artificial light. It appears to look more of a warm, deep burgundy indoors; where it appears to look more frosty, silvery purple outdoors. So, the raisin shade came out more when I was indoors under artificial light where it appeared more plummy/purple shaded outdoors under natural light. Although this shade, like all shades, looks different on everyone, this shade is one that can be complimentary to many skin tones. I didn't find many problems when applying, but I always use OPI's Natural Base Coat first, then I applied 3 coats of Vampsterdam. I typically apply more than one coat w/ my nail lacquers & I found 3 coats to do the trick. The formula was slightly streaky for me so that's why I had to apply 3 coats of Vampsterdam, Natural Nail Base Coat 1st & Opi's Top Coat as my last application regimen. Again, please don't be put off by the low reviews b/c I don't want any girl out there to miss out on a really exquisite shade that'll look beautiful on their nails. The other shades in this collection are worth looking at as there's alot of fabulous shades in it. Vampsterdam gets 5 lippies from me! :) I'd most definitely purchase this lacquer again & again! Love it! :) If you're a fan of Opi's old school "Have you seen my limo?" & don't want to pay a fortune & search all over for it; Vampsterdam's not an exact dupe, but close enough & beautiful enough to purchase in lieu of! :) Gorgeous!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products