Maybelline Baby Lips lip balm in Grape Vine

4.0

74 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/7/2015 5:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I read about these on the "Nouveau Cheap" blog, I think. I was looking for a drugstore tinted lip balm. Picked up this color, since it seemed close to what a MAC salesman once told me (15 years ago) was my natural lip color. Why, yes, I have zero confidence in figuring out what colors look good on me by myself, and always seek advice and affirmation from professionals. Anyway, initial application is fine and dandy: I get a nice hint of color, it smells good, applies smoothly, my lips look pretty and moist: yay. Then, after a few minutes have gone by, comes the sucky part: my lips feel so parched they turn weirdly sticky. It's most unpleasant, and requires immediate reapplication (which continues the cycle). I basically used up the tube just for the sake of finishing it- although my lips on average felt better if I did *not* use this- and will never re-purchase.

I did also pick up the "Fierce and Tangy" Baby Lips, mainly because I thought the fluorescent yellow was such a kick. Same results. The lemon scent is nice, but this formula just does not work for me.



on 1/4/2015 7:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

baby lips are super cute but don't last very long for me (that might be because i'm a very avid lipwear user). it felt nice on my lips, not sticky like some people say, and the color is beautiful :D


on 12/13/2014 7:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this after watching a YouTube review, as I was intrigued. I typically go for more pink shades, but I thought I would be adventurous, and I'm sure glad I did! I'm a fan of most babylips, but this color is my favorite!! In the tube, the color looks intimidating, but on, it creates the most gorg rapper berry/wine/plum color. It's pigmented, and shows up beautifully. It's not opaque like a lipstick would be, but gives great color. I get a ton of compliments on this when I wear it, and it has quickly become my favorite! Def give it a try, you'll be elated that you did. And at $3-4....it's a steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I first bought this I really thought I'd eventually get bored of it and it would be sitting in my unwanted makeup pile. That is so not the case with this. I use it almost every day since it first came out and have repurchased it many times. It truly keeps my lips hydrated and makes me look more alive especially after my 12 hr shifts. I sometimes wear this under some of my super nude lipsticks and lip liners for a more wearable and flattering look. I've tried other baby lips colors/flavors and haven't had as good of an experience with them in terms of texture and flexible use.


on 4/20/2014 7:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love the idea of a tinted lip balm: a slight sheen of color with all the down-to-earth benefits and ease of use of a lip balm! The bright packaging is cute and fun, and the lip balm itself smells like grape-flavored candy. The color of the lip balm itself looks intimidatingly dark purple but goes on a sheer, soft berry. I like it well enough, especially since it includes SPF. However, I do notice that my lips start feeling dry more quickly than when I use my plain old Chapstick, so I may experiment with other brands of tinted lip balms before I try other colors of this line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The product: color is amazing, a beautiful light raspberry. The formula is terrific; it has a creamy feel and leaves my lips soft and lush and moisturized. Love it! It smells great too, like a grape tart pie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2014 7:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have gone through about 3 tubes of this so far! Its moisturizing, but you do have to reapply throughout the day. It gives the best "your lips but better" type color and it smells and feels amazing! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2014 2:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The smell on this is strong, and it can get greasy and slick feeling if you apply too much. However, it moisturizes well and has a pretty tint


on 1/30/2014 11:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm smells nice and layers over lipstick ok. It is not very moisturizing and the color is almost non-existent. I originally purchased this in the summer time and liked it ok. I repurchased again it because my teenage daughter likes it and I got 50% off the second one. This time it was the winter time. This stuff just sits on top of dry lips and mocks them. It works ok layered over a drier lipstick, but doesn't last at all. If you're buying this balm in the wintertime, don't expect it to moisturize. I will not be repurchasing this.


on 1/30/2014 6:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

These baby lips lip balms are one of thee most overrated products I can think of. I mean, all you hear about are these and what are their purpose besides looking cute? They dont do jack for dry lips and they feel sooooo greasy. This scent smells really good and looks cute but thats IT.




Back to Top