Maybelline • Baby Lips lip balm in Grape Vine • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(74 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kolwink on 1/7/2015 5:55:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I read about these on the "Nouveau Cheap" blog, I think. I was looking for a drugstore tinted lip balm. Picked up this color, since it seemed close to what a MAC salesman once told me (15 years ago) was my natural lip color. Why, yes, I have zero confidence in figuring out what colors look good on me by myself, and always seek advice and affirmation from professionals. Anyway, initial application is fine and dandy: I get a nice hint of color, it smells good, applies smoothly, my lips look pretty and moist: yay. Then, after a few minutes have gone by, comes the sucky part: my lips feel so parched they turn weirdly sticky. It's most unpleasant, and requires immediate reapplication (which continues the cycle). I basically used up the tube just for the sake of finishing it- although my lips on average felt better if I did *not* use this- and will never re-purchase.

I did also pick up the "Fierce and Tangy" Baby Lips, mainly because I thought the fluorescent yellow was such a kick. Same results. The lemon scent is nice, but this formula just does not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 artxee on 1/4/2015 7:51:00 PM more reviews by artxee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

baby lips are super cute but don't last very long for me (that might be because i'm a very avid lipwear user). it felt nice on my lips, not sticky like some people say, and the color is beautiful :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jvan219 on 12/13/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by jvan219

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this after watching a YouTube review, as I was intrigued. I typically go for more pink shades, but I thought I would be adventurous, and I'm sure glad I did! I'm a fan of most babylips, but this color is my favorite!! In the tube, the color looks intimidating, but on, it creates the most gorg rapper berry/wine/plum color. It's pigmented, and shows up beautifully. It's not opaque like a lipstick would be, but gives great color. I get a ton of compliments on this when I wear it, and it has quickly become my favorite! Def give it a try, you'll be elated that you did. And at $3-4....it's a steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkskyequeen on 9/4/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by darkskyequeen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first bought this I really thought I'd eventually get bored of it and it would be sitting in my unwanted makeup pile. That is so not the case with this. I use it almost every day since it first came out and have repurchased it many times. It truly keeps my lips hydrated and makes me look more alive especially after my 12 hr shifts. I sometimes wear this under some of my super nude lipsticks and lip liners for a more wearable and flattering look. I've tried other baby lips colors/flavors and haven't had as good of an experience with them in terms of texture and flexible use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jadefly on 4/20/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by jadefly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love the idea of a tinted lip balm: a slight sheen of color with all the down-to-earth benefits and ease of use of a lip balm! The bright packaging is cute and fun, and the lip balm itself smells like grape-flavored candy. The color of the lip balm itself looks intimidatingly dark purple but goes on a sheer, soft berry. I like it well enough, especially since it includes SPF. However, I do notice that my lips start feeling dry more quickly than when I use my plain old Chapstick, so I may experiment with other brands of tinted lip balms before I try other colors of this line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheBeautySwiftie on 4/15/2014 8:31:00 PM more reviews by TheBeautySwiftie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The product: color is amazing, a beautiful light raspberry. The formula is terrific; it has a creamy feel and leaves my lips soft and lush and moisturized. Love it! It smells great too, like a grape tart pie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ngdmfw on 2/18/2014 7:45:00 PM more reviews by ngdmfw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have gone through about 3 tubes of this so far! Its moisturizing, but you do have to reapply throughout the day. It gives the best "your lips but better" type color and it smells and feels amazing! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DrGMart on 2/9/2014 2:39:00 PM more reviews by DrGMart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The smell on this is strong, and it can get greasy and slick feeling if you apply too much. However, it moisturizes well and has a pretty tint

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HisFirst on 1/30/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by HisFirst

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This lip balm smells nice and layers over lipstick ok. It is not very moisturizing and the color is almost non-existent. I originally purchased this in the summer time and liked it ok. I repurchased again it because my teenage daughter likes it and I got 50% off the second one. This time it was the winter time. This stuff just sits on top of dry lips and mocks them. It works ok layered over a drier lipstick, but doesn't last at all. If you're buying this balm in the wintertime, don't expect it to moisturize. I will not be repurchasing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hotpink55 on 1/30/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by hotpink55

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These baby lips lip balms are one of thee most overrated products I can think of. I mean, all you hear about are these and what are their purpose besides looking cute? They dont do jack for dry lips and they feel sooooo greasy. This scent smells really good and looks cute but thats IT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lip Treatments products