OPI Vampsterdam

3.6

14 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/4/2014 5:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I admit, the first thing that attracted me to Vampsterdam was it's name but the road to love was super hard. It took me five attempts before I could finally perfect its application. Formula wise, Vampsterdam sucks. I find OPI polishes require two coats to achieve full opacity, but this one needs a minimum of THREE and IMHO looks best at FOUR! Despite the tedious application process, it does dry fast and the result is worth it. Vampsterdam is a gorgeous dark plum (seriously I think of plums and cherries everytime I wear it) with a red undertone and slightly frosty finish. Depending on the lighting, it can look a little flat but a top coat really brings out the subtle shimmer. I'm glad I persisted with this polish because it seriously looks amazing and is a nice change from my other usual vampy polishes.



on 12/16/2013 10:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I returned this as I felt that it was not nearly as stunning as "Every Month Is Oktoberfest" and didn't think I needed both in my collection. Although they are not dupes, I couldn't think of any situation in which I would prefer to wear Vampsterdam over Oktoberfest. That is the only reason for my bad review. It is a very nice polish, but if you are drawn to this shade, I would encourage your to consider Ever Month Is Oktoberfest instead!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2013 1:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I agree with the other review about OPI in general. I just do not understand the hype over it. Not a sinlge color Ive owned impressed be as far as color or wear time. This being the same. Sinful at 1.99 a bottle is far better.


on 10/25/2013 1:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a beautiful dark plum shimmery polish. I love dark colors such as this one. Perfect for fall and winter. I took one lippie off because it requires 3 coats to get full opacity.


on 5/26/2013 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It is sheer and upopaque after 2 coats I really don't see the faze about opi nail polish


on 1/3/2013 7:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful color for fall/winter! Vampsterdam is a dark, smoky chocolatey-raisin color with a slightly frosty finish- an interesting, eye-catching, and sophisticated shade. This is the vampy, shiny prettiness I had hoped Every Month is Oktoberfest would be. Love this one!
As always with OPI, great application and wear, 2 coats for opacity. Would buy again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2012 1:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love the entire opi holland collection and vampsterdam is in my top 3 faves in the set. Ive always had a thing for dark polish so i knew i had to have it. I love the frosty finish and brown undertone! Kind of 90's but in a unique way. I have lots of other dark purples from opi but vampsterdam sets itself apart. I feel its not too dark for the summer and would flatter any skin tone. I think ill be wearing this one alot!


on 5/4/2012 12:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very mixed feelings about this polish. I passed it many times because in the bottle it looks like your standard vampy purple/plum shade. Being a fanatic of vampy polishes for years, I always was tempted but put the bottle down because I figured there must be something in my collection of 200+ bottles of nail polish similar.


However I give props to the quirky name of this polish because in the end, it's what caused me to make my purchase. The name Vampsterdam is just too cute. The color to my surprise is a dirty eggplant once applied with subtle purple tones but in some lighting there will be traces of brown. It's a definitely a dark polish but the wine/brown undertones mixed with purple is kind of unique. The only down side is, this polish takes 3 coats to be opaque and it's not the shimmery polish it looks like in the bottle. This applies more like a frost, so be patient with a good application and be warned of possible streaks. A good top coat is required to even things out.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this polish. I adore any dark polish, and for some reason I like this one even more than "Linkin Park after dark"
It's so beautiful, it applies wonderfully...definilty worth the $7.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2012 5:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love dark colored nail polishes so I bought this as soon as I spied it. The color is a dark raisin hue. Personally, I have received dozens of complements on this rich purple color whenever I wear it. I was expecting the color to be a more of a deep, rich plum; nonetheless, I am still very satisfied with my purchase. The polish itself isn't too watery and it applies smoothly. Surprisingly, this polish went weeks without any chipping. I'm not sure if that is because of the new top coat I used with it, or the actual polish since my polish usually chips after a few days. Regardless, I absolutely love this nail polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

151 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top